Malaysia - Truly Asia

Ambious

Specially for people who likes to travel either by air, coach, train or self drive to the exotic land in Asia, Malaysia.

Tips, discussions, photos food, shopping, location or anything that's related to travel or photography.........

Can be categories into various segments:

West Malaysia, on the Malay Peninsula
1. Johore (Includes Desaru, Kukup, Kota Tinggi, Le Markro, Endau Rompin, Batu Pahat, Muar, Johore Bahru, Pontian, Kulai, Kluang, Segamat, Ledang, Mersing, etc.)

2. Malacca (Includes Bandar Melaka, Alor Gajah, Jasin, Pulau Besar, Pulau Melaka, Pulau Upeh, Merlimau, Batu Berendam, Ayer Keroh, Masjid Tanah, etc.)

3. Kedah (Includes Alor Setar, Langkawi, Kota Setar, Baling, Bandar Baharu, Kuala Muda, Kubang Pasu, Kulim, Padang Terap, Pendang, Pokok Sena, Sik, Yan, etc.)

4. Kelantan (Includes Kota Bharu, Pasir Mas ,Tumpat, Pasir Puteh, Bachok, Kuala Krai, Machang, Tanah Merah, Jeli, Gua Musang, etc.)

5. Pahang (Includes Kuantan, Cameron Highlands, Genting Highlands, Fraser Hills, Taman Negara, Tioman, Bukit Tinggi, etc.)

6. Perak (Includes Ipoh, Kinta, Larut, Matang dan Selama, Hilir Perak, Manjung, Batang Padang, Kerian, Kuala Kangsar, Hulu Perak, Perak Tengah, etc.)

* Major Towns Include : Ayer Tawar • Bagan Datoh • Bagan Serai • Bagan Sungai Burong • Banir • Batak Rabit • Batu Gajah • Behrang • Bercham • Beruas • Bidor • Bikam • Bota • Bukit Gantang • Bukit Merah • Changkat Jering • Changkat Keruing • Chemor • Chenderiang • Chikus • Damar Laut • Gerik • Gopeng • Gua Tempurung • Hutan Melintang • Jelapang • Jenderata • Jerlun • Kamunting • Kampar • Kampung Gajah • Karai • Kota Baharu • Kota Setia • Kuala Kangsar • Kuala Kurau • Kuala Sepetang • Langkap • Lekir • Lenggong • Lumut • Manjoi • Malim Nawar • Mambang Di Awan • Manong • Menglembu • Padang Rengas • Pantai Remis • Parit • Parit Buntar • Pasir Salak • Pekan Gurney • Pengkalan Hulu (Keroh) • Proton City • Selama • Semanggol • Seri Iskandar • Seri Manjung • Simpang Tiga • Sitiawan • Slim • Slim River • Sungai Siput • Sungkai • Taiping • Tambun • Tanjung Malim • Tanjung Piandang • Tanjung Rambutan • Tanjung Tualang • Tapah • Tapah Road • Teluk Batik • Teluk Intan • Teluk Rubiah • Temoh • Temoh Station • Trolak • Terong • Teronoh

7. Selangor (Includes Shah Alam, Gombak, Hulu Langat, Hulu Selangor, Klang, Port Klang, Kuala Langat, Kuala Selangor, Petaling, Sabak Bernam, Sepang, etc.)

8. Terengganu (Includes Kuala Terengganu, Besut, Dungun, Hulu Terengganu, Kemaman, Marang, Setiu, etc.)

9. Negeri Sembilan (Includes Seremban, Jelebu, Jempol, Kuala Pilah, Port Dickson, Rembau, Seremban, Tampin, etc.)

10. Perlis (Includes Kangar, Abi, Arau, Beseri, Chuping, Jejawi, Kayang, Kechor, Kuala Perlis, Kurong Anai, Kurong Batang, Ngulang, Oran, Padang Pauh, Paya, Pedang Siding, Sanglang, Sena, Seriab, Sungai Adam, Titi Tinggi, Sungai Baru, Wang Bintong, Utan Aji, etc.)

11. Penang (Includes George Town, North East Penang Island, South West Penang Island, North Seberang Perai, Central Seberang Perai, South Seberang Perai, Pulau Aman, Pulau Pinang, Pulau Betong, Pulau Gedung, Pulau Jerejak, Pulau Kendi, Pulau Rimau • Pulau Tikus, etc.)

Federal Territories
12. Putrajaya (Federal Administrative Capital Includes Putrajaya, Cyberjaya, etc.)

13. Kuala Lumpur (Legislative Capital Includes Bandar Tun Razak, Batu, Bukit Bintang, Cheras, Kepong, Lembah Pantai, Segambut, Seputeh, Setiawangsa, Titiwangsa, Wangsa Maju, etc.)

East Malaysia, on Borneo
14. Sabah (Includes Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan, Tawau, Lahad Datu, Keningau, Semporna, Kudat, etc.)

15. Sarawak (Includes Kuching, Betong Division, Bintulu Division, Kapit Division, Kuching Division, Limbang Division, Miri Division, Mukah Division, Samarahan Division, Sarikei Division, Sibu Division, Sri Aman Division, etc.)

Federal Territory
16. Labuan (Includes Bandar Labuan, Kampung Tanjung Aru Nelayan, Batu Arang, Batu Manikar, Layang-Layangan, Lubok Temiang, Ranca-Ranca, Kg. Tanjong Kubong, Kg. Bukit Kalam, Pulau Burung, Pulau Daat, Pulau Kuraman, Pulau Papan, Pulau Rusukan Kecil, Pulau Rusukan Besar, etc.)

