why so many letting go their LX-3

maxpower

Apr 5, 2004
It has come to my observation, that many people are letting go their LX-3 after owning it for a short duration. Most common reason is upgrading to DSLR, this also includes my colleague at work, whom in the end bought an IXUS 870is?? My colleague tells me, the LX3 is not so pocketable and the zoom is not enough. So owners and ex-owners of this cam, share your experinences here.I've personally tried it and its very good, typical of panasonics good built and design of late.

i was about to buy 870IS as a pocketable camera, in addition to the dSLR which i currently own. However, looking at the specs and sample images for Fujifilm Finepix F200EXR, i am just going to dump every PnS and simply go for F200EXR. It comes with Aperture and Shutter Priority, wide angle, 5X zoom, image quality comparable if not superior compared to F31FD... and so many other perks...

LX3? mmmz.. too ex, and not really usable zoom lah...

It has come to my observation, that many people are letting go their LX-3 after owning it for a short duration. Most common reason is upgrading to DSLR, this also includes my colleague at work, whom in the end bought an IXUS 870is?? My colleague tells me, the LX3 is not so pocketable and the zoom is not enough. So owners and ex-owners of this cam, share your experinences here.I've personally tried it and its very good, typical of panasonics good built and design of late.

I personally use my 870IS as a video cam....

If you have seen the video clips from a 860IS or 870IS, I am sure you will throw away all your 1-2k videocams....which is why I sold off my JVC videocam...

Have used Fuji F50FD and Panny FX01 and FX520 before, though the FX520 claims to have HD720p video quality but still it's very jerky if view on big screens...and seriously the still picture quality is still not comparable to Canon PnS ones...

I sure hope video in DSLR comes sooner so that don't have to lug 2 separate gear when shooting kids...

well, 860is / 870is has no OPTICAL zoom during video recording.. that itself is IMPORTANT... what throw away video camcorder, if u are throwing.. i dun mind driving over to get from you and give u a packet of drink.. haha..

the video is not that great lah... i used it before... not bad, but still its just a camera video recorder.. at VGA res...

got already lah, D90, 5DMII, or the upcoming 500D

well, 860is / 870is has no OPTICAL zoom during video recording.. that itself is IMPORTANT... what throw away video camcorder, if u are throwing.. i dun mind driving over to get from you and give u a packet of drink.. haha..

the video is not that great lah... i used it before... not bad, but still its just a camera video recorder.. at VGA res...

Yup, thats why i am impressed even at VGA quality, not so much of resolution compared to HD of course, but the smoothness of the video...

Anyway, I do hope Canon can quickly come out with HD on their new IXUS soon to catch up with competitors...many are already in HD and Casio even coming out CMOS sensors PnS...

I was actually also eyeing for LX3 when it came out but seems to me the craze is over and seen many people selling off recently...I wondering whether it is a overly hype cam in the first place where many claimed it to be excellent in this forums as like what G1 is having now? and seen few others are also letting go G1 as well...:dunno:

LX3? Very satisified with it and not gonna dump it. It make me want to upgrade to DSLR to get even better quality pictures.

got already lah, D90, 5DMII, or the upcoming 500D

Was actually aiming for D90 last Sitex, but after trying out, I find the AF using live-view was too slow (>3s) for fast shooting, esp kids running around...

After testing A300, it was deem that the AF in live-view is as quick as OVF. Many say Live-view is useless, but to me, it's my "eyes-saver". Imagine I have to look through the OVF and waiting for a good chance to snap a photo...by the time the moment appears, i would have "cork-eye" liao...

Anyway, it was also a good and easy to use cam for my spouse (main approver as well), so headed for Sony.

5DMkII is too expensive to buy as a cam for only indoor kids shooting, unless I kena TOTO...

450D/500D, same live-view problem, more than 3s or so to focus, by the time all moments already gone...

Anyway, just my personal usage, others will have different views and requirements...

450D/500D, same live-view problem, more than 3s or so to focus, by the time all moments already gone...

I am not wrong there isn't a 500D in Sitex'08... Live View in 450D is "faster" than those found in D90 if you use phrase-detect AF instead of contrast-detect AF... :)

1) No XP Support for Panasonic RAW, cannot even see your photos to cut and paste from SD card to computer.

2) Practically no zoom

3) Not pocketable

I am about to buy this LX3 ,but after seeing this thread, Hmmmmmmmmm, shall I hold my horse?:confused:

Some sold their LX3 to get a dslr...

1) LX3 cannot fulfill the full potential of one photographer.
[same reason why pple upgrade their entry level dslr for a pro full frame dslr]
[same reason why pple keep upgrading their lens & body, forgetting what the primary reason for owning a camera in the 1st place].

2) Forgot that LX3 is a compact PnS camera with loads of cool features,
comparing [size to a dslr] or [features to any compacts ard].

LX3 has served me well & to me, the Best compact PnS camera around.:thumbsup:
no zoom?
stand closer & improvise the shot.
no software?
Wait a while... LR2.2[for mac] only just release its support... the rest will come.

No I m not letting it go

Those who let it go don't know how explore the beauty of LX3 ;)

Not pocketable ---> you get a solid built PnS cam
Not enough zoom ---> you get a bright/fast lens

There are so many nice sample pics taken with LX3, why bother with ppl want to sell their LX3 :bsmilie::bsmilie:

zoom for compacts once over 300mm is a bit hard to hand held.
no tripod = no hope.

give me a fast lens anytime.

Lx3 is any time better than those other pns listed abv...
where can u find a pns that had a f2 lens at 24mm with hotshoe flash somemore?
great for taking shot in dim area with sufficent dof
P1020182%20copyre.jpg

great for taking beautiful landscape also
P1020213%20copyreew.jpg

*pls note the abv pics had already been ps for the dof effect

first let me rebute all ur claims...

so what its f2.0 lens... i dun really care about it.. the high iso for Lx3 is really :thumbsd:

i need useful 5x zoom... 28mm wide lens is good enough for me... :bsmilie:

crap, why would i want a hot-shoe for Lx3... i might as well lug my dSLR along...

first let me rebute all ur claims...

so what its f2.0 lens... i dun really care about it.. the high iso for Lx3 is really :thumbsd:

i need useful 5x zoom... 28mm wide lens is good enough for me... :bsmilie:

crap, why would i want a hot-shoe for Lx3... i might as well lug my dSLR along...

to each his own.. can your dslr sync flash at 1/2000sec??? ;p
can your dslr be that light and compact for the same amount of speed (lens)?

I'm still in love with my lx3.

Hee.. The 24mm and 2.0f is great!

I brought this cam for travelling.
Its feels good with the flexibility you can do with a camera this size.
I still can adjust the speed or aperture to what I need. I can use filter.

Pocketable camera cant really do all these. I hate the restrictions with my previous compact camera.
Cant adjust speed according to speed I'm travelling. Cant control the aperature to have the bokeh effect or adjust dof.
I make up the zoom by cropping. And the 24mm makes the pictures look real good too. At least to my own taste.

The best thing I feel when I bring this to travel is the flexibility I have on the pictures, without the need of bringing an extra bag for the cam or lens.
It feels so good when the cam can go into my sling bag. Ha..

Talking about hotshoe, thats something nice. I had a sony V1 and has used the hotshoe quite frequently, and more recently my small nikon P5000 had a SB-800, might look silly, but it turned out nice. I rarely used the full end of the zoom of my PNS. For indoor dinner parties, that 24mm sure would come in very handy.