Omnia vs HTC Diamond

mapper48

Mar 15, 2008
Joo Chiat Place
Hi

Anyone has any inputs as to which of the above is better in terms of specifications, usability, features etc..

Appreciate your opinions.

Thank you.

Hi

Anyone has any inputs as to which of the above is better in terms of specifications, usability, features etc..

Appreciate your opinions.

Thank you.

You and me both!... Looks like I am not the only one struggling to make this decision right now..... And since I am buying without a contract....can not make the wrong one! heheheh... I have been track these two phones for 3 weeks now.

You can find alot of hands on review on You Tube.

In the end...or at least for now, I am holding back buying now because I am waiting for the arrival of the HTC Touch Pro (codename: Rafael) which is the Diamond with the keyboard. Which to me will make alot more sense. I will get the HTC Touch Pro if the rumour that it will be out in Late August or Sept. But by then, the Sony X1 'maybe' out too.

The only problem with the Touch Pro over the Diamond is to alot of people who saw it, it is alot thicken. Which throws off some people to get the stop waiting for it and just buy the Diamond. So those who don't need the keyboard will just get the Diamond. I think a keyboard is very much my style but not compulsory if other major features are not as good.

I like the Touch Pro version for another thing... internal memory is 288mb while the Diamond is 4 gig. BUT...the Touch pro allow you to insert the SD memory module unlike the Diamond.

Okay in terms of just the Diamond and the Omnia....the Omnia getsyou 16gig plus you can insert a memory module. Both are good as they are using Opera Mobile internet browser so that is good and have wireless which is a MUST for me ( I use a hicard and will not pay a ransom for some darn 2 or 1 yr contract...so no 3G) if not I would have got the Samsung F430 or the LG RS20...etc. They both has sensors so it know to change orientation when you use it in portrait or landscape mode....so they have this function where when you face the front of the phone downward. The ringing is silent. Flip it over and you can hear the ring again. This mean sound silly but for quick ring mute...nothing is faster I think.

The funny things is this which I hope theyhave fixed or patch it...I heard that though both use opera mobile...the Diamond allow you to play youtube flash files but the Omnia don't I could be wrong but that was what some review mentioned but I suppose you can add a 3rd party to solve that.

Of the two interface..I think the Diamond's TouchFlo 3D is awesome. Abit slow if you multi task but I tried it at the shop and it seem fine. The Omnia is alittle faster in some way but then again, the reason it is slow is becasue HTC built a cool touchFlo 3D and theme skin instead of using Microsoft's Window Mobile default theme and layout so the skin use abit more processing to run that interface over the OS. The all black and cool look on the Diamond sold me initially but something about the Omnia also caught my fancy....but it looked abit like iPhone lah heheh...

It also has a BIG 5mp camera to boot!!. Omnia has one thing which I find funny why they did it that way. The stylus is not contain in the phone but they have a small metal loop which you then tie the stylus to it. So it dangle there like some girlie mobile toy heheh. The HTC Diamond's stylus is more cool as it has a magnet to secure the stylus inside the side of the phone so it does not pop out PLUS..if you take the stylus out and place it along the side of the phone, the magnet is still strong enough to keep the stylus attached to the phone's surface.

This is great as sometime I place the stylus on the table and it roll off the table. Small details like this endears me to the Diamond. Also Diamond has auto stitching which means you can take PANORAMA photo shot. You can take 3 frames of photo when you are in panorama mode which you can align all 3 shots to form one long panaroma photo all within the phone! Hope I explain that right. I don't think I have seen that in any other phones.

The flicking with your finger on the Diamond is pretty cool to change your music choice, address book...etc. YOu can flick side to side or top to bottom and top again to make choice selection. Cool. The Omnia has a front page for you to drag and drop widgets so you can arrange how you want to get at information or short cut to application just by looking at the front page of the phone. I read someone made something like the TouchFlo theme for the Omnia so it acts like the Diamond. I have read something about that but not seen it.

It is a hard fight for me right now heheheheh...there are alot more stuff in these phone but I think so far in the market...these two are right up there with the cool stuffs. ( sure there will be those who feel the iPhone is the Ultimate) I was thinking of the Nokia E90 at first choice when I decided to buy a new phone after so many years with my old phone..but as I researched more....heheh these two came out on top and I think alot more people are thinking the same thing. as there are some comparison on you tube over these two too. So check it out.

