Help needed to touch up pictures

desertstrike

Sep 29, 2008
CCK
hi guys, i got this shot that has some reflection cos i was shooting through glass, anyone knows how to remove them? and possible to touch up on the part that has some flare?

Untitled_Panorama12copy-temp.jpg

use clone tool slowly do lor

Well, I have quite a number of similar shots through the train window on my recent trip. Was also looking to see if there is any other way than to clone bit by bit.
Haha... looks like maybe no choice leh...

you should have pressed the camera lens front to the glass to minimise reflection, and use CPL if you had one..

then shoot wide open, or slightly stopped down from wide open.

in post, this sort of reflection is very hard to remove.

you should have pressed the camera lens front to the glass to minimise reflection, and use CPL if you had one..

Good advice, night86mare.
Mmmm... did press right up the glass window. But did not use a CPL (though I had it with me) neither did I use a wide aperture. I must remember all these. I've got quite some learning to do here.
Thank you so much.

this is a pano... so only 1 shot i managed to put it against the glass, but the other 2 are at an angle... so v hard..., polariser is already use as well...

so no other way to remove ar... :think:

Well, I have quite a number of similar shots through the train window on my recent trip. Was also looking to see if there is any other way than to clone bit by bit.
Haha... looks like maybe no choice leh...

er... how...?

just clone them off lah. its only at the sky portion, pretty simple.

Yupe. Like what velasco has mentioned. I would magnify the parts and gently bit by bit clone off against the surrounding sky. But somehow my PS skills are not good. They never turn out as good as what I hope they would be.

after u clone them, how to make it colour uniform?

and any other things that your would suggest to touch up this picture?

after u clone them, how to make it colour uniform?
Yah. Good question. I do not know how to make the colour uniform.

...and any other things that your would suggest to touch up this picture?
Hmmm... well, as you can see, I am really in the very infancy stage of PP. I am still trying to grope my way through the sea of bewildering information. So sorry, man, I really can't give any advice on this. Am really looking forward to real advice from the Experts out there too.

Yah. Good question. I do not know how to make the colour uniform.

Hmmm... well, as you can see, I am really in the very infancy stage of PP. I am still trying to grope my way through the sea of bewildering information. So sorry, man, I really can't give any advice on this. Am really looking forward to real advice from the Experts out there too.

haha, okie, thanks man

try to aim to make it uniform at the very start. Don't work on a single layer either, use masks.

that way u overshot u can easily clean it off

use a magic number.

around 66% opacity 66% fill for the clone brush. magic number for Most cloning i do. even on faces.

i prefer a high opacity and low flow.
like 100% opacity and <10% flow

Untitled-1.jpg

Just do it for fun.

this is a pano... so only 1 shot i managed to put it against the glass, but the other 2 are at an angle... so v hard..., polariser is already use as well...

so no other way to remove ar... :think:

i am going to say, use your time wiser

no one said that photography had to be painless, but deliberately giving yourself so much pain, i.e. shooting a photo to have to touch it up with so much effort later on - and i do mean a lot of effort, if this is going to hold up at 100%, and i make sure all my cloning looks ok at 100%, 50%, and fit to screen.

even on faces.

face should not be so high, or you are going to end up with oversmoothened face, like what you see a lot in P&P. something between 20-40% gives you a much more natural result.