Your Most BS BnS Experience

cyquek

Nov 17, 2007
Just to resurrect the following thread....Disappearing Sellers

I just had a crappy experience today. Not in CS but i think most of us are across many forums from togoparts, rctech, daddyhobby and whatever car forums too....So what experiences did you have with those forums in BnS? I start first

1) selling a part for $70...pretty sure thats the normal market rate, but this guy came, said all the wrong things for the parts to go with his RC car and offered me $30. Mind you, the market rate is $60-$70.

2) Came without knowledge of RC cars and says an ESC is not worth the price. When i ask him what RC car he has, he cannot answer

3) Selling good and new tires from my MTB. Say my tires are fakes when it has maxxis paper labels on it and bought from maxxis dealers....wanna give me $20 each per tires for a normally $60 brand new.

4) Say bargain with me coz thats his budget...."I can only pay $x leh, u want $y, not my budget" Oh Fook, my problem? No happy dun buy lor.

5) Agree on a price, agree on a place to trade, then say.."i come from jurong east, give me better price" I din ask you to come, u offered. Again not happy dun buy.

So what did other bros experience in other forums or in CS?:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

I advertised an item for sale once and this particular cs-er pmed me in a rather rude fashion. In his pm he informed me that:

1) my price is higher than a MO price. (mine is a different version and besides,how can you compare MO with retail prices?) :bsmilie:

2) The MO seller can deliver it to his workplace located in x area. (at least an hour away from the area i would prefer to deal in)

He not only offered me a lousy price, he made it seems like i'm a beggar and he's doing me a favour by buying my item! :sticktong

I notice a trend when people change their mind and dun want to deal (after a confirmed agreement), they will not say no, instead they MIA by turning hp off, dun answer phone or dun reply SMS. :angry:

got joker buy watch from me, called half a day later complaining watch battery run out

i just changed the watch battery before i met him

only conclusion is he hold the light button for half a day

many years ago i wanted to sell an out of warranty camera.

i stay in the east, and the fella said he works in the west. so i go to meet him there.

and which west? bloody bukit batok MRT, which is like friggin far (i stay very east).

so travelled from very east to very west, and mind you i was selling for below market rate already, met the fella and saw he was damn reluctant to buy.

to cut the long story short, he said he did not want to buy the camera because it did not come with a warranty card.

"uh hello... camera is out of warranty..."

"uh.. no thanks" and ran away.

...... waste my time.

There are all sorts of goons out there. But I'm glad those I met so far have been good. Sometimes, we need to qualify our buyers or sellers. ie, ask questions to question their sincerity and seriousness about the deal. But at the end of the day, there is no foolproof way to weed out those goons. We just have to be alert and take our chances. At the end of the day, just don't let these people spoil your day ya. Cheers!

Agree. I think most sellers/buyers here are nice people.
I am new to this photography, and put on WTB a Prime lens last month. Met up with this clubsnapper and eventually bought 2 Prime Lenses from him. Told me where the minor scratches are etc before the transaction. Am happy with the 2 lenses till now. ;)

The usual call-seller-and-agree-to-meet-2 days-later to deal at his requested price, then the night before you call him to remind him, and he tells you he already sold it the day before to someone who offered a better price. When you didn't even haggle over the price.

Bo pian, this type is buay steady and no ethics la.....haizzz, what to do? :dunno:

I notice a trend when people change their mind and dun want to deal (after a confirmed agreement), they will not say no, instead they MIA by turning hp off, dun answer phone or dun reply SMS. :angry:

I don't understand why they don't have the guts to inform the seller that they have changed their minds. I believe most sellers will not be pissed at all.

Once, i met a buyer uncle who wanna buy my sigma 150mm lens. Upon meeting, he tested the lens and feels that it is not what he wanted, he wanted to go for other lenses eg. 70-200mm.

Am i a shop owner or i open a showroom for this type of people? Issnt buyers supposed to just check the lens condition and functionality and BUY it? dun Buyers research what they want or test the lens at shops before buying used lenses?

I really dun mind if he say the condition no good or copy is not sharp and withdraw, but he meet up to only see see test test? Waste my time!

Imagine, you try to sell a used Nikon or Canon DSLR and upon meet up, the buyer say : oh! i think a compact camera more suitable for me! How would u feel?

BS people :thumbsd::angry:

Contribute to this BS KNS BNS experience thread.....

I had a used wakeboard once I put up for sale in another forum. THis guys says he is very interested. I asked him whether he has seen this before etc and he said on the website, knows the spec etc and said would like to meet up at his workplace to view the board. Made it sound as if as long as condition is good, he will take it.

I drove from east all the way to his office at Leng Kee. Called him and he said please drive into the office carpark, so I obliged. He looked here and there for like a minute and that was it! Didnt even wanna like touch the wakeboard and then said he will let me know again. !!!! HUACK ! I even had to pay for the carpark cos there's no grace period !!! :bigeyes:

At the end of the day, I learnt my lesson that these folks will pretend to be serious buyer etc just to be not inconvenienced, even though they are not really serious about making the deal. One kind of a thick skin. If I were only half serious about a certain deal, hell, I'd go meet the chap at his place or office and view it after letting him know that if the viewing is without obligation, I'd meet up.

