Kallang KFC - Your childhood memories

3in1c

Oct 23, 2008
East
How many of you recall having spring chicken at this outlet? This was the last outlet that serve whole chicken during the change.

Last night, I began to realize it has changed so much over the years. Even the popular free flow soft drinks is gone for good. The kids playground is also removed, I saw some disappointed faces too.

Did you ever play around the river side after eating at that KFC?....

Any memories you wish to share?

Though not from the "whole spring chicken" era.
Used to go there very often when i was still active with bike kakis.
Remember will meet there every week, sometimes 2 to 3 times per week.
After makan and a drink, we will go to JB for petrol and ciggie. :D

How many of you recall having spring chicken at this outlet? This was the last outlet that serve whole chicken during the change.

Last night, I began to realize it has changed so much over the years. Even the popular free flow soft drinks is gone for good. The kids playground is also removed, I saw some disappointed faces too.

Did you ever play around the river side after eating at that KFC?....

Any memories you wish to share?

Those were the days when kfc packaging does not comes in paper plates / cups . And the drumstick were much bigger.

yeah i remember. Those were fun days.

Even now the kfc there is the best compared to other outlets. No kidding. Just don't go there when there's a whole bunch of people and stupid kids running around. Sure dl.

i'm from era that they serve with plates & metal utensils at that outlet. dun remember got a playground, cos normally parents dun let me go play cos i dun play well with others... lol...

i think another fast food i remember is the burger king @ parkway parade, with the playground with balls...

Anyone remember going to the A&W in Kallang? Fast food restaurants sure felt different back then. Miss the old days.:cry:

It used to be served by waiters, and had metal cutlery..:think:

Kallang KFC....celebrated my 21st birthday there with my colleagues after our night shift. We were the only group at the whole restaurant the morning (it was about 4 am). One of my friends brought in a bottle of whiskey for the celebration. I have to admit that the staff were cooperative and closed both eyes! This was >20 years ago, don't think they will be so accommodating these days.

All good things must come to an end...

i used to eat there after playing squash. Once, my ex gf made me challenge with all her male frens in squash:cry: but i won...:bsmilie:

Honestly, that place "was" the hub for insurance uncles/aunties, students, secret lovers, kids parties and family. If they change too much of it, people would rather go parkway parade. Also, i am guessing KFC & MacDonalds may charge a fee for parking in future too when the circle link mrt is up.

used to study for o levels there!

lol made use of the free flow soft drinks

for o levels, fast food chains is the worst place to go to. very fattening. LOL

A & W Kallang!!!! Great memories of root beer floats and their giant mugs... Great "mementos"... LoL

I prefer Arnold's whole spring chicken - juicy, tender and fresh. :thumbsup:

i'm from era that they serve with plates & metal utensils at that outlet. dun remember got a playground, cos normally parents dun let me go play cos i dun play well with others... lol...

i think another fast food i remember is the burger king @ parkway parade, with the playground with balls...

its just show how old u are.. ;p

Those were the days when kfc packaging does not comes in paper plates / cups . And the drumstick were much bigger.

Remember how they serve coleslaw and whipped potato....wow...thats huge difference now. I agree that the drumstick they serve now is 3 times smaller.

All good things must come to an end...

i used to eat there after playing squash. Once, my ex gf made me challenge with all her male frens in squash:cry: but i won...:bsmilie:

Honestly, that place "was" the hub for insurance uncles/aunties, students, secret lovers, kids parties and family. If they change too much of it, people would rather go parkway parade. Also, i am guessing KFC & MacDonalds may charge a fee for parking in future too when the circle link mrt is up.

Well, we might still get free parking for drive thru.

wah lau

last time metabolism rate was higher, i was slim then

now elephant ftw

no worries, you look just fine :heart:

only the goat need to go on diet somehow...:bsmilie:

Well, we might still get free parking for drive thru.

drive thru should always be free. but you should have seen the amt of cars abusing the free carpark there on a park and ride scheme. macdonalds used to be a hot spot for abuse. at 8am, the whole carpark was full while you barely see 5 tables occupied with patrons eating breakfast in there.

that is why kfc locked up the car park after closing to prevent free overnight parking for residence nearby.

Now with food cost rising, they probably have to control free flow drinks. as to why they took away the playground, it really looks like a silly move. Perhaps they are building a big kids corner to separate kids/adults like Mac.