methods of selecting the best lens..

FireZ

Sep 21, 2008
hi all,
intend to purchase my tamron 17-50mm f2.8 2ml at T.K whihc offers $620.
wondering...how would your test?..
assuming i'll b bringing down a test chart. shd i jus test at f2.8 itself or shd i test from f2.8 then keep increasing the f stops to ensure sharpness?
basically...they allows me to test a few sets before purchasing..hence...dun wanna miss e chance of selecting the best for my 450d.

would be great if your can input the methods of testing that your usually do...
did check the forum..but very brief...basically mention, using test chart and c for the front n rear focusing...

sorry for the noobs question/request ya..
1st time buying my lens...
cheers!

Try a search for "test new lens" or "how to test lens" etc etc

the way to select the best lens is your own way

how nitpicky you want to be, how boh liao you want to be

you want to be super boh liao, you can bring down your computer, and then make a big show by transferring to computer and make a lot of ooh and ahhh and wa sehhhhs while you check how sharp the lens is in the shop.

my advice is, a rudimentary check on lcd will be good enough, just shoot at wide open remembering that it shouldn't be too sharp, and then stop down to f/8, use something with details, make sure you do not handhold, i.e. use timer to trigger, and then rest it on something in the shop.

most shops have lens boxes to test with, use that will be good enough.

but that's me, that's good enough for me, you can always be anal and do the laptop suggestion. :bsmilie:

I would have to agree with night86mare...

when you're way too picky, you'll end up with the bad copy. that's just life.

Whatever you bring to the shop - you should know how to use it in the first place. Some people have used batteries in a row ... but the problem finally was that the focus didn't lock on the intended spot cause something was distracting the focus sensors. Garbage in, garbage out ...

the way to select the best lens is your own way

how nitpicky you want to be, how boh liao you want to be

you want to be super boh liao, you can bring down your computer, and then make a big show by transferring to computer and make a lot of ooh and ahhh and wa sehhhhs while you check how sharp the lens is in the shop.

my advice is, a rudimentary check on lcd will be good enough, just shoot at wide open remembering that it shouldn't be too sharp, and then stop down to f/8, use something with details, make sure you do not handhold, i.e. use timer to trigger, and then rest it on something in the shop.

most shops have lens boxes to test with, use that will be good enough.

but that's me, that's good enough for me, you can always be anal and do the laptop suggestion. :bsmilie:

Bought my lens already..followed "night86mare' method...adding on wif a test chart...hm...but a bit hard to communicate at OP sia...tat guy can't really speak english...
anyway...is this lens suppose to b tat tough to rotate?? (referring to the zoom)...
and i realise tat..my cannon 18-55mm IS n tamron 17-50mm sharpest is almost equally gd!!!... jus tat tamron has e f2.8...hence keepin my canon kit also..lol..
cheers!

Are you serious? There's no way to select a "best" lens any more than there's a way to select a "best" handphone or a "best" girlfriend.

You just have to keep trying till you find something you like.

Bought my lens already..followed "night86mare' method...adding on wif a test chart...hm...but a bit hard to communicate at OP sia...tat guy can't really speak english...
anyway...those this lens suppose to b tat tough to rotate?? (referring to the zoom)...

Got the impressions some of these fellas pretend not to speak English .. search me ..
Yes, the Tamrom is a bit tough at zoom compared to the kit lens.

for me, i just
- take out the manual of the lens in the box
- lie it flat on the table
- aim and focus on some words or alphabet and rem it
- take a picture
- preview it and zoom in to see that area u focused on

Take it few shots and varios aperture settings.
Besides sharpness, another thing to see from here is the front back focusing problem. The area u focused on should be sharp, not those much in front or back.

hope this helps

Just one question about this lens testing.

Whichever the shop, for NAF or Canon mount, I guess there are like 2 copies in the shop. Very lucky if you have more than 2. For other mount?? Then, if you're not so happy, got to go to another shop. And then, the other shop might wanna to sell you at 45bucks more.

To me, it is a matter of luck, a matter of knowing what to expect from certain lenses.

I concur with Nightmare.

To me, sharpness is just one aspect. Alignment is another aspect - Shooting something flat, I check that all 4 corners are the same. Other things are like zoom in and out, focusing in and out, mounting and dismounting. I also look at the screws - to see if the lens has been repaired before, if the lens is virgin - being ""screwed"" before or not.

Just one question about this lens testing.

Whichever the shop, for NAF or Canon mount, I guess there are like 2 copies in the shop. Very lucky if you have more than 2. For other mount?? Then, if you're not so happy, got to go to another shop. And then, the other shop might wanna to sell you at 45bucks more.

To me, it is a matter of luck, a matter of knowing what to expect from certain lenses.

I concur with Nightmare.

To me, sharpness is just one aspect. Alignment is another aspect - Shooting something flat, I check that all 4 corners are the same. Other things are like zoom in and out, focusing in and out, mounting and dismounting. I also look at the screws - to see if the lens has been repaired before, if the lens is virgin - being ""screwed"" before or not.

wow...so detail ar.... actually..e shop's guy a bit like not happy when i requested to have a 3rd set for testing lor...he said something, "is still e same no matter how u test"...
i was like....act as if nothing...hai....

wow...so detail ar.... actually..e shop's guy a bit like not happy when i requested to have a 3rd set for testing lor...he said something, "is still e same no matter how u test"...
i was like....act as if nothing...hai....

Hmmm, when i'm there testing, they don't seem to give me such replies... I communicate with Stanley in OP very well in both English and Chinese though..

Anyways, congrats on getting your Tamron 17-50 f2.8! To me, its a darn good lens for such a price.. Was fed up with the kit lens shortly after using it..

Hmmm, when i'm there testing, they don't seem to give me such replies... I communicate with Stanley in OP very well in both English and Chinese though..

Anyways, congrats on getting your Tamron 17-50 f2.8! To me, its a darn good lens for such a price.. Was fed up with the kit lens shortly after using it..

stanley?!..hm...e guy who served me was a china guy...

tamron...ya..is really gd...but..heavy sia...was shock..too use to kit lens weight..haha..but hoh..i really find tat kit lens is a lens i'll use it for a general shoot usage..landscape at f9 is gd for this kit lens leh..haha...only those nite shot then i'll really depend on e f2.8 for tat ambient lighting..haha..

Might as well just bring the Tamron lens out? Lol, save energy and strength.. You can shoot at 2.8 and 9 or till 22. lol.

Btw, Stanley IS a china guy, with a english name. =P

Might as well just bring the Tamron lens out? Lol, save energy and strength.. You can shoot at 2.8 and 9 or till 22. lol.

Btw, Stanley IS a china guy, with a english name. =P

HUH!!!..o..he is e 1 ar...lol..e way he replied email was very polite..face to face..he is still ok..though he dun really smile much or entertain...
nvm..
anyway...they really got lots of stock available for testing..a gd place to buy lens...n is cheaper too!!..

Everytime he entertain me halfway, new customer come in, he'll go serve them, then leave me to my own thoughts. lol.

Their rates are cheap that's y i only go back to there.. =)

Everytime he entertain me halfway, new customer come in, he'll go serve them, then leave me to my own thoughts. lol.

Their rates are cheap that's y i only go back to there.. =)

yaya...gd cheap rates...found e shop tat i can go for....perhaps i'm talkative bah...hence not use to it...lol

btw...any ways to make the zooming for tamron more smoother?!..
if can smoothen it...it gonna b a real keeper..

spray it with some WD40.

ok, don't.

anyways, congrats to you that you found your best lens! :bsmilie: