RyanG

Apr 17, 2008
Under the Stars
Fun Challenge - Simulation of Film Shoot(SLR) with a DSLR
by Canon EOS 450D Club

Requirements:

1. Only Digital SLRs are allowed. (No Film SLRs.)
2. Prosumers cameras that allows you to switch off the LCD but not Preview function are allowed as long as you shoot through its Viewfinder and not delete any photos.
3. Only 36 photos are to be taken. (Equivalent to a roll of film)
4. LCD Panel is to be turned off at all times.
5. No previewing of photos. (i.e. No deleting. Shoot and move on)
6. You are free to use any Shooting Modes, Metering that you are most comfortable with. (Recommend to use P mode)
7. ASA/ISO speed is to be capped at 400. Known as ASA in film SLRs. (i.e. Allow speeds are from 100 to 400. Recommended by Yoh)
8. All photos are to be shot in JPEGs only. No RAW format as we will be viewing it after the shoot immediately. (No PP-ing either.)

Theme: Free to shoot
Venue: Sentosa
Date: 28 March, Saturday
Meeting Venue: 11am at HarbourFront MRT

Note:
At the end of the day, all shooters will choose their best piece and I will post it up on this forum for votes to determine the top 3. No prizes at the moment. Anyone want to sponsor?

All other makes of camera are welcome to join us. If you just want to tag along and learn, you are gladly welcome too.

Outing/Challenge Shooters:

1. RyanG
2. jlkk76
3. Joshua0718
4. Ninja23xx
5. Benghui
6. Yoricko (TBC)
7. Raylen
8. Fatah (1000D) ~ Withdrawn due to moving house
9. sukevin (50D)
10. st0pandst4re

Interested shooters, please kindly PM me.

Sidenote:
1. Life's a Beach will be on during this challenge/outing trip.
2. Due to some unforeseen circumstances, I will not be bringing my laptop and thus, after the challenge, choose the best five and post them up. I trust that you guys abide by the requirements. ;)
3. A time period of 1.5 hours is set for the challenge to take place. (i.e. Shooting 36 photos in 1.5 hours isn't that difficult right? Hehe! :))

sounds really fun, is it open for all camera users or Canon only?

Some updates...

There will be an outdoor sports event on the day of our outing at Tanjong Beach, Sentosa. It's just getting better, isn't it? The event starts at 9am and hopefully, it will still be on when we eventually get onto the island itself. ;)

Check the details here >> http://www.lifesabeach.nusartsclub.org/

With so much fun install, PM me your interest now. :D

Make the timing earlier then :p

Anyways 1.5 hours isn't a lot for me, I'll probably take up only 7-10 frames :p. (Yet again, I'm using a Film camera lol)

3. Only 36 photos are to be taken. (Equivalent to a roll of film)<-----Just can shoot 36 photos? Why?

5. No previewing of photos. (i.e. No deleting. Shoot and move on)<-----haha~! Everytime after shoot a pics i also immetiately view the pics.

;p

3. Only 36 photos are to be taken. (Equivalent to a roll of film)<-----Just can shoot 36 photos? Why?

5. No previewing of photos. (i.e. No deleting. Shoot and move on)<-----haha~! Everytime after shoot a pics i also immetiately view the pics.

;p
3. For the challenge sake, for the SLR feel since a roll film would be 36 frame only.

5. Yeah! But SLR you can't view the pics unless you develop it. :)

pls look at the header lor...:sweat:

Make the timing earlier then :p

Anyways 1.5 hours isn't a lot for me, I'll probably take up only 7-10 frames :p. (Yet again, I'm using a Film camera lol)

Earlier. I scared people cannot wake up. It's weekend, bro. And our Jimmy bro still have to work through 1 hr when his official knockoff time is 1pm.

;p

Why? Mainly is because we are doing a simulation of Film SLR using a DSLR.

Why 36? Because one roll of film can only shoot 36 shots.

Why no previewing? Because there's no such function on film SLR.

Ultimately, it's a challenge and yet fun. Up to the challenge? Join us if you are interested. :)

More updates...

Meeting time is moved forward to 11am. Meeting place remains the same.

Sequence of events

11.00am: Roll-Call for all shooters at HarbourFront MRT
11.15am: Move out to Vivocity Level 3 to take Sky Train to Beach Station
11.30am: Disembark at Beach Station + Challenge Briefing
11.40am: Set off for outing/challenge

Places to shoot is not restricted but I had draft up a plan as per below. We can choose to go with it or just go accordingly to our feelings/moods on the day itself.

1st Site: Tanjong Beach (Sporting Event on-going)
2nd Site: Palawan Beach + Southern Most End + Twin Towers
3rd Site: The Merlion & Merlion Walk
4th Site: Siloso Beach

Additional Sites: Imbiah Lookout, Butterfly Park, Images of Singapore, Underwater World...

We are not going to access the paid premises of all these attractions. We can actually shoot what's within the vicinity.

wah shiok - i confirm can go liao =) - erm just a thought - cos there's that event hor i was thinking if we finish our challenge (ie finish 36 shots) we shld just stay lor

of course lah...we pay $$$ to go there.

u tink we go there shoot 36 shots n go back meh?

wat abt the xmm? ;p

of course lah...we pay $$$ to go there.

u tink we go there shoot 36 shots n go back meh?

wat abt the xmm? ;p

Of course will stay. Haha! ;)

Should have because the event is organized by NUS Sports Club IIRC. :D

Not sure if I'm coming tommorow, dead tired today.

Alright guys.

It's not too late to join us. If last minute, any of you want to join us, meet us up at 11am at HarbourFront MRT.

We will moved out in 11.15am. See all of you tomolo. :)