Energy Conservation woes...

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Feb 15, 2003
Outside the Dry Box.
Well, dunno to laugh or to be extremely pissed...

Spent some time today morning activating back my connections cos last night someone pulled the plug off the server and switches...

So i found out who the one who pulled it... and the reason? Media say, even if we off the system, its still using energy... so this person go switch off the mains of the server and switches since everyone go home already...
Winner liao... got UPS and such also no use for the human error... :cry:

Lucky i dun run CS server or a Datacentre... else i can only reply... we're conserving energy...

wth...i would be damn pissed if some1 does that to the main server supply.
maybe you could leave a big paste it note telling whichever person not to off everything.
if we do care about engery conservation, we would have done it long time ago...why wait till now.

wth...i would be damn pissed if some1 does that to the main server supply.
maybe you could leave a big paste it note telling whichever person not to off everything.

well, imagine the boss did it... u also llmbb rite...

i'm thinking of buying a plug head with lock, but then again, they go switch off from the riser, also llmbb... nothing can stop them... :bsmilie:

its worse than a power trip...

i'm thinking of buying a plug head with lock, but then again, they go switch off from the riser, also llmbb... nothing can stop them... :bsmilie:

hai...if is the boss, what to do ?
bosses are always right no matter what and they normally dont admit out right that they are wrong but just hope that your boss can understand how serious if power is cut off to the server.
is not like the company server runs on solar power though.

energy conservation is good, but will need a sign on essential power line or educate them some of the things that cannot be switched off :sweat:

Stick at the riser lor.. "Switch off and Pay Rise"
See save energy more or pay rise more.

Upgrade your UPS to last at least 60hrs with your current load. :sweat:

Mabbe you'd (or your boss) be interested in some company who's trying to do this in realtime...read it over at cnet-news that someone is tying to implement automated/remote server restart... it was originally designed to handle server crashes... it seems that it can also be used to save energy when server is on low load.

Also tell whom ever that off that switch that (relatively speaking) it's like turning off the ignition of the car at every stop. You can save petrol cost but you stress the system more with each on-off cycle.

Mabbe you'd (or your boss) be interested in some company who's trying to do this in realtime...read it over at cnet-news that someone is tying to implement automated/remote server restart... it was originally designed to handle server crashes... it seems that it can also be used to save energy when server is on low load.

Also tell whom ever that off that switch that (relatively speaking) it's like turning off the ignition of the car at every stop. You can save petrol cost but you stress the system more with each on-off cycle.

well local server also can, you can set timing for boot up and shutdown. just that sometimes if we work late, then it suddenly off, abit pek chek... or next day ppl come early...

ER... your company's Data Server room and Eletrical Riser not locked one meh?? The person who says the power off till consuming energy is BS. Unless your plug is those with the indicator lights. But how much can you save?

This Energy saving program is really getting out of hand. I was assigned to lead the Energy saving program in my company and when we implement to switch the A/C to the office during the weekends and after office hours, some jokers dunno why stayed back or come back to work during the weekend and complained. So I LL have to switch ON the A/C. There goes my $5K saving per month for one guy. However I have another way round it. Slowly increase the temperature setting from 22 Deg to 25 Deg. Siao one, everyone wears jacket when I 1st join the company last year. one month I adjust 1 deg and now at 25 also nobody knew it... haha. Save a lot leh.

ER... your company's Data Server room and Eletrical Riser not locked one meh?? The person who says the power off till consuming energy is BS. Unless your plug is those with the indicator lights. But how much can you save?

This Energy saving program is really getting out of hand. I was assigned to lead the Energy saving program in my company and when we implement to switch the A/C to the office during the weekends and after office hours, some jokers dunno why stayed back or come back to work during the weekend and complained. So I LL have to switch ON the A/C. There goes my $5K saving per month for one guy. However I have another way round it. Slowly increase the temperature setting from 22 Deg to 25 Deg. Siao one, everyone wears jacket when I 1st join the company last year. one month I adjust 1 deg and now at 25 also nobody knew it... haha. Save a lot leh.

adjust to 30 and see lor, then they will be like, hmm, how come outside cooler... shiok, dun come office liao...

However I have another way round it. Slowly increase the temperature setting from 22 Deg to 25 Deg. Siao one, everyone wears jacket when I 1st join the company last year. one month I adjust 1 deg and now at 25 also nobody knew it... haha. Save a lot leh.

Wah! Tok about accelerated Global warming :bsmilie: What's the interval for your temp increment?

1/2 or 1/3 stop increment selectable wan?

However I have another way round it. Slowly increase the temperature setting from 22 Deg to 25 Deg. Siao one, everyone wears jacket when I 1st join the company last year. one month I adjust 1 deg and now at 25 also nobody knew it... haha. Save a lot leh.

Eh! Nobody realise one meh? I am sure that someone would have realised that they do not/can't wear jackets in the office now already.

Say global warming... a/c cannot keep up liao...hahaha:D

Well with the rate of old staff leaving and new staff coming in, I have less issue. Infact its more comfortable working without the need to wear a jacket.

Canew, your office also about 26 Deg C if I'm not mistaken.