Hey! You Are A Taxi Driver, You Should Know What!

how about taxi drivers who refuse to go to certain areas? like sungei gedong...camp driver pretend act blur don't know where gedong is or what armour units are.. (huh? armour si se moh?...pai seh my chinese not very good...you get my drift)

alot of taxi drivers don't like or refuse to go to gedong man...
Easy!

Direct them to the place. Then they will have zero excuses.

They are not allowed to refuse customers based on the premise they do not want to go there or not sure how to go -> copy down their number plate and make a complaint.

For TS, that's our taxi drivers. Relatively ease of entry into the market and exit. It's not that expensive to travel by cab in Singapore. If you expect the legendary London cab then it is totally different. Their cab fare is many times of ours, but the taxi drivers spend 2 years knowing all the roads before they can pass their exam.

It is a trade off la, no choice. I know there's GPS in Comfort Cabs now, can always point them to refer to the machine to help them go if need be.

Since a discussion on taxi drivers..i would like to ask some questions..

Last week, I was queuing at the taxi stand outside the zoo. A group of "ang moh" tourist, was the first in queue for the next incoming taxi. Then a Merc cab came, one of the "ang moh" open the door and ask the price of the fare. The driver replied to them by pointing at his meter. Hence they all boarded the Merc cab, at the same time I saw the driver pressing a button on the meter to toggle the starting fee to start at $10.00.

Question:
Is there a surcharge for boarding at the zoo?

How is it possible the cab drivers can tweak the meter's fare system?

What do you expect out from a Singapore taxi driver?

All I expect from them is to get me to my destination in the same state as I left the house. I noticed that some of them seem to have a death wish - yesterday one taxi driver likes to change lanes when inches away from vehicles in front, and another insist on looking at me when talking, during even rush hour. Thankfully everyone survived the trip, but I think I left my hand print on the handle above the door from gripping it too tight.

I think it is reasonable to have you direct the taxi driver if it is not a well known location, or if you have a preferred route. My favorite way of directing cabs to a location in Beijing is to call a friend living there, then have the driver talk to the friend :)

All I expect from them is to get me to my destination in the same state as I left the house. I noticed that some of them seem to have a death wish - yesterday one taxi driver likes to change lanes when inches away from vehicles in front, and another insist on looking at me when talking, during even rush hour. Thankfully everyone survived the trip, but I think I left my hand print on the handle above the door from gripping it too tight.

I think it is reasonable to have you direct the taxi driver if it is not a well known location, or if you have a preferred route. My favorite way of directing cabs to a location in Beijing is to call a friend living there, then have the driver talk to the friend :)

me thinks your expectations of singapore taxi drivers are too high :bsmilie:

:( Some taxi-drivers don't even tell you they don't know the place beforehand. They would take you somewhere near the place first and then indirectly want you to lead them to your destination. Don't know must say mah. Walao, they think we will look down on them or reject their service because of that? What if both the passenger and the driver don't know the place? Lost in the jungle liao.

Wah I agree. Don't know what's so embarassing about saying I :dunno: But saying I dunno after holland already isn't nice either!! If they own up when I board, I'm more than willing to guide or switch cab.

Quote from Channel News Asia:
"Commuters who are caught not paying or under-paying bus and MRT fares will face a S$20 fine, starting this July. Those who misuse concession cards will also face a S$50 penalty."

So far taxi industry are not covered by the law, shouldn't its time to include cabby in the protection, too?

Well stereotypes exist because (I feel) that there's a truth to it. Your dad is an exception, rather than the rule. Kudos. Of course there are cab drivers who provide excellent service, but seriously, by and large, how many other cabbies do you know of who use the street directory?

Most do when I take a cab for work, and its usually to ulu places. If I know, I would certainly direct them. Usually I would chit chat with them, and we would discuss how to go to the places. If we both don't know, they use the street directory. I would wish they all have GPS, so its much faster.

Taxi drivers are a profession, and we should treat them as equals. Very friendly bunch too!

You haven't sat in a minibus in Nepal....Our drivers are mild compared to them. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Many of us didn't realize how a cab driver gets his/her driving licence. It's most based on road knowledge, which road to use for which destination. Not so easy.

So I find it odd why some say dunno how to go. Mostly it actually means "Eh, your destination too near or ulu to go and no passenger on return trip so cannot take lah!"

Becoz it's their profession and they know that it's not "feasible" to fetch you there that they say those excuses. This I know from conversation with some "good" cab drivers.

It happens to me so many times. Some reluctantly take me to work in Jurong Island, body language and mannerism tells it all. The bolder ones drop me off 100 metres after moving, saying all the excuses in the world, after I mention my destination.

Talk about being professionals......not to mention the touting ones and hell driver ones.

Many of us didn't realize how a cab driver gets his/her driving licence. It's most based on road knowledge, which road to use for which destination. Not so easy.

So I find it odd why some say dunno how to go. Mostly it actually means "Eh, your destination too near or ulu to go and no passenger on return trip so cannot take lah!"

Becoz it's their profession and they know that it's not "feasible" to fetch you there that they say those excuses. This I know from conversation with some "good" cab drivers.

It happens to me so many times. Some reluctantly take me to work in Jurong Island, body language and mannerism tells it all. The bolder ones drop me off 100 metres after moving, saying all the excuses in the world, after I mention my destination.

Talk about being professionals......not to mention the touting ones and hell driver ones.

get used to it...if you dont call cab no cab would take you there.
i got rejected before 4 to 5 times in the morning in jurong east taxi stand cos i need to get to tuas south ave 3.
still remember closing their doors damn loud in frustration.
end up no choice go boon lay call cab.
jurong island is even worse so deep into the far western part of tuas no cab drivers would want to go there unless you call a cab.

My one better, was suppose to return to my camp in Sembawang during reservist after night off. Planned to share a cab with my buddies from Jurong East MRT to camp.

Hailed a Taxi and driver say not sure how to go. We said nevermind, we guide you. Reluctanly he agreed and we move off. Instead of going PIE he went to AYE at Jurong Town Hall. We pointed out his mistake but he say , "Nevermind, I drive faster OK?". Then he supposed to exit at Clementi AVe 6 and go towards PIE. He missed it and my buddies already furious with him. His excuse to go exit AYE to CTE is faster, we kept quite (no use arguing and we left 30 mins before our night off pass expires at 10pm) and move on.

We end up paying more and got extra duty for booking in late by 10 mins. Imagine we started meeting at 9pm, intend to take Taxi at the shortest route via PIE -> BKE -> Woodlands -> Sembawang end up on a joy ride which we wish not to.

My buddy wanted to bash the driver, he some sort of a gangster type, but we restrained him. Lucky for the driver.........:sticktong

last weekend i was rushed for time and took a cab from serangoon north wanting to go to
Yio Chu Kang Mrt Station.. taxi driver asked me.. 'where is this mrt station ah?' :bsmilie:

get used to it...if you dont call cab no cab would take you there.
i got rejected before 4 to 5 times in the morning in jurong east taxi stand cos i need to get to tuas south ave 3.

I never had any problem taking cab from Jurong East MRT stn to tuas south ave 3 when I was working there in 98-99, when I missed the minibus in the morning? Hmmm....:think: