75-300mm lens

De3pster

Jan 25, 2009
Opp Macritchie
when buying the 1000d now, there is a promotion on the 70mm to 300mm lens at only 59 when its original can cost up to 400. I heard from some that those lens are not good at all hence the promotion to get rid of it? pls advice.. thanks!:D

Not neccesary not good, most probably making way for new models. $59 is dirt cheap for causual use.

when buying the 1000d now, there is a promotion on the 70mm to 300mm lens at only 59 when its original can cost up to 400. I heard from some that those lens are not good at all hence the promotion to get rid of it? pls advice.. thanks!:D

Canon's 75-300 III USM's image quality is not that gd. To be honest, 3rd party ones produce better IQs.

quality may nt be that good, but for a newbie, i tink its a steal. get it since its so cheap to get a feel of the range. if u like it, get a better one in d future. if u don't, get rid of it and it didnt even cost u much...

Canon's 75-300 III USM's image quality is not that gd. To be honest, 3rd party ones produce better IQs.
The better 3rd party ones will cost >$100 in the B&S section. So IMHO a different price category.

quality may nt be that good, but for a newbie, i tink its a steal. get it since its so cheap to get a feel of the range. if u like it, get a better one in d future. if u don't, get rid of it and it didnt even cost u much...
One way to view this deal is to buy it be familiar and sell it when you feel that the lens could not meet your needs. I wonder if you will lose any money when you decide to sell it off subsequently.

The better 3rd party ones will cost >$100 in the B&S section. So IMHO a different price category.

Incorrect. The Canon one is more expensive when bought new and sells around the same price 2nd hand.

2nd that.

can you tell picture differences between 70-300 and 55-250mm IS?

Looking from the perspective of price IMO it's a good deal, you can't find 70-300 lens lurking around in that price category. And you can learn a lot of things about tele-photo from that lens before you decide to grab another lens that suits your needs more in the future.. of course you can't tell what your needs if you haven't even tried it before right? At worst you get yourself experimental toy.. which i doubt so if you only use your shots for computer viewing or upload them to internet just like me :)

At $59..... just buy 1st lah..... $60 bucks can't even get you a Org Canon 1000D battery :bsmilie:

Like the others said.... sell away CHEAP once you no longer need it. ;)

Hi..I'm one of those that took up the promo on the 1000d and bought the 59 bucks lens. After buying i was so full of regrets cos theres so many negative writeups on this lens. I had a chance to use it abt a week later and here is one of the pic shot @300mm zoom end handheld (was leaning against a wall). I would noe say it;s fantastic but it;s definitely worth the 59!
3219521209_2cfa650718_b.jpg

hey dev2k8, mindsharing where did you take that photo?TIA!

hi Billy...near my workplace in Yishun Industrial Pk A where there's this indian temple and once a while they have this kind of walkabt!!! No P&P done on pic except cropping. Soft yes but like they say "heck ! $59 only " hahaha. Here's another cpl to share all taken with the bazooka !
3233186785_b10b9f0eba.jpg

Are you takin my pic???
3234034518_3bbabae044.jpg

OOuchhh!!!

Only when I've improved and when budget allow...den I'll get a better zoom but in the meantime this one still boleh tahan I guess....

yap I know...$300+ I would get the 55-250mm IS liao....actually considering that hahaha!

True..... the EF-S 55-250mm not only have IS.... but better IQ too :thumbsup:

Yup..... but since he need the camera anyway.... might as well pay the extra $59 ;)

But honestly it's cheap, perhaps to clear some stocks. Initially i also wanted to buy the 75-300 III USM but in the end went for the noisier Sigma 70-300.