Where to buy electric water heater?

WuffRuff

Jan 10, 2007
opp. East Coast Park
I'm looking for an energy efficient water heater.
Anyone has any models to reccomend and places to get it at good prices?
I've no idea how much these cost actually but looking for one not too ex and energy efficiency is very important.

the bare coil type?

Electric water HEATER??

or

Electric water KETTLE??

Alot of difference leh.... Anyway, for the water HEATER, I dunno.... I suppose u can get them in shops selling sanitaryware (think toilet bowls, basin).... Alot of them in jalan basah area.

As for the wateer KETTLE, I dun think they use alot of electricity. So shouldn't be a problem. But do bear in mind, the cheaper ones tend to rust/disintegrate rather quickly. So its good to invest in a good one.

Electric water HEATER??

or

Electric water KETTLE??

Alot of difference leh.... Anyway, for the water HEATER, I dunno.... I suppose u can get them in shops selling sanitaryware (think toilet bowls, basin).... Alot of them in jalan basah area.

As for the wateer KETTLE, I dun think they use alot of electricity. So shouldn't be a problem. But do bear in mind, the cheaper ones tend to rust/disintegrate rather quickly. So its good to invest in a good one.

wah... so scary... so u guys digest the heating elements?

Eh, no lah... As soon as i spot something abnormal, I change it.:D

But on closer inspection, it is something like rust....

Then i change to the better quality ones like tefal then its alright already.

for? bathing or drinking?

Bathing lah. For drinking one is called electric kettle, not water heater.

Electric water HEATER??

or

Electric water KETTLE??
QUOTE]

Aiyohhh... title says "Where to buy electric water HEATER?"
Yes, I know what is electric water kettle and I did not ask about that. I already have and am using that.

Eh, no lah... As soon as i spot something abnormal, I change it.:D

But on closer inspection, it is something like rust....

Then i change to the better quality ones like tefal then its alright already.

The rust can be quite easily cleaned. Pour a fresh can of Coke and boil (don't boil also can, I think boil better effect) or squeeze lemon or add both Coke plus lemon for hardcore, then leave overnight. If very hardcore and rust still not off... boil more and leave for more days. You may like to give it a little scrubbing to get the stuff off. That's it, your kettle is almost like new! :sweatsm: I have 'renewed' my lousy kettle like this. I'm using lousy kettle (not i buy wan) but it's not that bad... only did this cleaning after using for over a year.

Better quality, no matter how branded or expensive, also will rust. The heating elements are all very similar... good quality ones can maybe last a tad longer only. You are actually paying more for better design (ergonomics), features (some have more features), better efficiency and speed of boiling (not necessary also), and probably better quality plastics that wouldn't degrade as easily as cheap ones.

If you ask me, I rather pay a bit more for a better one too, but this cheapo one wasn't bought by me and it still does the job, so I'm not buying another better one... unless this one really cannot liao. With proper care and once in a while cleaning, even cheapo kettle can last very long. Even expensive ones need care and cleaning lah.

Bathing lah. For drinking one is called electric kettle, not water heater.

no leh, my home use those hot water pot... hehe... so inside confirm cleaner... lol...

no kettle @ home...

bathing 1 hor, u wanna buy those wall mount type or those tank type?

Actually hor, the cheapest for such is actually not using electricity, instead, get those using gas type, in long run.

U going n buy then DIY?

Mine was bought n installed by the contractor.

bathing 1 hor, u wanna buy those wall mount type or those tank type?

Actually hor, the cheapest for such is actually not using electricity, instead, get those using gas type, in long run.

I want the most energy efficient type that wouldn't cost me a bomb.
The reason I want to get another heater is cos the current one I have is the most energy inefficient type and is the cause of my high electrical bills. Currently, I'm using those big water tank that uses electricity to heat.

Yah, I heard those gas type has the cheapest energy usage too... but I've heard horror stories of gas leak and people die inside bathroom... and I spend a freaking long time in bathroom... if gas leak, very high chance it will kill me. So decided to stick to something safer like electric ones. Btw, now my system is wired up to use this big tank, if I get the wall mount type, will it be possible to rewire it to use this instead?

U going n buy then DIY?

Mine was bought n installed by the contractor.

I hope the place where I buy it will include some installation service at a reasonable fee.
Otherwise, can ask my uncles to help me install.

An energy efficient one can cost you about $300 (those that sense the room temperature, auto adjust water temp, have auto shutoff after reaching a certain temp.) A basic one is about $79+ not including installation charges which will set you back further. Most Hypermarkets including NTUC Xtra in Tomato Town sells them.

