Bad Customer Service

ShawnPoh

Apr 14, 2009
Today i went to Funa Mall to shop for a new lens (17-70 sigma/17-50 tammy /18-50 sigma)for my China tour.
Intend to go to John 3:16 but they were closed (sunday- Should know from the shop name :bsmilie:) lol

So went ard to other shop. General all shop i went to give acceptable customer service. Except when i hit Alan Photo. The sale guy was rude and the attitude was bad. And when i ask to test the lens, he told me in an unfriendly and corky tone "Sorry no testing, this is a new len".:angry:

How am i going to decide which lens to buy if i can't even test. Guess if i go in with a ten thousand note paste on my face, they gimme better service. :angry::angry:

If they are last shop that sell photography stuff, i am going to quit the hobby.

LoL...new account to complain?

If you had searched hard enough here, you would have seen the many bad experiences people have with them. I will avoid them at all cost even if I have to pay a slightly higher price.

alan photo in funan, unless you are able to make a fast purchase else they sort of get a bit pissed when you ask too many questions...

Anyone care to find out the reason for their ability
to stay that long in the business dispite their tarnished
reputation with the local community?

:think:

I do buy from someone i got to know at SLS Alan photo and still get some decent service. I did go to Funan AP before and i feel that the group of ppl there has a indifferent attitude. i do not border to go in to see even if i pass by that store.
Btw, i dun see much customer in that store anyway, therefore i presume the business was bad there.

Just my 2cts thought!

LoL...new account to complain?

how was bally photo lol

Wah.. hmmm.. looks like here we go again.
Maybe someone should form a review group going around to 'test' the various companies. Something like few years back when the Straits times actually had some journalists going into those high-fashion boutique to test their services.
Haha... just joking.

Anyone care to find out the reason for their ability
to stay that long in the business dispite their tarnished
reputation with the local community?

:think:

cannot tell you. wait i get myself into trouble......like VP in SLS.

how was bally photo lol

Bally was in fact quite good in their customer service :thumbsup:

The Sale person Ray was very helpful n friendly. Knowing that i am a newbie, he went all the way as to show me where is the "sweet spot" of the concern lens. And he also took out a few different brand for me to compared.

Must said they are good:thumbsup:

PS: i didn't bought any lens that day lol;p

then u shd go back n buy from him since u say his service was good?

If you shop in AP, know what you want, know the pricing (check around, call for quote, etc) go into the shop, buy the thing and leave.
If you don't know what you want (must ask lots of questions, want to try, etc), don't know the price (can't be bothered to check or don't know buying or not, just walk in to ask around and consider), then please go to other shops.

Often you read of complaints of shops, be it AP or otherwise, where the person goes into the shop want to test lens, test camera, ask this and that, that's where the "bad service" posts come about. If you are a savvy shopper, you'll know which shop is suitable to go in to test test ask ask and which shops are not, then perhaps, less "bad service" situations will be experienced. Always remember, caveat emptor, you can choose where you want to spend your hard earned money, shops can choose if they want your business.

this should not be the case.

the adage, Customer is always right, should never be forgotten for a business.

sure... times are booming for all photography shops now. people spend on camera equipment and technology like there's no tomorrow...

but the attitude is plain wrong.

sure, the customer needs to know a little about the product he/she is procuring... but not to the extent of knowing exactly what you want before you just walk in to the shop and buy it.

then whats the point of having a shop or even a knowlegeable sales person... might as well put a clerk in there...

just wait and see till times grow bad and people tighten their belts... it has happened before and will happen again... then they'll be all nice and friendly just to get a sale.

get real. stand up for what you believe in... its your hard earned money. let them EARN it.

Agree with Mckenzy here.

I would say it is just an issue of bad customers service; Just plain "laziness". Customers can affford to go other places to spend their money, and the losers are always the salespersons and the bussiness.

It is up to the bussiness to maximize every opportunity to sell their wares. NOt the bussiness of individual customers.

If you shop in AP, know what you want, know the pricing (check around, call for quote, etc) go into the shop, buy the thing and leave.
If you don't know what you want (must ask lots of questions, want to try, etc), don't know the price (can't be bothered to check or don't know buying or not, just walk in to ask around and consider), then please go to other shops.

Often you read of complaints of shops, be it AP or otherwise, where the person goes into the shop want to test lens, test camera, ask this and that, that's where the "bad service" posts come about. If you are a savvy shopper, you'll know which shop is suitable to go in to test test ask ask and which shops are not, then perhaps, less "bad service" situations will be experienced. Always remember, caveat emptor, you can choose where you want to spend your hard earned money, shops can choose if they want your business.

Well, it is a matter of different strokes for different folks la.

Thing is that AP, both Fn and SLS are Ah Beng kind of shop - so you got to click with them to work. I got quite a few stuff from them, both stores.

I guess the TS might click well with John. John is the kind of shop that should have been in one of the malls in Orchard Rd. They are more professional and speak proper English.

MS Color is well, located right in the town centre of an old HDB estate. So, you can expect heartlander's prices la.

Next, OP, the new kit in town. Not that new anymore la. I would call them the modern Chinaman store la. I was there to get a lens after opened for less than a week. The price was so very attractive leh. Now, not sure la.

What about the others - I leave it to some other bros to comment.....:think:

I personally will never buy anything from AP again before making several checks with regard to the price of a product. Once saw a Westerner who paid 1900SGD and traded in a EF-S 17-85mm for a EF 70-200mm f2.8 non-IS. I was like WHAT? but too bad, not ethical to tell him that he's getting ripped off.

I think it was unethical to NOT tell him. You should have done the right thing and helped him avoid the con.

Well, I guess it boils down to a matter of beliefs. Although the shop IS cheating him, what do you think would have happened had I informed him of the ripoff? Knowing the temperament of the staff there, something ugly might have gone down.

Furthermore, I have had some past experiences with advising people to the best of their interests. A while ago at a Cash Converters, I saw a couple selling off a Ibanez JEM Jr in decent condition. The CC people offered them 70 bucks. I said that I would buy it for 400 max. The next thing I knew, I got chased out of the shop.

Well, I guess it boils down to a matter of beliefs. Although the shop IS cheating him, what do you think would have happened had I informed him of the ripoff? Knowing the temperament of the staff there, something ugly might have gone down.

Furthermore, I have had some past experiences with advising people to the best of their interests. A while ago at a Cash Converters, I saw a couple selling off a Ibanez JEM Jr in decent condition. The CC people offered them 70 bucks. I said that I would buy it for 400 max. The next thing I knew, I got chased out of the shop.

Just tell the shop say u conning lor.If they punch u call police lar then he will go jail and AP will be blacklisted