Photographers getting the rap again?

I can see why there pissed. But it happens at all events, there's always a few people who have no respect and ruin it for everyone else. Seems to be becoming a trend here lately!

That's why I do not shoot when i come to see the events....too many shooters, and I observed that some shooters treat them like free models asking them to pose this and that and not giving them space for privacy when they are resting. They are not like the product promoters at IT fairs nor car models...

I have to agree with you on this, bro :)

when i was starting out in photography.. it was kinda of fun and exciting to shoot models in events... however as the call for professionalism arise in recent years... u wun want to waste time in shooting them unless u are hired, paid or u got frens taking part in the event itself or u know the models personally.

some of my frens shoot events to keep themselves occupied becos they had no other social activities on weekends...

Just ask permission lor. If you ask politely, they are most willing to pose for you. This is what I do:

"Hello, may I take a few pictures of you? :)" - "Sure. :)" - Snap snap snap - three pics taken - "Thanks a lot! :)" - "Welcome :)"

Respect people. They are tired already. And if you say 'take a few pictures', make sure you really take a few pictures.

Agree with you especially on your last point. It seems like more and more CS event shooters attending such events are treating these cosplayers as "free models" or like the product promoters at IT fairs/car shows. First of all, let me highlight that cosplayers and product promoters are two distinctly different entities...product promoters are paid to do their job, look pretty and to face the cameras etc. but cosplayers are doing it mainly as a hobby. Sure, if you want to snap them, yes by all means, but a shot or two is fine, and don't "hog" them or pester them to do "funny" poses or such. They aren't your personal models at your beck and call. You want profesisonal models to pose to your every whim and fancy, go for the CS paid model shoots.

I would also like to highlight that in general, photographer's etiquettes and code of conduct at such events is gradually going down the drain. Reports of the "ugly" face of photographers rearing its head at such events abound. Taking unauthorised pictures, from "funny" angles (read: indecent angles), not thanking the person after shooting him/her, jumping in w/o permission to shoot, "hogging" or following the person around or pestering him/her for pics etc.

Let me relate one personal experience at such cosplay events. Once I wanted to shoot a cosplayer after asking permission, but this jerk came in, elbowed me, and started snapping away and behaving like he was the ONLY photog around, and he hogged the cosplayer like for 2-3 mins, and only left after I glared at him. Some photogs also did not give the cosplayer any sufficient rest after they pose for a while, especially while holding their heavy weapon props, and continue snapping happily away, and after that just leave without uttering a word of thanks.

I think all photogs should be aware of the general code of conduct and most importantly you must realise how you present yourself to the public and other non photographers in general. Don't make a bad name for all other photographers just because of your irresponsible and selfish acts.:nono:

Who knows one fine day maybe all photographers might be banned from attending such events!

another misconception issue, i dun bring camera to events cos 1) i can't control the subject, 2) i won't bother to take it out of my bag, 3) even if i take, whats the point?

i'm not pro (meaning, eating this bowl of rice)

but these 'ojisan', most are not pros. normally can see them loiter around events aiming their guns wasting ammos. they got tis press shutter feel shiok syndrome. then some got even worse syndrome... upload 1000 pics per event syndrome... every single 'beep' also upload, probably influenced by the battousai...

even product promoters also got rest time...

these people should learn to be considerate... anyway, whatever we rant here, most likely they get pissed and continue the habit... and next time, no more cosfest, no more shoot, no more TFCD, who lose out? not me, but i see razor weeping... :bsmilie:

3 shots? that's too much lah. max 2 shots ok? if after 2 shots still lousy, well that's your luck!

Just ask permission lor. If you ask politely, they are most willing to pose for you. This is what I do:

"Hello, may I take a few pictures of you? :)" - "Sure. :)" - Snap snap snap - three pics taken - "Thanks a lot! :)" - "Welcome :)"

Respect people. They are tired already. And if you say 'take a few pictures', make sure you really take a few pictures.

From now on, no photographers and cameras allowed for Cosplay.

I've seen a few no courtesy photographers with their food container on the flash.

Problem solved.

honestly.. some photographers jus deserved to hav a cactus shoved up that hole of theirs.. i was part of the bouncers for lolipop (besides being a photog at matsuri).. it was seriously wtf.. they jus snap away lik its their house.. being a photog myself i noe its hard to resist to take tt pic when it looks best but ppl alr say CANNOT take.. still go n snap.. idiots..

another photog... best.. i was video-ing lolipop's dance on the stage den tis photog can take his time slowly walk by my camera.. pause there for a few seconds (thus blocking my line of sight) n den walk off.. w/o realising that he blocked other ppl line of sight n nt even saying sorry... i mean.. its pretty obvious when a person holding his cam up for so long without a single finger on the trigger, that the fella is doing VIDEO recording...

below is his face circled in red.. honestly i dun care if im going to get flamed for tis..

443f6f2e-1.jpg

im jus super pissed by his behaviour thru the whole event.. so jus let me post it for the sake of posting.

Who is this?