Group travel photography

adorable

Jun 8, 2009
Bury Road
Anyone been to travel photography trip together in a group before?

what concern me is that usually have to wake up very early, right? :embrass:

also, have to walk a lot, climb a lot of mountains?

Meaning, will be very tiring and physical. I'm actually quite a weakling.

I'm afraid I cannot take the physical siong-ness.

Well, You can try those one group out at Singapore for a start to see what u really like.I see there is a marathon shoot on the 31dec by west group. you may like to try that out:)

shouldn't be that bad la, just walked from 12am till 8am on sat in a group. there were balding uncles there, and there were a couple of young girls (maybe 13?-14?) walking with us, lugging our tripods along taking pictures.

Doesn't it depend on the target and the intended topics? Visiting mountain tribes will require a bit more efforts (unless it's a kind of Tribal Disneyland with Drive-Through Service), compared to visiting a city. Also, sunrise calls for an early wake-up :bsmilie: As part of the overall preparation you can do some exercising - but also review critically your equipment. Take what you really need, not what is 'nice to have'. Discuss with other members of the group what you could share. Let the tour guide know that you need a break more.

Anyone been to travel photography trip together in a group before?

what concern me is that usually have to wake up very early, right? :embrass:

also, have to walk a lot, climb a lot of mountains?

Meaning, will be very tiring and physical. I'm actually quite a weakling.

I'm afraid I cannot take the physical siong-ness.
train up loh. try walking with 10kg weights and getting used to wearing all weather hiking boots. But then it depends where you are going.

oh yes...the boots, possibly one of the most important gear not to scrimp on.

And not to be bought last minute. Best is to buy 2 weeks before and use them already a couple of days. Ask for proper care and preparation to get them water proof. Newly bought shoes are just a warranty for blisters.

bukit timah hill is the answer... haha

im a fat person and did the durian loop every weekend to train for nepal...
worked for me..

I think I better go group travel photo shoot with uncles and aunties as I can't climb much. :sweat: or maybe with some friends who are similiar weaklings as me or I can train up.

what is the point of going when you cannot tahan the siongness

gather your own friends or go solo
then you can decide on how siong it will be

best is to train

but hor when you are having fun taking photos, you will forget about the siongness

Actually it all depends on where are you going and what do you intend to shoot.

Start somewhere. Can go solo or with someone. Most important is to get a comfortable pair of shoes like the one for hiking. Yes, wallking alot with those heavy stuff can be very siong. But treat it as you are exercising. I stay in the west and the nearest parks where I could go shooting most of the time are Chinese and Japanese Garden. Sometimes after a few hours in there and still could not get any good shots, I would always tell myself that at least I've exercised.

Sure can make it if you want to.

then gather like minded friends who like to take it easy when shooting.......... there ARE many who take a leisurely approach to shooting.......... myself included occassionally....... first stop when get to location.......... find coffee shop or food.

nothing wrong ...... just find same same kind of friends or groups

Eg. the 4/3 group doing the HDB Heartland series is one such group of people....... all very nice and no hurry no rush attitude when going out together........ where socializing is just as important as shooting...... fine group of people

The best way to train to climb taller mountains is to start off by climbing smaller ones. E.g If you wanna get on top of everest, you need to feel strong and fit at the top of the 100 or so other climbs leading up to Everest. I was given this climbing advice by Dave Hahn, 11 time Everest climber. (World record for non-sherpa)

I was recently climbing in Ladakh, Himalayas at an altitude of 4000m. It is tiring for first timers, but i'm an avid mountain biker and low altitude climber in the US, so it's pretty easy for me, and my build is what you would call 'Bearish' - broad and tall.

It really depends on your fitness level, your cardiovascular system, and your strength. You need to be able to carry yourself while spending part of your energy just breathing, especially in the Andes and the Himalayas, and it doesn't help if you are prone to altitude sickness/ Edema.

A pair of nice hiking boots which will save your feet in any normal hiking situation is the Lowa/Vasque goretex boots. The Lowa is lighter whereas the Vasque will protect you better, your feet will be well insulated.

HOWEVER, if you want to trek at lower altitude just get a pair of Northface hiking shoes, they're extremely breathable and don't cost more than a hundred singapore dollars for a decent one. (I paid US$180 for the Vasque goretex).

Trekking at lower altitude - the more you do the easier it will be. If you get tired somewhere like Bukit Timah, for instance, you won't be after your 3rd hike of the same place... So simply put, you will get better by training.

BTW, an hour of hiking burns about 500-900 calories depending on the intensity.

cheers

A lifelong dream to be at the peak of the world but lack the physical fitness or time to scale the mountain? No worries if you are loaded with cash as you can simply take a ride up instead. :bsmilie:

1011024x768.jpg

1021024x768.jpg

© Eurocopter - Photos By Patrick Penna.

wait whaaaat

i thought the air was too thin up in everest for helicopters to fly?

The best way to train to climb taller mountains is to start off by climbing smaller ones. E.g If you wanna get on top of everest, you need to feel strong and fit at the top of the 100 or so other climbs leading up to Everest. I was given this climbing advice by Dave Hahn, 11 time Everest climber. (World record for non-sherpa)

I was recently climbing in Ladakh, Himalayas at an altitude of 4000m. It is tiring for first timers, but i'm an avid mountain biker and low altitude climber in the US, so it's pretty easy for me, and my build is what you would call 'Bearish' - broad and tall.

It really depends on your fitness level, your cardiovascular system, and your strength. You need to be able to carry yourself while spending part of your energy just breathing, especially in the Andes and the Himalayas, and it doesn't help if you are prone to altitude sickness/ Edema.

A pair of nice hiking boots which will save your feet in any normal hiking situation is the Lowa/Vasque goretex boots. The Lowa is lighter whereas the Vasque will protect you better, your feet will be well insulated.

HOWEVER, if you want to trek at lower altitude just get a pair of Northface hiking shoes, they're extremely breathable and don't cost more than a hundred singapore dollars for a decent one. (I paid US$180 for the Vasque goretex).

Trekking at lower altitude - the more you do the easier it will be. If you get tired somewhere like Bukit Timah, for instance, you won't be after your 3rd hike of the same place... So simply put, you will get better by training.

BTW, an hour of hiking burns about 500-900 calories depending on the intensity.

cheers

Vasque is excellent but they do not have retailer in Singapore. :( The best pair of shoes I ever worn ! Also need to get a good back pack for equipment. Carried 10 kg of equipment for ten days without any issue.

Good Backpack ? North Face, Osprey, and Mammut are great brands. I prefer North Face for the amazing quality of their materials

wait whaaaat

i thought the air was too thin up in everest for helicopters to fly?

It's been done already, by Eurocopter in 2005. A helicopter landed on the summit. But the thing is you've gotta take off almost immediately, or you will crash and die. The pilot stayed at the summit for approximately two minutes.

Good Backpack ? North Face, Osprey, and Mammut are great brands. I prefer North Face for the amazing quality of their materials

But North face does not make camera back pack right, more of camping or hiking in nature ? If so , which model is it ?

not camera backpacks, im talking about actual toploader bacpacks