Mobile Braodband

Teo

May 17, 2002
I'm looking into the M1 or Starhub Mobile Broadband plan basically for checking email purpose.
Any advise? as I'm not sure to sign up which service provider as I'm concern the number of Hot-spots they have especially in Sengkang and Tuas area?

Thanks

I'm looking into the M1 or Starhub Mobile Broadband plan basically for checking email purpose.
Any advise? as I'm not sure to sign up which service provider as I'm concern the number of Hot-spots they have especially in Sengkang and Tuas area?

Thanks

Bro ... looks like prices are tumbling. First M1 do a free speed upgrade, then Starhub lowers the price for 2Mbps and even bundles it free with the Maxonline.

I was with M1 since day 1. I believe they still offer the shortest contract period of 6 months. Only point to note is the modem is on free rental. You pay for it if it gets lost!

OK ... key to mobile broadband is not every provider can offer the best speeds at the same area ... eg, your study room. At the end of the day, its based on 3.5G and reception is key to realise the speed you pay for. Eg. At my office, my M1-BB works great but there is no 3G signal for Singtel.

I have been using the M1 Mobile Broadband, you will have data coverage all over Singapore island as long as there is handphone signal of the service provider. If you can get the 3.5G base station, you get much faster speed, if not it will based on the GPRS data. I would say the speed is not brillian but sufficient to surve net and get E-mail data.

You can't expect to have same speed as your boradband at home.

I have been using the M1 Mobile Broadband, you will have data coverage all over Singapore island as long as there is handphone signal of the service provider. If you can get the 3.5G base station, you get much faster speed, if not it will based on the GPRS data. I would say the speed is not brillian but sufficient to surve net and get E-mail data.

i am fed up with their broadband... 6 months ago their speed is so good... now it is dog slow.. from 7pm-10pm i struggled with an average of 10k-50k at HDB areas ! i am on a 1.8M plan $38 hor.. my maximum speed is so far 800k at 1am-2am !? i guess wired connection is still the most reliable... i planned to endure till PC show and then jump to Starhub mobile broadband bundled with basic maxonline, how about Singtel mobile broadband ?? maybe ... can consider also lah.. but their service level is like " ".. u know lah

I think all the providers are having the same problem of not enough bandwidth and base stations as each base station has a X max speed so if more users are in ur area, there goes ur speed. Singnets overseas connection even on my home broadband has been deteoriating the past weeks. If has also been noticed on some friends connections in different part of the country.

I use M1 broadband too... It is very slow... seems slower than before...
And quite frequently line dropped... :confused:
What do you mean by "if u can get the base station"?
How to get it? Or how to check where is the base station?

i planned to endure till PC show and then jump to Starhub mobile broadband bundled with basic maxonline, how about Singtel mobile broadband ?? maybe ... can consider also lah.. but their service level is like " ".. u know lah

Why must wait for PC Show? U mean the Starhub mobile broadband bundled with maxonline can only get at PC Show? Btw, PC Show is in June rite? You think there will be good deals at PC Show?

I would like to hear about feedback from Starhub and Singtel mobile users too. My M1 is quite sucks and since my 6 mths contracts is up and I am going overseas, I plan to discontinue the service before I leave. When I come back, I may want to change provider.

Does Starhub and Singtel have any unlimited plans? How much do they cost? I heard that M1 is the only one with unlimited data access. That is it's major plus point I guess. But perhaps M1 is not good for my area. Or are they all like that?? :dunno:

if possible, by all means use wired connection like maxonline or singnet, wireless internet suffered loss in strength esp.. in urban landscape like SGP.

But wired connection is expensive...
Now, my M1 broadband only costs $22+ per mth.
And for broadband, still need to pay for phoneline.
Sighhhhh...... just have to endure the slow speed I guess... better than no internet.

I use M1 broadband too... It is very slow... seems slower than before...
And quite frequently line dropped... :confused:
What do you mean by "if u can get the base station"?
How to get it? Or how to check where is the base station?

base station is a huge pole structure of transmitters and receivers of radio signals.. they look like candlesticks on on roof tops, it is radioactive when in operation mode , it can cause headaches if u stayed too long near it.:think:

They will cause headaches?

But wired connection is expensive...
Now, my M1 broadband only costs $22+ per mth.
And for broadband, still need to pay for phoneline.
Sighhhhh...... just have to endure the slow speed I guess... better than no internet.

so far the cheapest mobile broadband is Singnet, 10-12 dollars a month :thumbsup: maybe u can consider this.

They will cause headaches?

yes, if u stand very near to it. Just a like mobilephone if u used it too long.. u will feel a bit giddy

radioactive? will dio cancer anot?

If like this, then I think they probably wouldn't be located near residential areas rite?
How can I check the location of these base stations?

so far the cheapest mobile broadband is Singnet, 10-12 dollars a month :thumbsup: maybe u can consider this.

But how much data is allocated for this plan? If the data is small, then when exceed, end up paying even more also no point. I like M1 plan cos it is unlimited... for $22+, it's considered a good deal. But pity it looks good on paper but sometimes problematic when used. :(

The free maxmobile service I think it is till end of this year. For those who recontract to maxonline plus plans, it is a 12 months contract. Currently, this month is May it left with 7 months of free maxmobile.

I work at Tuas area and using SH Maxonline.

The SH 3G reception has been improved greatly.

HTH.

I am also thinking of getting a mobile BB. M1 has very bad rep so that one is out.

Anyone here on Singtel? Is the speed good?

I'm on Singtel. Pretty good reception so far. Speed is actually on par with my starhub cable modem at home. I've havent tried it in places like tuas though.