Ericang

Jul 7, 2008
Singapore, Singapore
Hello fellow CSers

I need your advice on some lens selection
Heres the situation
I currently own a D90 + 18-105 kit lens
and a prime 50mm f/1.8

i am eyeing on the tamron 17-55 f/2.8 lens for quite sometime now.
Got a friend offereed to sell me his 18-200mm VR at 700.

i only have budget to buy 1 lens @ 600.

Should i :-
1) sell of my 18-105 for the 18-200 and forgo my chance of buying the tammy 17-55?

-or-

2) Ignore my friend's offer and carry on to get the tammy 17-55?

Dilemma ...

please advice me what are the better options

to the best of my knowledge, there is no tamron 17-55 f/2.8.. only a tamron 17-50 f/2.8. i assume you are talking about that.

what do you stand to gain from having the 18-200? what do you stand to gain from having the 17-50 f/2.8?

which is a higher priority? do you want both? or do you just want to fill up space in your dry cabinet?

for me, when i think of buying lenses, i start thinking 3 months ago, and i keep thinking whether i want it, and i keep thinking how much i might use it. if i am sure and i still think about it 3 months down the road, i will buy it.

you make the choices in this; after all, it is your hobby, it's what you shoot, not anyone else.

i thought of having the 18-200 as a walk about travel lens.
Since its better then the 18-105 kit lens. sell it off at 300 and top up 400 bucks for a better zoom. comes in handy when u r travelling.

As for the tammy, i like to take night photography.
Thats why i have the idea of getting the tammy 17-50.

So i am still wondering .......
cannot make up my mind

i thought of having the 18-200 as a walk about travel lens.
Since its better then the 18-105 kit lens. sell it off at 300 and top up 400 bucks for a better zoom. comes in handy when u r travelling.

As for the tammy, i like to take night photography.
Thats why i have the idea of getting the tammy 17-50.

So i am still wondering .......
cannot make up my mind

1) fair enough. 18-200 is useful as a travel lens indeed. but are you not willing to carry more lenses overseas? it depends on you.

2) night photography? what sort of night photography? if you're talking about scenics, to take good pictures, you need a tripod, not a fast lens. i would think that the f/2.8 on the 17-50 is more useful when it comes to depth of field issues, since even in low light, usually flash is required to capture portraits properly.

Night photography like walking around chinatown night bazaar....
wat u usually do in the day when you go on tour, but in night time

Hello fellow CSers

Heres the situation
and a prime 50mm f/1.8

1) sell of my 18-105 for the 18-200 and forgo my chance of buying the tammy 17-55?

-or-

Dilemma ...

this is very common.. it's basically faster lens vs longer reach.... over at canon side always got people compare 24-105L vs 24-70L...

Still you have a silghtly different situation.... you already got a 50/1.8. ;)

my advice would be obvious, dun you tink? :D

Hello fellow CSers

Heres the situation
and a prime 50mm f/1.8

-or-

Dilemma ...

if you get the 18-200, you get basically the same lense just that has longer range.

with the 17-50, you lose the long range but get a faster lens that works wonders during nightime.

see what you need but if me, i would keep the 50mm for night shots and depend on cropping to get the picture i want and go for the 18-200 instead as i am guessing most of the shots will be daytime shots or at least those where the subjects are relatively staying still.

check out other brands like Sigma and Tamron for more competitive pricing.

2 votes for 18-200
1 vote for 17-50

How about this
Get the 17-50 and also grab another 55-200?

2 votes for 18-200
1 vote for 17-50

How about this

if you consider more lenses... of course tat would be ideal...

*edit* paiseh... wrong system recommendation... that what happens when I'm half-asleep posting. :sweat:

2 votes for 18-200
1 vote for 17-50

How about this
as long can afford to spend above the budget, feel free to.

Hi!

Just took up last december so oso consider "green", started with a 50mm f:1.8 with strong recommendation from one of the CSer who sold me his used D200 when he upgraded to D700. Recently just bought two lens from Tamron, 17-50mm (600) and 18-270mm (900) oso from the advice from CSer bros.

Must say there are totally two different lens to start with, 17-50mm ideal for low light and candid shots while 18-270mm allow you to zoom in and the VR is really helpful for starter like me.

Have a look at these pics that I've just taken and hope they could help you decide:
http://gallery.clubsnap.com/showgallery.php/ppuser/77481/cat/500

Hello fellow CSers

Heres the situation
and a prime 50mm f/1.8

-or-

Dilemma ...

18-200 would really be more useful.
The 2 lens are entirely different so there really shouldnt be a lens over another lens issue. =)

And f2.8 isnt really such a big deal when it comes to nite photography.

i am using a different system from you so my opinion might be different and not applicable for your case...really depends on what you shoot primarily.. and whether you feel limited by your 16-105mm now..