What would I choose? If the HTC Touch pro does not come out by August end or so... I will get the Omnia but if the Touch Pro does come out...iI think I will get it. Plus...that one on the back has a LED flash and the diamond shape cutting unlike the Diamond which is in glossy black...it will be matt black! more cooooool and will be less of a finger print magnet! heheh......

Happy phone hunting.....

I bought an Omnia and I don't regret it. You can head to ppcsg to read about both phones.

But seriously, I've been putting my omnia thru it's paces. Comments as follows:

Omnia's widgets - Marketing gimmic
Win M 6.1 - Stable
5MP cam... AWWWSOME (for a hp.. even has inbuilt IS :bsmilie: serious) Video recording has no jerky thingy and is actually smooth
Copied my Dave Straussman DVD in and was watching on my Omnia - Screen's good, sound's clear... plays in both DivX and MP4 formats
Has WinMedia Player as well as a Touch Player (which pretty much like the iphone plays full screen if you tap on it)
SMSes - stores everything in a LONG thread with responses so you can happily read whatever you've written
Has this vibration thingy when you tap the screen (turned it off to save batt)
HAs this ettiqute thingy when you turn the phone over it won't make a sound Unless it's an alarm.
(and yes i had to install flash player to play FLV files)

Only down side so far:
Playing MP3s - a bit soft
Using MapKing with GPS - take a long time to log onto GPS and drains batt like hell. You need a port replicator for using Mapking on Tomtom as well.
Oh yah.. user manual was written in Korenglish by KOREAN ENGINEERS!!! (and yes, I'm an engineer by training as well) IT IS HORRIBLE

My 2 Cents worth...

You and me both!... Looks like I am not the only one struggling to make this decision right now..... And since I am buying without a contract....can not make the wrong one! heheheh... I have been track these two phones for 3 weeks now.

Happy phone hunting.....

I bought an Omnia and I don't regret it. You can head to ppcsg to read about both phones.

My 2 Cents worth...

Thanks guys for all the good advice, my apologies for not penning my reply sooner, I was involved with an event yesterday, quick tired out, you know one of those thing lah.

My sincere thanks for all the really good insights. Maybe this thread should be one for all technical comparison for phones eh. Haha, just kidding.

Base on specs, the Omnia is better, so looks like I will be getting the Omnia instead. Will post back here for my experience on the Omnia.

Just in case my email is mapper48@gmail.com if you have other comments to make personally.

Thanks see you guys.

:heart: :cool:

I had an Omnia for 3 days. Could not wait to get rid of it. I've rarely ever used a phone that was as buggy, annoying and just down-right frustrating to use as the Omnia.

Personally I'm waiting for the X1. sonyEricsson styling, HTC engineering with an HTC-SE hybrid UI that looks better than TouchFlo. :)

What is so buggy about it?? I'm currently using one and is loving every moment of it.

I use the NaviFone for GPS that comes with the phone(the software is actually in the memory card given, Just need to install it from there thats all). I feel that it's every bit as good as Mapking so.. not a big deal for me if they don't include mapking there. With e-gps(requries 3G), i can get a lock on in less that 10 secs. Truly remarkable for a GPS if u've ever used one.

I did not use the Samsung Widget but uses the Samsung Today 2 plugin. It's much faster and less clunky. Everything i need is easily accessible using the Samsung Today 2 plugin. You can also customize the contacts page too. I've also installed Skype on it and never have i had skype running so well on a PPC.

The big screen is what knocks me into the Omnia. After handling the diamond for 2 hours and using the virtual keypad for texting.. u'll understand how difficult it is to type a message using a finger in Diamond as compared to the omnia. With bigger screen real estate, it's easier to hit the alphabets. The smallish screen of the diamond just doesn't cut it for me. Some may say they need the VGA resolution. My old PPC phone is VGA resolution screen and i don't miss it at all. On the contrary, I appreciate the bigger screen as now i dun have to scroll around or squint at the tiny screen fonts. I've set the system fonts to the largest and i've never been happier with any other PPC phones. In additional to all the above, battery life is the best of all the PPCs that i've used.

