FF vs Crop body for wedding

The next time someone tells you that, just say to him "why aren't you the photographer then?"

That soooo reminds me of something some one said once ... about some ah pek saying that 'only REAL photographers use Leica'.

hmmm, I thought this is true? I'm still saving up to buy Leica.

Hi bros,

was shooting a wedding sometime back and was approached by someone, this guy saw me using 2 x 40D for wedding shoot and he straight away told me a real photographer never use a crop body for photo shoot. :confused:

Like to hear some view from bros here and i know some of you here are pros, so is it a must to have FF body in order to do wedding shoot?

regards

Bro...the reason why we carry 2 cameras is because we do not want to change lens during a shoot otherwise the fleeting moment may be gone. I sometimes use a D700 for low light shot with a prime lens and sometimes use a D60 to take quickie shots with a long lens.

There is no hard and fast rules that you must use a FF body to do wedding shoot. The illusion only looks more pro so you get the "respect" from clients who know nuts. Actually, using a pns camera will also produce the same result if you know the technique well enough. No Pros would want to use pns for wedding shoot cos people who nuts about cameras will laugh.

Continue to use 40D. It is a good camera and there's no substitute for the experience that you already have.

TS, just ignore and move on. You are doing a great job as it is now. Awesome work.

You should reply him that a real photographer is one that fully understand his equipment and can fully utilitise the potential of the equipment. FF or APS-C body isn't too much of an issue, it is the results that matters. Don't bother too much about that fellow's comment, keep up with ur good work bro

its the results that matters!! Hmm, maybe thaz y some ppl gaffertape their cameras..

Hasselblad! :sticktong

ok ok. What is the cheapest camera that a REAL photgrapher would use?

It is true that a good pns in good hands can get many great shots. I think being professional would take more than getting the shots. One would have to look professional too. I think a 40D look pretty decent.

TS uses 2,
that makes him double pretty decent :)

you mean only REAL photographers use Alpa?

was replying to the post that says he is saving for a Leica,
don't read too hard for an angle.

Once in the begining of Digital Photography, a group of my student and friends use Prosumer P&S like Sony 717, 828, Pansonic LC5 with a big Metz 60CT4 for wedding as DSLR was very expensive.
Many people laugh:bsmilie: when they take out the camera but shut up :bigeyes:when they see the flash.

Now, maybe you can use PEN-1,Pen-2 or GF-1 with a big Metz 60CT4 flash.:)

Recently, my student doing wedding bought D300 accessaries from a young student who is upgrading to FF D700 to chase Movie/TV/Singing stars. :faint:

You mean got bluff photographers meh? All photographers are living, breathing people lah.

I've seen the various type of cameras used at events ranging from Canon 1000D to 1D mk IV. Cheap cannot be lousy. There was a Pro I know used a Fuji A150 cos his regular EOS 50D was kaput. The photos he took was excellent and his client didn't believe it was taken with a pns.

Once in the begining of Digital Photography, a group of my student and friends use Prosumer P&S like Sony 717, 828, Pansonic LC5 with a big Metz 60CT4 for wedding as DSLR was very expensive.
Many people laugh:bsmilie: when they take out the camera but shut up :bigeyes:when they see the flash.

Now, maybe you can use PEN-1,Pen-2 or GF-1 with a big Metz 60CT4 flash.:)

People are cruel cos they don't have a sense of humour. I always go around and let my 5 year old nephew carry the D700 and I use the pns. Then I tell people my nephew took those photos. They'll go gaga over it and believed it hook line and sinker. Life is fun...live it.

Oh, that fella really say that...?

I had use the following for wedding and event shoot

Olympus E1 , canon eos 40d, bessa R rangefinder , canon eos 5D, canon eos 3... Don,t have to care about what other people say... You comfortable with your gears and know the setting like the back of your hand ... Good enough..

[/FONT]

You mean got bluff photographers meh? All photographers are living, breathing people lah.

I've seen the various type of cameras used at events ranging from Canon 1000D to 1D mk IV. Cheap cannot be lousy. There was a Pro I know used a Fuji A150 cos his regular EOS 50D was kaput. The photos he took was excellent and his client didn't believe it was taken with a pns.

I meant it as tongue in cheek but as Dream Merchant wrote there ARE people who seriously think so, and they can have their reasons too.

Pros use D200 and D300 too, which are the equivalents of the respectable 40D and 50D. Looks can help one to look professional and it depends on what you use your cameras for, my clients are often impressed by the smallish D40X I use for my work (not photographer) which I choose for its lightweight while my D700 and 5D2 are lying at home in the dry cabinets.

this thread is interesting. I suppose it depends on how the conversation went and what was being discussed. Unless u are telling me that he just came over and pointed at your 2 X 40D and sniggered, you should be using FF for wedding shoots.

But if he sees that you have to back up quite a bit to frame your subjects, he might have suggested using FF to give you a wider angle.

A bit difficult to jump into conclusions unless we are there to witness the whole thing.

I seriously doubt that if this guy knows his stuff he will be saying what he said. Many pro's I know use 500D as a back-up 2.

Well i was using 40D and tokina 12-24mm so i dun need to move back to take group photos. He is a friend of the groom and is the owner of a renown camera shop in kallang... And he was also the driver on that day for the couple. So while we were riding to the next location and he told me i should use FF cameras coz pro photographer never use crop body for wedding. There were also other bad comments he mentioned about Olympus and Sony... dun wish to elaborate those issue. So i just keep quiet and listen lor... At the back of my heart, i ponder could he be right as he is some owner of a camera store...

Nevertheless, i will maintain what i used, my 40D from now on.;)