skypacker

Oct 18, 2006
Hope not a repost.

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews_pentax_km.php
Rated 4.5/5
Highly Recommended.:thumbsup:
"With an aggressive launch price of £399 / $699 with 18-55mm kit lens (and flash in the US), the K-m continues the recent Pentax tradition of producing well-thought out DSLRs that offer great image quality. The new Pentax K-m may not feature any great surprises, but it does offer an easy path into the often-confusing world of SLR photography."

Another winner from Pentax.:cool:

Tested over the weekend. The AF is definitely much more responsive. Really surprised... Especially it's k-m, the lower end of the dslr line up from Pentax. But i really didnt find it small.. But if u r in the market for a budget dslr, Go get 1... u will not be disappointed!

Wow. You got it already?

Was thinking of it as my 2nd body for travel, but then the K100DS serves well in this aspect, but then I really really like small (and will go perfectly with my 3 pancakes.. erm, the M50, I regard as a pancake, it's tiny!), but then I want a K20 for all the raves I've read about it, but then... I ought to be happy with what I've got.

Augh.

Was in KL and I got it for a relative (RM1800). Very light and dead easy to use. The AF will surprise you. :thumbsup:

3099354780_bb4a99e938_o.jpg

Was in KL and I got it for a relative (RM1800). Very light and dead easy to use. The AF will surprise you. :thumbsup:

3099354780_bb4a99e938_o.jpg

Wah.. 1800?! That's a good price. Which Shop? I was in Mega Mall (Trillion) and they were selling 1999.

Hey, are they giving the DA Kit Ver. II vs the actual L lens?

CNET UK also had a short review of this wonderfull little camera:
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/digitalcameras/0,39030232,49300101,00.htm

K-m scored 8.4 by their standard, far ahead of Nikon D60 (7.2), Canon EOS 1000D (7.2), Sony Alpha A200 (7.0) and Olympus E-420 (7.5).
Conclusion
Really, though, the kit lens is the only thing worth complaining about, and it’s not really any worse than you’d expect at the price. The rest of this camera is terrific, especially the depth, richness and dynamic range of its images -- a real Pentax strong point at the moment. This is a sturdy, practical, straightforward and extremely likeable camera.

Wow. You got it already?

Was thinking of it as my 2nd body for travel, but then the K100DS serves well in this aspect, but then I really really like small (and will go perfectly with my 3 pancakes.. erm, the M50, I regard as a pancake, it's tiny!), but then I want a K20 for all the raves I've read about it, but then... I ought to be happy with what I've got.

Augh.

Wait a little bit more if you want the k20d. Cos' the later versions may have AF that surprise you! :bsmilie:

Or alternatively, why don't we ask OP to bring in this nifty little camera (by DSLR standards), but with assurance of buyers. Almost like a mass order?

Wah.. 1800?! That's a good price. Which Shop? I was in Mega Mall (Trillion) and they were selling 1999.

Hey, are they giving the DA Kit Ver. II vs the actual L lens?

Photo is at Trillion at Mid Valley lah. :bsmilie:
Even at Tarita at Sungai Wang they offered me the same price. Kit lens was Ver II.

Photo is at Trillion at Mid Valley lah. :bsmilie:
Even at Tarita at Sungai Wang they offered me the same price. Kit lens was Ver II.

Bro, you speaking to a half malaysian liao.. it's Mega Mall at Mid Valley. :>

Same price is 1800?

i want to downgrade if the AF accuracy is good... ;p

I'll think twice ler... cos' cannot choose the auto focus point. For a PnS DSLR, maybe ... :sticktong

Bro, you speaking to a half malaysian liao.. it's Mega Mall at Mid Valley. :>

Same price is 1800?

Ha, ha, forgot your dual citizenship... :bsmilie:
Quoted to me RM1820, a few minutes of talking and got it down a bit. Only piece in the shop.
Also saw it at Tarita at Sg Wang was willing to sweeten with some freebies, same price. I'm sure if you can speak Cantonese it will be an advantage.;)

AF frame is like my *ist DL2. Seems OK enough. Can always use AE-L.
But really light weight and you only need to use right hand to operate camera.

I'll think twice ler... cos' cannot choose the auto focus point. For a PnS DSLR, maybe ... :sticktong

oh...cannot ah... K200D can or not ?? i just need a camera that can take good pics, good enough dynamic range, AF is accurate...all the bells and whistles i dun need... ;p