Err... Actually before the water reaches your house pipes, they already contain a lot of rust already from PUB underground water pipes, HDB water storage tanks etc etc just that it is not visible to the naked eye unless the water pressure is suddenly increased.

An energy efficient one can cost you about $300 (those that sense the room temperature, auto adjust water temp, have auto shutoff after reaching a certain temp.) A basic one is about $79+ not including installation charges which will set you back further. Most Hypermarkets including NTUC Xtra in Tomato Town sells them.

I think something in between is ok.
I don't mind paying about $200 for an energy efficient one. I think it will take just 4-6 months for me to 'earn' this back in terms of electricity savings.

Oh, another impt thing is, I hate those that the temperature difference between each setting is too wide... meaning you can only set the water too cold or too warm.
I hate those... those are nono.... I don't think I'll be getting the cheap one then.
Nice shower is quite impt to me... so is saving money on electricity. Rather invest in a better one. Afterall, I save in the long run.

Hey,
I just read that I may be able to convert my current tank to use natural gas and that it is very energy efficient.
Anyone knows where I can find such services?
Also, are there services where they can service and improve my current heater's efficiency by installing some stuff? I've read that installing and removing some stuff can make your heater more energy efficient.

very curious. how much $ you spent on electricity used on (bathing) water heater? do you fill up a whole tub with warm water each time you bath?

most likely she on the heater 24/7... hence the high cost...

to save money, on the heater 15mins prior to use, and off it in the midst of bathing... depending on how big the tank is and the distribution.

perhaps the best way to heat is to add a nozzle heater at every tap source... maybe a 200w one... instant heating... think of it like your water dispenser with the cool and hot water feature... normal water heater depending on the tank, varies from small sized one, 500w to 3000w (maxed out your 13A), imagine you take a bath, you have to heat up a big tank of water, but u only use abit... thats heating up unnecessary amount. Also, higher watt, faster heat up...

So what u wanna have?

Oh i oso using those 1 big tank kind.

Then another question comes in. U got how many bathrooms? If got 2 or more, then no choice, muz use the big tank. This is HDB regulation.

Those smaller wall mount types are actually called instant water heater. They draw quite a large current. Energy effeciency i know nth abt them... BTW, larger current does not neccessarily means use alot of electricity....

So, imagine, if every household uses more than one of these instant water heaters, either your erm what's that called.... circuit breaker box??..... will trip every day. Or, the substation will kena overload and the whole neighbourhood will live in darkness.

Then another question comes in. U got how many bathrooms? If got 2 or more, then no choice, muz use the big tank. This is HDB regulation.

Those smaller wall mount types are actually called instant water heater. They draw quite a large current. Energy effeciency i know nth abt them... BTW, larger current does not neccessarily means use alot of electricity....

So, imagine, if every household uses more than one of these instant water heaters, either your erm what's that called.... circuit breaker box??..... will trip every day. Or, the substation will kena overload and the whole neighbourhood will live in darkness.

well, in theory, i think those instant heaters are more cost saving than those big tanks type.

Cos, capacity is smaller, so water gets heat up faster than in a bigger tank. Also, it have shorter pipe to faucet so you won't be running the cold water, wasting it until the warm water arrives.

disadvantages, capacity small, so the cool water steps in faster if you take a long bath...

very curious. how much $ you spent on electricity used on (bathing) water heater? do you fill up a whole tub with warm water each time you bath?

I don't use bath tub, I use shower. If only one full bath tub, that's little.
If wanna count in terms of bath tub.... I dunno how to count... should be many...

most likely she on the heater 24/7... hence the high cost...

to save money, on the heater 15mins prior to use, and off it in the midst of bathing... depending on how big the tank is and the distribution.

I only on the heater 20 mins before I shower to heat up the water but I need to leave it on when I shower for the 1 hr. I tried before on the water 30 mins before I shower then turn off when I shower, but the hot water ran out in 10 mins and I have a long way to go in shower... so that does not work for me.

Also, we only use hot water for shower. Washing machine, taps... all use cold water...

We have 3 bathrooms but only using 1 bathroom for shower... the other one is backup, only used once in a while. Got this HDB rule meh? I've seen many HDB bathrooms use the wall type but they got more than 1 bathroom... maybe they're not using other bathrooms for shower. Anyway, I don't stay in HDB so it doesnt' affect me. And I'm only using 1 bathroom too.