Anyways, now, I have become wiser and if I am SELLING something that you are interested in, you can come to near my place to view it. At most, it will take up my time, nothing more. If you tell me you live in the west, north or on the moon, hell, I'd either keep it or sell it to someone else who's more interested. :sticktong

Whao got lots of experience on those not keen to buy. For an item i selling at sgd$3/- the buyer wants me to meet up with him somewhere near his area at his convenient. I wasn't angry, i just feel that chap has to learn to be more intelligent. Then there's this chap interested in one of my item but wants to buy it at half my quote selling price and at the same time another item i selling free :bigeyes:

Then that's one guy long time ago interested in my used handphone but ask lots of questions. I was new in selling used stuff many years back then and tried my best to answer his queries, but realised that he's just like some mother farker mentioned by Sprintist in this forum not keen to buy just beat around the bush hoping he can get it for free.

My latest experience is a guy selling PC game. Keeps changing meetup location and i am real pissed with such indecisive flexi timing people. More to quote i go recall my past experiences before i post more again haha

I don't understand why they don't have the guts to inform the seller that they have changed their minds. I believe most sellers will not be pissed at all.

As long as buyer and seller did not meet to deal, i believe changing your mind is alright, however, it would be ethical to at least inform the buyer or seller like: sorry friend, someone offering higher price and will come pickup immediately or sorry friend, i decide not to buy ...etc

My opinion.

As long as buyer and seller did not meet to deal, i believe changing your mind is alright, however, it would be ethical to at least inform the buyer or seller like: sorry friend, someone offering higher price and will come pickup immediately or sorry friend, i decide not to buy ...etc

it is not alright

you just breed a culture of wait and see, where there is no trust.

if there is agreement to meet and deal, then buyer OR seller should not be shopping elsewhere. from my point of view it is ethically wrong. if the price is agreed, then surely it is only fair that the buyer should reserve the item to deal with seller..

AND the seller shouldn't be looking around for other deals, otherwise there is no end to it.

as long as buyer and seller did not CONFIRM meeting to deal, then it's fair game.

it is very exasperating, as a seller (since i don't really buy), to have held the item back for a deal 3 days later, and having rejected other potential buyers to honour my side of the bargain.. and then have the buyer back out later because he found the item for $3 cheaper.

similarly, same for buyer, i can imagine. how would you feel if you agreed to meet to deal and end up the guy sms you 2 hours before say

SORRY, I SOLD IT TO SOMEONE ELSE FOR $3 MORE AND HE COULD DEAL IMMEDIATELY? think about it. what goes around comes around.

that said, i have met many good buyers on cs, that went smoothly. it is really bad luck when you just get the kind of nonsense person who is just happily wasting everybody's time by trying to buy everything and backing out of deals last minute.

My opinion.

Agreed with nightmare that this is not ok. Absolutely not.

If seller and buyer agreed to meet up and deal, they should try their very best to stick to it. Unless, the meetup is postphone for too many times with reason like work, weather etc.

Then maybe it is up to both of them to forgo the deal (even without meeting).

lol...

i already kena lots of people like that... agree to sell at a rate, just when i've changed and all about to leave the house, confirm location and time that time, then they msg me back and tell me somebody else offer higher... then like uh.. hello, you agreed to a price and you put "fixed price firm" on your listing, then i offer your "fixed" price.. and finds out it's not fixed like when i'm about to leave the house?

still got the gall to sms me back and say "sorry, i'm sure you would do the same thing too"... ......... don't think everybody got no morals like you...

There is this one guy (i won't say who) who always post in Canon BnS and have a asking price that is 10-20% higher than the market rate. I PM him a few times, on separate occasions, saying i'm interested in the item he is selling can he lower the price a bit. He will always reply rudely and say can not, price fixed.

Then when I'm selling my gear on BnS this same person will PM me and quote me a price that is way below market rate, normally 10-20% lower. This is when I'm selling lens that are like 2-3 years old, condition 10. When I tell him it's too low he will say "oh the new price is $XXX, my offer price is x0% of the new price, fair right?". This happened a few times, same person, same tactic. Now everytime I see his WTS post I will just skip since i'm 99.9% sure it's not worth visiting.

haha yes, i noticed that too. like $700 for a 580EXII. when you ask if he's willing to sell it at 650, the reply is damn rude. but that was a long time ago. i tend to just ignore that seller's threads too. still, it makes a good laugh sometimes. i wonder how often does he get to sell his items?

Sounds like he's a 2nd hand shop or trader or the like.

There is this one guy (i won't say who) who always post in Canon BnS and have a asking price that is 10-20% higher than the market rate. I PM him a few times, on separate occasions, saying i'm interested in the item he is selling can he lower the price a bit. He will always reply rudely and say can not, price fixed.

Then when I'm selling my gear on BnS this same person will PM me and quote me a price that is way below market rate, normally 10-20% lower. This is when I'm selling lens that are like 2-3 years old, condition 10. When I tell him it's too low he will say "oh the new price is $XXX, my offer price is x0% of the new price, fair right?". This happened a few times, same person, same tactic. Now everytime I see his WTS post I will just skip since i'm 99.9% sure it's not worth visiting.