But if I am in your case with the choices on my system, I will
- Sell the 16-105 (at $300 as you said)
together with your $600, you now have $900 to
- Buy the Tamron 17-50 (which i am using and is a great lens)
- Use the remaining to buy a new/2nd hand 70-300 (a 2nd hand one will cost less than $200 for my system, not sure about yours)
- you still have your 50mm f1.8 for low-light shots

at the long range end, focusing for the 70-300 will be faster than the 18-200.. and
at the <50mm area, the optical quality of the 17-50mm will generally be better than superzooms like the 18-200, and of course the 17-50mm will have the advantage in apertures..

downside is you sacrifice the convenience of having 1 lens and having to switch lenses when the need arise... but how often do you go travelling? And if you do go travelling, how often do you forsee yourself shooting from 50mm-200mm? The 17-50mm is fine as a general walkabout lens too imo.. its on my camera most of the time..:bsmilie:

Another vote for the tamron. I prefer faster lens then longer reach. No point reach further but ended up with blurry pictures due to camera shake.

My vote is with the 18-200mm lens.... The different is that you save time during the change of lens to take more shots... :thumbsup:

Dude. Its your money. You decide for yourself. Why ask for our opinions?

1. Use your 18-105. Go out shoot every weekend for 2 months. Look back at all your shots. Look at the range that you use. are you using between 18-50mm? or are you using >50mm much more often? (THIS DETERMINES YOUR TYPICAL SHOOTING STYLE AND RANGE)

2. How many times do you wish every week that you have had a 200mm zoom in your hands to get close to things? One photo a week that you wish for a 200mm zoom range out of the possible 300 that you take? (THIS SHOWS IF YOU ARE LIMITED BY YOUR 105mm RANGE)

3. Are you lazy to bring additional lens to change on the move when you are travelling and stuff? In the first place, how often do you travel? Once a year? Once in 2 years? (THIS WILL TELL YOU IF YOU SHOULD GET ALL IN ONE OR DIFFERENT LENS)

You get a 17-50 tammy, you are overlapping range. absolute waste of money. you sell away your 18-105 and get a 18-200, yep, you can get all in 1 zoom. so what if you dun haf the f/2.8. It will not help you at night to let you do handheld and obtain CLEAR images. If you got 20 inch arms, the VR component in 18-105VR might actually help.

You already decided to go for 18-200 cos of the convenience. So why trouble yourself with the tammy 17-50? you got the 50mm f/1.8. That is already good enough.

Dude. Its your money. You decide for yourself. Why ask for our opinions?

1. Use your 18-105. Go out shoot every weekend for 2 months. Look back at all your shots. Look at the range that you use. are you using between 18-50mm? or are you using >50mm much more often? (THIS DETERMINES YOUR TYPICAL SHOOTING STYLE AND RANGE)

2. How many times do you wish every week that you have had a 200mm zoom in your hands to get close to things? One photo a week that you wish for a 200mm zoom range out of the possible 300 that you take? (THIS SHOWS IF YOU ARE LIMITED BY YOUR 105mm RANGE)

3. Are you lazy to bring additional lens to change on the move when you are travelling and stuff? In the first place, how often do you travel? Once a year? Once in 2 years? (THIS WILL TELL YOU IF YOU SHOULD GET ALL IN ONE OR DIFFERENT LENS)

You get a 17-50 tammy, you are overlapping range. absolute waste of money. you sell away your 18-105 and get a 18-200, yep, you can get all in 1 zoom. so what if you dun haf the f/2.8. It will not help you at night to let you do handheld and obtain CLEAR images. If you got 20 inch arms, the VR component in 18-105VR might actually help.

You already decided to go for 18-200 cos of the convenience. So why trouble yourself with the tammy 17-50? you got the 50mm f/1.8. That is already good enough.

agree with your saying... :thumbsup:

as the saying goes, once you tested the 17-50 f2.8 you would no longer interested in shots taken by your 18-105, however if you opt for 18-200, consider you only get an additional 95mm distance to which do you really shoot that far frequently?

Thanks for the feed back.
The day before, my hand got very itchy and got myself a used Sigma 70-300mm APO from the buy and sell section.
Was fasinated with the zoom. but its without VR. Its a good lens to use in bright daylight.
But at night, i can just keep it at home.

So i guess i will be selling of my 18-105 to fund my 17-50.

I hope this will be a good combination.
Still new here trying out everything. But everything seems so expensive to try
heheheee

Once again thanks for all your feed back CSer !!!
Apperciate them