How to uninstall Vista?

fotoudavid

Mar 11, 2005
As title, how to uninstall vista and install XP?

I just got the laptop, and it's running vista, and 1st day, find that it's creating problems, so anyone here noes jow to uninstall it? As i have XP OS, i can install, just the uninstall part i dunno how.

you pop in ur XP disc, when it comes to installation screen, the disc will say that it detects another version of OS.

just use the option to delete partition with the OS, format with NTSF and reinstall. only thing you need to find out is if your XP disc comes with at least SP1 cos the newer laptops need at least SP1 for installing. i discovered this after trying to install XPpro into my laptop... only to crash it so bad dat i've to bring it to the service centre. :confused:

As title, how to uninstall vista and install XP?

I just got the laptop, and it's running vista, and 1st day, find that it's creating problems, so anyone here noes jow to uninstall it? As i have XP OS, i can install, just the uninstall part i dunno how.

Do a search under my name in kopithiam you would find someone
asking the same question and my solution to them. Ultimately,
remember to do full backup of your system especially when the
OS is pre-loaded and without a DVD for you to re-install back
in case you want it back

In a gist, its grab your WinXP Drivers first, Backup the system into
DVD for future, then format the system and install WinXP

Have fun.:p

thks, will try tonite.

**** VISTA!!

Vista ain't that bad lah. Just disable every bells and whistles and you'll end up with XP anyway. ;)

if vista cant offer the bells and whistles at the same speed and performance of a XP, these bells are not upgrades at all, they are a hindrance to ur effectiveness...

can u imagine a scenario:
u are currently using XP and u wanna upgrade ur comp to something faster eg. from the current single core 1.8ghz 512mb ram to a dual core 1.8ghz 2gb ram

Then ur new comp come with vista and when u start using it, u realise that u cant even feel the the dual core and 2gb ram effectiveness. This is becos the vista is totally slowing u down.

Whats the end result? You get a comp that has a brand new exterior casing, power supply etc. but yet the performance is still the same as ur old comp. Worst still, imagine software incompatibilities further irritating u.

So wats the point of vista?

given the newer generation of labtops with better specs than the pervious XP labtops, formatting the vista os to xp, gives your labtop a new lease of life and you're come to realise that with 2gb of ram in xp os, makes almost everything a lot faster than just 1gb of ram.

Then what's the point of Vista?

So wats the point of vista?

More integrated and slightly better security. :)

I believe M$ is stopping or has stopped XP support... give a few months and whatever holes in the OS would widen as Vista would still get updates.

Anyway, the "speed" loss isn't that significant for day-to-day uses...bottlenecks are on HDD and 2D graphics, Vista or XP.

And... who says next version would be better/faster... http://news.cnet.com/8301-13860_3-9980550-56.html?tag=bl ... might as well stick to DOS...guarantee blazing fast OS even if you only have entry systems. :bsmilie:

Bloody vista dun let me install, it's says the versions vista is newer then xp cd i put in!

nabei..............now 2 programmes i cannot use, nikon capture and nx....

How to formatt my systems, wanna get rid of vista.....

u can actually just format it, it's not that much of hassle....

but, by the look of it..... if u are unsure.... just send to service center... piece of cake.

press what and where to formatt??

Vista is just "nice" looking.
I work in a MNC computer computer, n all our interal PC /note ooks all run Xp sp2:sweatsm:
so much for vista:sweat:

I would seriously suggest to grab all your XP drivers first. If you cannot
find then then stick to Vista. I don't think you want a scenerio you
installed your XP and found no supporting drivers.

Formatting wise there are many ways. If you have Vista DVD then
pop in and you can format your system straight. If not then look
in internet for Opensource formatting utility. just remember to format
as FAT first then once you pop in your WinXP CD, format it as NTFS.

There are many tutorials in how to do a better job then the one i'm
suggesting, but my method would be the fastest.

Meanwhile if you do hit into problem when installing XP then prob
you will want to slipsstream the HDD drivers (esp if SATA 2) into
your XP installation CD. search for nLite

need to call HP liao, ask them to install xp for me, as still under warranty.

ah... if the service desk people try to sell you the BS abt their laptops cannot use XP, just tell them their website lists XP drivers for laptops.

they try to sell me a fast one when i brought in my HP 2133 to reinstall XP, after i crashed it. should have seen the bugger's face when i told him dat HP SG website provides XP drivers. all he could say was a lame 'i don't know' when i told him dat... ;p