Must put TRULY ASIA:kok:

A few images from a trip to Semporna, Sabah.

1. Malaysia Boleh @ Pulau Sibuan
111730949.jpg

2. Lepa-Lepa Regatta @ Semporna
111758899.jpg

3. Pergi sekolah @ Kampung Haji
111848008.jpg

4. Fisher-boy @ sea off Semporna
111747695.jpg

5. Catch of the day @ sea off Pulau Bukit
111827909.jpg

A few nature images from Sarawak.

Bats streaming out in droves in search of their meals @ Mulu National Park
56121410.jpg

Gunung Api-Api (The Pinnacles) @ Mulu
56099579.jpg

A giant leap @ Bako National Park
56099773.jpg

Crimson sunset atop Canada Hill @ Miri
56151155.jpg

De-forestation, possibly for the oil palm industry
56179069.jpg

Another place for nature adventurers and photographers is the Lower Kinabatangan River in Sukau, Sabah. Its a 2 hours drive from Sandakan and along the way, can stop by at Sipolok (Orang Hutan Sanctuary). Many things to see along the Lower Kinabatangan river (I mean wildlife)...birds, probosis monkeys, wild elephants.....and more. This was our boatman and his younger brother preparing the boat for our morning river trip.
3551110812_50a662186b_b.jpg

Another place for nature adventurers and photographers is the Lower Kinabatangan River in Sukau, Sabah. Its a 2 hours drive from Sandakan and along the way, can stop by at Sipolok (Orang Hutan Sanctuary). Many things to see along the Lower Kinabatangan river (I mean wildlife)...birds, probosis monkeys, wild elephants.....and more. This was our boatman and his younger brother preparing the boat for our morning river trip.
3551110812_50a662186b_b.jpg

nice!!!

How to contact the lower Kinabatangan river boatman?

His name is Shuairey ( pronounce as Su Hai Ree) and his family owns and run the B&B Resort at Sukau. You can reach him at +6089565269.
What I like about this resort is they only charges what you use or eat (no package). If I am not mistaken, he charges MYR$100.00 for a 3 hours boat trip. Boat is long and can comfortably sit 4. So use less, eat less...pay less...he he.
My 5D/4N trip with 2 others only cost me around $500 (inclusive air tickets by Air Asia).
I am not sure about the other operators there.

Thanks for starting this thread for Truly Asia country! I love this country a lot, b'cos it is my mother land! My hometown is within the orange print in Perak state.:)

Cool....which part of Perak? I am from the Menglembu and ACS Ipoh.

Like this thread! East Msia is a place i'll keep going back. They have so much to offer esp now with the opening of the budget airlines to KK.

I recommend uncle tan! (http://www.uncletan.com) They run a fuss free camp along lower kinabatangan river. expect to rough it out, be very close to nature, see lotsa wild life, bathing/washing with river water, be woken up at 6am in the morning with 'good morning! safari!' for your boat safari. their safari / hikes are usually in the early morning and evening time which makes it very good for photographers. But do not expect nice accomodation conditions, its as close to nature as you can get. Knowledgeable guides! Cheap!

Disclaimer: they have since relocated their camp from the time i last went, so i speak from my experience at the old camp!

Must put TRULY ASIA:kok:

Tag line mah, so put lor. Well, kinda true also. Other than Singapore, Malaysia is the largest country with a wide range of culture n history. Like Singapore, various parts of Malaysia had became colonies or some sort in the past.

U are welcome. I pretty like this country n it's the nearest to drive up in my own car. I can also consider as half Malaysian (Penang).

Like this thread! East Msia is a place i'll keep going back. They have so much to offer esp now with the opening of the budget airlines to KK.

I recommend uncle tan! (http://www.uncletan.com) They run a fuss free camp along lower kinabatangan river. expect to rough it out, be very close to nature, see lotsa wild life, bathing/washing with river water, be woken up at 6am in the morning with 'good morning! safari!' for your boat safari. their safari / hikes are usually in the early morning and evening time which makes it very good for photographers. But do not expect nice accomodation conditions, its as close to nature as you can get. Knowledgeable guides! Cheap!

Disclaimer: they have since relocated their camp from the time i last went, so i speak from my experience at the old camp!

U got any idea about the floating boathouse of Lake Kenyir in Terengganu. Anyway to contact?

I am from Taiping, I love Menglembu peanuts since my childhood, very near to my home town.;)

I heard they no longer plant peanuts there.

I am from Taiping, I love Menglembu peanuts since my childhood, very near to my home town.;)

With the new highway, I can no longer stop over at Taiping when I visit Penang. My memories of Taiping was the zoo.

As long as I can remember, there was never any groundnut farms in Menglembu...this place was better known for the tin mines...I am still clueless why "menglembu groundnuts"....

Ya, very surprising that Menglembu peanuts were not planting in Menglembu:think:

My wife and I were talking about a visit to the Menglembu peanut farm one day::bsmilie:

I think Taiping has a very scenic Taiping Lake Gerden which is a very ideal place to take pictures. Wide angle lens will be ideal. BTW I am an old Hua Lian boy。

I love traveling bycar to enjoy the scenic Malaysia spots, sometimes to Penang and further up to Kedah to view the padi filed, a bit suaku..:bsmilie: