macro lens

akagi07

Apr 6, 2006
i understand that for a lens to get clear image, no focusing < the min focus distance.
so for a macro lens, the min focus dist is 20cm, similarly for macro shooting, I cant hold it less than 20cm away right?

used 105VR once but didn't manage to try out much.

yeah, u cannot focus on an subject at a distance less than the minimum focus distance - but 20cm is very close, especially when the lens has a long focal length (60mm, 100mm macro etc)

For all lenses, there is a minimum focal distance. It is better for you to check this info before getting the lens.

ya actually i checked out tamron 90mm and nikon 60mm..
frankly speaking of opting out 105 due to the price and I'm not full 100% interest into insects, but more like daily objs.

tamron 90mm has close to 30cm while nikon has around 20cm.
so actually I'm curious how macro work. didnt really touch macro till now.

say a normal lens such as my tamron 17-50 aims with min focus dist of 27cm at 1:4.6
so a macro 90mm at focus dist 30cm (min) will give mi 1:1 magnification right, simple term?

if I move backwards where focus dist increases, say 5-6 meters away from obj, and what will the be reproduction ratio be? only lost in this point.

you can consider tokina 100mm.

i am using that, and its not half as bad as it seems. especially in terms of price vs performance...

dun really c alot of tokina 100mm in the BnS. what is the market price for the 100mm vs tamron 90mm?

Bro, brand new copy for Tammy is ard 500+ and Tokina is 600+
If u get in HK, will be 15~20% less :)

haha u go hk time, u let me know lor.. :)

Hi TS, in the strict sense, macro is defined as 1:1, that is for example, a 10 mm bug is projected as 10 mm on a 35 mm sensor. So is this your intented kind of macro work, where you can really scrutinize the details? You can refer to http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261356 for more details regarding macro. However, if you move back until 5-6 metres, then I think it does not make much of a difference whether your lens is macro lens or normal telephoto lens...?

so a macro 90mm at focus dist 30cm (min) will give mi 1:1 magnification right, simple term?

Bro, the tammy provides a max. magnification of 1:1 at a min. focus distance of 0.29m, anything nearer will still gives u 1:1, u want increased magnification? Various options like extension tubes/closeup filters/bellows/reversed macro make it possible..

Do note that infinity focus is possible as well..

if I move backwards where focus dist increases, say 5-6 meters away from obj, and what will the be reproduction ratio be?

it will no longer be 1:1 (decreased) if you focus less than the min focusing distance..

kidding.. if buy, wont wait liao.. i not into bugs or insects perhaps flower.. just thinking macro working logic.. anyways thanks all for the feedbacks