But... nevertheless... to each his/her own... one man's meat is another's posion.

i'm using omnia too. one major disappointment is the resolution. the screen is big but resolution is poor, what 's the point....i dont know what is samsung thinking.

there are always such disappointment in a mobile phone no matter which brand,

I agree with that statement, so far, every model that comes out has something that another model don't have. If they all combine together to produce 1 model, I think it will be an excellent phone, but by then, it may be a "huge" phone to be able to capture all the good stuffs of the best phones around.

So I think it boils down to "chemistry" with the phone, or the specs.

Based on specs, the Omnia is better than the Diamond, but there are features in the Diamond that Omnia don't have. So, it is just a choice that have to be made.

:think:

I sort of work for samsung, so omnia for the win! either way, i can't afford both phones, so wth. haha i'd rather spend the money on a new lens for my camera haha

or you could "accidently" drop it into my pocket. :D:D:D

I just came back home with my new toy "Omnia" but must charge it up first before I can use it leh.

Any good tips to maximise usage? What about the GPS map, how do I get it done? What about Chinese software is it installed already?

Wow, so many questions, do it tonight then, unless you nice guys out there can help me out with quick fixes.

Thank you all in advance.

Haha

:heart::bsmilie:

I just came back home with my new toy "Omnia" but must charge it up first before I can use it leh.

Any good tips to maximise usage? What about the GPS map, how do I get it done? What about Chinese software is it installed already?

Wow, so many questions, do it tonight then, unless you nice guys out there can help me out with quick fixes.

Thank you all in advance.

Haha

:heart::bsmilie:

i'll help you do all that if you trade me your D300 :D

I had an Omnia for 3 days. Could not wait to get rid of it. I've rarely ever used a phone that was as buggy, annoying and just down-right frustrating to use as the Omnia.

Personally I'm waiting for the X1. sonyEricsson styling, HTC engineering with an HTC-SE hybrid UI that looks better than TouchFlo. :)

Have you checked out a You-Tube on a cool feature of the X1? It has this mode where you can set the screen to show a pond with 3 koi fish swimming. Looking at it...it was like a screen saver but a product manager explain that the 3 Koi fishes represent 3 things. One koi will change colour as the batter power gets used up, another alerts you that you have a missed call or sms and the last koi I think is the phone's signal strength or somehting to that effect. So just looking at the 3 Koi swimming about will tell you some hidden alerts...Really cool widget. That is one of the reason why I have not plop down my cash for the Diamond or the Omnia or even the upcoming Touch Pro. heheheh...the X1 is screwing up my decision right now hahahah.... but I heard the X1 might have to wait even longer...year end or longer.

o_O thats an interesting (if not particularly uber useful) feature. got the link?

hmmm no one seems to be comparing these phones to the iPhone, which is what these phones are marketed against.

o_O thats an interesting (if not particularly uber useful) feature. got the link?

hmmm no one seems to be comparing these phones to the iPhone, which is what these phones are marketed against.

Here's the link...it is at time frame: 5.29min.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9C3zUJIi1k

Sorry...they are gold fishes not Kois hehehe

Oh...the other goldfish is for showing you that sound is switch off or is on. And if you touch any part of the screen, the 3 kois will swim to it.... uber cool man heheh... the clock is also seen in the white "water" background as you will see in you-tube

Marketed to try to SURPASS!! :heheheh.... Well not this year yet (though it is a damn good try with what they have) but in the year to come. The models you see now in my view are knee jerk reaction and rushed" models from a number of players. It can take years to develope and write the software for a new phone. I think they just don't want to loose out so they took models that is just about to come out and added what they can to it so they have something similar to market and also to do market survey and see what they themselves can come out with to fight the iPhone "love-fest" I think alot of what iPhone has interm of hardware is nothing new and in fact less superior but what they have going for them is the software that drives it's features. They also work the hardward from the ground up whic make s/w compatibility less of a problem unlike the others which have to depend on other companies like Window Mobile or Symbian..etc But give them another 6 months or so...I think there will be alot more better ones coming out with alot of killer apps.

I suspect that the X1 was delayed as they wanted this one to come out fighting against the iPhone so the launch was delayed and they are reworking the OS to make it alot more better now so when it launch, it will give iPhone a good run for it's money.

Actually come to think about it..for those people who want to find out more details about what mobile phone they want to buy and even camera...you should try You-Tube...just enter a brand or model and you would be surprise what video you can get to tell you more or less what you are interested in buying...it is not just a place to find funny or music vids.