night86mare

Aug 25, 2006
www.pbase.com
some funny email i received

I viewed your photography over at pbase and I think you capture the essence of images extremely well. I'm throwing a small surprise party for my relative on xxx date, and was wondering if you could come by to capture pictures as such. I love how your every picture has a story to tell and I think your photoediting is pretty good too.

I hope to hear from you soon! :)

very amused by it. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: i hope it isn't anyone browsing clubsnap, no offense meant, really.

My suggested reply.

Glad you liked my photos. Thank you for the invite, my charges are $$$ per hour :)

../azul123

My suggested reply.

Glad you liked my photos. Thank you for the invite, my charges are $$$ per hour :)

../azul123

...i deleted his email, there is no reply that i could give that would make anyone happy, and besides, if he's in singapore, i'm not there

if he happens to be in london, heck no, i'm not going to some stranger's place in a foreign land

i would decline in any case - i have not shot event photography before, nor do i plan to start even if there is $. maybe i should do just that, tell him that i would not do the job.

You have already offended the person by saying 'LOL' in the title. This letter is cordial. You can just reject him/her with kindness. Anything sent in private should be respected. Kopitiam is famous for making fun of people - it has never changed. Even our own CS brothers are targets. Just think about the members we have lost these two years.

I can only remember one lost CS member, Meng.

Meng, where are you? your MO still not delivered yet! :)

../azul123

You have already offended the person by saying 'LOL' in the title. This letter is cordial. You can just reject him/her with kindness. Anything sent in private should be respected. Kopitiam is famous for making fun of people - it has never changed. Even our own CS brothers are targets. Just think about the members we have lost these two years.

...actually i just typed a rather friendly reply

and honestly, censorship was done, and i can be almost 85% certain that the sender is not singaporean based on the name given in the email.

don't you think that even if the person WAS in cs, he should at least know something about the photographic business? well if he doesn't then he needs to know that event photography is very much different from whatever i mostly do, and it really seems ludicrous to me that he makes such an attempt.

of course he is cordial, if you are asking for a favour, you don't go knn ccb you come or i burn down your house, right? :bsmilie: so being cordial or not, is a null point to me.

i will not deny that this is possibly demeaning to the sender of the email. but neither should you deny that it is a ridiculous email. for me to not publicise this, almost seems hypocritical. :dunno:

yeah... if anything should go wrong it would be a nightmare for you :bsmilie:

ya lor

later end up i am the "surprise gift" for his "friend".. :(

with free photographic equipment on the side :( :( :(

of course he is cordial, if you are asking for a favour, you don't go knn ccb you come or i burn down your house, right? :bsmilie: so being cordial or not, is a null point to me.
Not bad leh, your sense of humour. That Hokkien bit I know. :bsmilie:

../azul123

Not bad leh, your sense of humour. That Hokkien bit I know. :bsmilie:

../azul123

lol. anyone who's been in singapore for a while, maybe 2 years, and come into contact with anyone who's just been through ns or going through ns..

would definitely know A LOT OF HOKKIEN.

before i went into army i didn't know much.. so you can't say that army doesn't teach you anything!

lol. anyone who's been in singapore for a while, maybe 2 years, and come into contact with anyone who's just been through ns or going through ns..

would definitely know A LOT OF HOKKIEN.

before i went into army i didn't know much.. so you can't say that army doesn't teach you anything!

I know, I know... though it was a long time ago for me.

Sorry OT, do they still use Orange or Green Name tags in army?

../azul123

I know, I know... though it was a long time ago for me.

Sorry OT, do they still use Orange or Green Name tags in army?

../azul123

:think: got orange name tags?!

since when.. won't be super obiang meh whether on no 3 or no 4

Can't remember leh.. but I think on no 3 only.

../azul123
i think now mostly green tags, haven't seen an orange one i think, but then i didn't really roam the whole army, not a despatch clerk or something

I viewed your photography over at pbase and I think you capture the essence of images extremely well. I'm throwing a small surprise party for my relative on xxx date, and was wondering if you could come by to capture pictures as such. I love how your every picture has a story to tell and I think your photoediting is pretty good too.

I hope to hear from you soon! :)

very amused by it. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: i hope it isn't anyone browsing clubsnap, no offense meant, really.

I suggest take up the offer and hope that He turns up to be a She. :lovegrin:

Just to confirm, you are amused by it because you take the view that it is asking you for free photography services?

not just that, also because it seems very weird since none of my works (whether on pbase or flickr) have any event photography, not much of people either