Why Gitzo will always be better made than Manfrotto

theITguy

Sep 19, 2003
In this small world
Coz they are both owned by the same company called Vitec plc.

No brainer that Gitzo will always be the higher end big brother of Manfrotto to cater to 2 different market, although they will be like SG Govt telling Indonesia that "no no, they are both different telecommunication companies and they are run commercially by their own".

So basically:

1) Can afford, buy Gitzo
2) Cannot afford but wants Gitzo lookalike, buy some made-in-china value stuff (Sirui, Benro?)
3) Cannot afford and do not want made-in-china stuff, get Manfrotto or Silk or other brands suitable.

Coz they are both owned by the same company called Vitec plc.
No brainer that Gitzo will always be the higher end big brother of Manfrotto to cater to 2 different market, although they will be like SG Govt telling Indonesia that "no no, they are both different telecommunication companies and they are run commercially by their own".

So basically:

1) Can afford, buy Gitzo
2) Cannot afford but wants Gitzo lookalike, buy some made-in-china value stuff (Sirui, Benro?)
3) Cannot afford and do not want made-in-china stuff, get Manfrotto or Silk or other brands suitable.

Oh.. i didnt know tt..

Actually the above 3 points are quite correct... :cool:

Now you know why sec school teaches you history and geography? I only talk about the history part, if add in Bogen, I will start talking about the geography part.

Ok now i'm ready for geography lesson

cheers

it's just marketing. I personally own both Gitzo and Manfrotto; the Gitzo is so much more expensive than the Manfrotto-equivalent model but the quality is definitely better.

Still, I don't think Gitzo worth that much. Serious. Premium stuff will always be premium stuff I guess.

That's the thing about most products actually. A low price to mid price jump will give you a lot of benefit. But a mid to high price jump will only gain you that little more. And it goes on and on. Law of diminishing returns? LOL. And absolute price jump is much much lower in lower level jumps. In high level jumps you are paying so so much more just to gain that edge. Same for all products, like racquets, watches, golf clubs, guitars.

Maybe these 2 companies use to be different entities? IIRC, they originated from different countries. Think its a monopoly thingy.

http://reviews.photographyreview.co...-tour-designing-and-building-a-better-tripod/
Manfrotto designs and manufactures both their line of camera and lighting supports as well as the Gitzo brand which they acquired in 2003. Though the two brands are now designed and manufactured in the same location, they represent two different approaches to satisfy the many individual styles and techniques found in the field.

Ok now i'm ready for geography lesson

cheers

Wah mai lah... I need to sleep, do assignment :p

btw, we can go into economics as well, going by the diminishing marginal utility.

Price is relative. The worthiness is a perception by a party. I would also like to say that Canon 40D worth $100 (lousy skin colour) while Olympus E3 worth $1000 (better skin colour) and some 60mp digital back worth $100k (outstanding skin colour). Who is right or wrong? Worthiness is not linear in general.

Vitec plc bought over Manfrotto (Italy firm), which bought over Gitzo (France firm). Just like Proton bought over the great Lotus brand name for the car.

would the ceo & directors instruct the engineers to build toyota better than lexus?

Bogen is only a geo-distributorship thingie, just like how Calumet became such a specialized store that they ask some of the world's best manufacturers like Rodenstock and Schneider to brand lenses with the Calumet name.

Manny - Italian
Gitz - French
Benbo - English

Imagine how Gitzo felt being bought over by the Italians :sweat:, and imagine the anarchy that might ensue if the English had final say! :bigeyes: :devil: :bsmilie:

raise in quality has exponential jump in prices.

yes, gitzo is going to be better than manfrotto, but as hobbyists, do we really need gitzo's price range?

i am wondering - it seems that photography is one field where people are more than happy to spend money on things they cannot seem to justify.. much more than other fields.

raise in quality has exponential jump in prices.

yes, gitzo is going to be better than manfrotto, but as hobbyists, do we really need gitzo's price range?

i am wondering - it seems that photography is one field where people are more than happy to spend money on things they cannot seem to justify.. much more than other fields.

Ya. Ask people to pay 10cents more for a drink, they complain.

you should look at diehard audiophiles; they are more than willing to pay $7,000 for a piece of power cord :sweatsm: :sweatsm:

not that many audiophiles around. :)

U are quite wrong. Adelphi, for most of it, is dedicated to audiophiles. Just take a walk around and u will see cables that cost thousands of dollars. Just cables.....

Gitzo isn't Vitec's premium line. Sachtler is and if you thought Gitzo is expensive check out the cost of a set of Sachtler "sticks", as used by quite a few top end pro's and studios.

U are quite wrong. Adelphi, for most of it, is dedicated to audiophiles. Just take a walk around and u will see cables that cost thousands of dollars. Just cables.....

In my time there I didn't see anyone buying the cables :D
but a lot of nice gear!!!!!

In my time there I didn't see anyone buying the cables :D
but a lot of nice gear!!!!!

Err...you were stuck in the secret HAWWTTTT PEEEENKKKKKKK Gaffer store the whole time right? :bsmilie:

hor hor hor.
I was upstairs trying headphonezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz;
and picking up bad English!!!!!!!!!!!!

mmmmmmmmm nice headphones!!!!!!!