Feeling inferior when using a P&S in the face of DSLRs

raptor1988

Jul 19, 2006
Sengkang
lizhien.blogspot.com
To those guys and girls who have used a P&S or are still using one, do you feel inferior whenever someone shows up beside you using his DSLR with the shutter clicking away?

I post this question because i was at the HDB Hub today for the MINDEF PRIDE DAY awards presentation. My CO received an award for the unit and i was supposed to take a photo or two of that. Brought my P&S as i din have any other camera. It was only when i was in the audit when i saw all the big guns. Wah lao. So pai say until i nearly din take any pictures. But heck, i took my cam out and just wack. As expected, all the pics came out blurred to some extend.

At the end i had to report that all the pics were blurred and unusable. :cry:

I think this is just a rant la, but if you had this experience before, do share it. If any of the mods think that this thread is too bo-liao even for the KPT, let me know and i'll close it. :)

It's the person behind the camera.

The camera is just a tool.

size doesn't matter. Only in bed.

Yes, sometimes equipment may make a techical difference when shooting a particular/demanding/scientific-industrial project, but in this instance, what I would be more curious about is how come the photos all came out blurred and unuseable?

Most P&S are highly advanced and very capable.

Back in the 80s, Olympus, to prove a point about the capability of their P&S cameras, gave 4 professionals their XA series pocket cameras and they went out (in their respective fields) and shot an A2 sized (approx IIRC) calender with that tiny amature-level pocket-sized capsule P&S camera and nothing else. IIRC, it featured sports, landscape, nature and another field of work that I can't recall now. The calender was absolutely gorgeous looking! Anybody remember that project?

nope. a p&s can give you great shots just as much as a dslr can give others crappy shots. it's all a state of mind. focus more on improving your skill as a photographer.

hmm.. am i really that lousy or is my camera the limitation? haha. Maybe i haven mastered shooting in the PSAM mode yet but the lighting in the audit was really tricky and i din fire off my flash. Cos even if i did i don't have the reach of the hot-shot flashes.

Not all the pics are blur. The blur is just enough to notice when you zoom in on it. I think some of the shots are ok, but the one that mattered was blur beyond anything. :angry:

Happy photographers or persons take pride in their
work, function well as a team and get results despite
their handicaps.

--------------------------------------------
Thoughts are energy which attract
to us a matching physical reality.

a pro shoot pro pics when using a pns while a noob still shoot noob pics with dslr. its the person that matters. dun feel inferior, raptor. instead show them wat u can do with a pns :)

Yesterday I brought my son out. He has some shots which were better than mine. He was using my Coolpix while I was using my D70 :sweat:

hmm.. am i really that lousy or is my camera the limitation? haha. Maybe i haven mastered shooting in the PSAM mode yet but the lighting in the audit was really tricky and i din fire off my flash. Cos even if i did i don't have the reach of the hot-shot flashes.

Not all the pics are blur. The blur is just enough to notice when you zoom in on it. I think some of the shots are ok, but the one that mattered was blur beyond anything. :angry:
Tat's because u r trying to make your p&s hoot like a dslr.

how far away were u when you took the shot? if you were tasked to take a photo of ur CO, then i imagine that you could have gotten quite close to take a decent shot. for indoor shots in the auditorium, you would definitely have needed to use the built in camera flash for decent shots and acceptable sharpness.

seriously u all trying to bluff threadstarter, from his description he was obviously shooting in quite a challenging environment....
TS u shooting indoor isszit?

how far away were u when you took the shot? if you were tasked to take a photo of ur CO, then i imagine that you could have gotten quite close to take a decent shot. for indoor shots in the auditorium, you would definitely have needed to use the built in camera flash for decent shots and acceptable sharpness.

i'm ashamed to report that i din go to the front of the stage cos that was where all the DSLR toting photogs were. I just sat in my seat in the 4th row and snapped away. :embrass:

eh.. then how should i approach such a situation?
Unless the audit is dimmed down, but I tot award presentation time, stage got light up one?

As wif all techniques evaluations, exif pls.

he zoom from a distance, hand shaky when he sees his CO staring at him n shoot lah.
image sure blur lor. how many do you have to sign for 'bobo' shot the precious pic of ur CO? juz kidding. ;)

anyway, i was there this moring for other matter. the event was setup by pico art rite? :embrass:

Why bother what other people are using, you can have a entry or prosumer DSLR and still feels inferior when someone with 1D or D3 appears next to you. The cycle never stops when you keep getting bothered by such issues.

Be content with what you have, and keep practising on your current equipments until you're confident that your knowledge and skills have reached the apex or exceeded beyond what the technical limitations of your P&S camera can currently provide you with.

Like what some other people said, it's the person behind the camera that matters. ;)