How do YOU pronounce "bokeh"

meeshuway

Sep 15, 2009
Do you call it BOKE-KAAY or is it BOKE-UH?

I'm only interested in how people in Singapore pronounce it so that an average uncle from an average camera shop will understand what I'm talking about :)

I pronounce it as Bo-Kay.

bo - gei .

Its pronounced as bo Kay

Bokeh comes from the Japanese word boke, which means blur.

In Japanese, ke is pronounced as Kay.

Boh-kay is correct. Actually it is a Japanese word "Boke". The h is added so that English speaker will not rhyme it with poke, coke etc.
Another example which has nothing to do with photg is Poka Yoke with Yoke pronounced as Yoh-Kay.

Hope this help. Just remember the rule of thumb for Japanese word.

OK. Noted. Thanks!!:D

similar to the way you say no teeth, but kay instead of gay?

Do you call it BOKE-KAAY or is it BOKE-UH?

I'm only interested in how people in Singapore pronounce it so that an average uncle from an average camera shop will understand what I'm talking about :)

If they dun understand just say DOF loh :bsmilie:

but I don't understand what is DOF.. hehe. so noob hor? :embrass:

What does that stand for?

but I don't understand what is DOF.. hehe. so noob hor? :embrass:

What does that stand for?

no lah dun say like that

below from wiki

Bokeh (derived from Japanese, a noun boke 暈け, meaning "blur" or "haze") is a photographic term referring to the out-of-focus areas of an image produced by a camera lens using a shallow Depth Of Field.[1]

If they dun understand just say DOF loh :bsmilie:

Bokeh is not Depth of Field. Bokeh refers to the quality of the blur in the OOF (out of focus) area. DoF (Depth of Field) just refers to much is in focus.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bokeh

Same image, same DoF, different Bokeh using Nikkor 135 DC taken from this link. Notice the difference in the quality of the background blur. That's Bokeh.
http://imaging.nikon.com/products/imaging/technology/nikkor/n32_e.htm

Front defocus
n32_05.jpg

Normal
n32_07.jpg

Rear Defocus
n32_09.jpg

For those who also noticed, the rear defocus gives a smoother blur in the background but the foreground bokeh is no longer as good. For different lenses, it depends on how much the coma is perfectly corrected. Correcting the coma perfectly gives neutral bokeh where the front and rear OOF area are equally blur. Over correction or under correction of the coma gives better bokeh in front or behind respectively.

LOL, it's the only word in the online dictionary that has no pronounciation key, well, it's Japanese anyway. I've been pronouncing it as boh (bow) keh (like kembangan but ends with h la). Well, at least that's how GettyImages photog Katy Winn pronounces too - see when she shows her 50 f/1.4. Haha.

im not a pro or anything... but some of the questions these people ask are plain stupid

Maybe same thing teacher think about their student ;).
So please be patient and share knowledge, no need to takeout ur guns :angel:.