Need help with New PC configuration

Ah_K

Aug 3, 2002
www.enchantingkairos.com
Hi guys,

been thinking of getting a new PC recently.
my current one is so slow especially when editing photos or videos etc.
as i have been out of touch with all the new tech stuff... can anyone be kind enuff to share what is a good configuratin nowadays.

Preferably the system should be very good at doin the above 2 activity mentioned and of coz capable of running games as i do play some games from time to time

btw, another question... is quad core 2.4GHz better den a dual core 3GHz?

All the new stuff nowadays getting too cheem for me lar :bsmilie:

Hi !

In order to have a smooth process, your PC must have :

a) at least 2g of ram,
b) good graphic card

For your info, my previous PC always got 'hung" problem while doing the video or photo
kind of work

At last, i got a shop to specially configure for me a new CPU,
spent about $1,200 just for this:bigeyes:

Hi !

In order to have a smooth process, your PC must have :

a) at least 2g of ram,
b) good graphic card

For your info, my previous PC always got 'hung" problem while doing the video or photo
kind of work

At last, i got a shop to specially configure for me a new CPU,
spent about $1,200 just for this:bigeyes:

so what is ur pc configuration like now?
a) CPU
b) Motherboard
c) Ram
d) GFX Card
e) HDD

Intel Quad 6600,OC Kaw Kaw
Abit IP35E(Very decent board)
2Gb or 4GB Crucial Ballixtix(Good OC Ram)
Graphic ar,second hand 7899/79x0 or X1800/X19xx or 8800GT if got a lot of budget
HDD,i believe you have a lot,up to you
DVD-RW,i favor Sony and LG,other also ok,just make sure SATA one
Case,i prefer Lian Li PC7A,up to you also
PSU,Corsair 450W,Antec,Seasonic and Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W also ok(modular one)
Heatsink,Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro,decent for the price

Graphic ar,second hand 7899/79x0 or X1800/X19xx or 8800GT if got a lot of budget

Overkill...

yo a photog friend managed to get a quad system (q6600) with 4gb ram 500gb hdd with casing etc for around 1100. sounded to good to be true but then he's not lying either ahhaha..

regarding ur question for slower quads vs faster duos, for multiple processor capable applications (such as photoshop and most(?) raw convertors) i would say multiple cores are more impt than faster speeds.

multiple cores are also more beneficial if you need multiple programmes running. for example i can be converting raws in the background from one wedding, and editing a slideshow for b/w in photoshop. ;p

i think the weakest link in most photographer's systems is the hard drive. nowadays processors and ram is so quick and relatively cheap, but hdd, while big, are mostly slow. my system is expensive, becos i'm using only raptors and in RAID arrays. my hdd system costs more than my mobo/cpu/ram combo (which is usually the most expensive in a system). this is excluding my NAS that's sitting outside the box for archival purposes...

remember, hardrive is important becos no matter how much ram you have, photoshop is going to use the hdd for it's scratch disk. i have 2 raptors in raid 0 JUST for the scratchdisc....

and i'm not even gonna think about SCSI.. that's like overkill... :confused:

and the next person who says digital photography is "free" can be.. er.. shot. ;p

A cheaper solution to the raptors would be the new WD hdd's that spin faster. Someone recommended them to me last week.

Also if u want to do video rendering, a good graphics card would be important too.

A cheaper solution to the raptors would be the new WD hdd's that spin faster. Someone recommended them to me last week.

Also if u want to do video rendering, a good graphics card would be important too.

There aren't any new consumer hard disks that magically spin faster outside of the Raptor line. However the newer WDs (AAKS model) does seem to have higher average read/write rates. Samsung's F1 series is also worth a mention. If you want to speed this up, get a motherboard with the ICH9R (mid range P35 motherboards should have this) controller to do Intel's Matrix RAID. It's, IIRC, the fastest type of array around now, and offers redundancy too.

OT, but you want speed for scratch harddrives still can't beat RAM disks lah... no fight... and then RAID 0 it, win liao by a quadrillion miles...

but to TS, I think it is better to set a budget and work from there...

OT, but you want speed for scratch harddrives still can't beat RAM disks lah... no fight... and then RAID 0 it, win liao by a quadrillion miles...

:bsmilie::bsmilie:

hey u're not wrong.... ;)

and the next person who says digital photography is "free" can be.. er.. shot. ;p

but some ppl out there shoot only maybe like 5-6mp out of their 12mp cam and they dont bother post production :sweat:

ya maybe free for them .....lol

but some ppl out there shoot only maybe like 5-6mp out of their 12mp cam and they dont bother post production :sweat:

ya maybe free for them .....lol

hey bro how u been!

yeah still NOT free lor.. ;p

but yeah it's amazing the kind of hardware is needed to support full sized raw files nowadays... and it's only gonna get worse.

i'm on canon now and if i'm unhappy with the speed and built of the 5D, my only other option if i want full frame is the 1ds3, and that's 22mp (BLOODY HUGE!). there's sRAW, which is 5mp but that's like a bit too small.. so how?????????? sianz.... :bsmilie:

hey bro how u been!

yeah still NOT free lor.. ;p

but yeah it's amazing the kind of hardware is needed to support full sized raw files nowadays... and it's only gonna get worse.

i'm on canon now and if i'm unhappy with the speed and built of the 5D, my only other option if i want full frame is the 1ds3, and that's 22mp (BLOODY HUGE!). there's sRAW, which is 5mp but that's like a bit too small.. so how?????????? sianz.... :bsmilie:

so how ah ... hmm .. come back D3 ;p

canon ppl jump to D3 , u jump to 5D :sweat:
seems like the hopping game is fun after awhile u gets bored in photography :bsmilie:

sorry for the OT to thread starter ... think we keep our conversation to msn

sounds cool but very ex. :bsmilie: would love to get something like that though

Overkill...

ok lar... what he thinks is good specs mah ;)

yo a photog friend managed to get a quad system (q6600) with 4gb ram 500gb hdd with casing etc for around 1100. sounded to good to be true but then he's not lying either ahhaha..

I look at sim lim pricelist and add up the mobo, cpu, ram and hdd already more than 1.1K liao leh... Where where can find such lobang? intro leh!! :bsmilie:

my hdd system costs more than my mobo/cpu/ram combo (which is usually the most expensive in a system). this is excluding my NAS that's sitting outside the box for archival purposes...
:bigeyes::think:$$:bigeyes:

Thanks for answering my questions and yes yes... although i knew long ago not free, din know it can be this ex. It's a dream to have such a system though, puts the Mac Pro, that a relative o mine use, to shame (specs wise lar)

sounds interesting, might get one for purely scatchdisk purpose.
will keep in mind. thanks ;)

There aren't any new consumer hard disks that magically spin faster outside of the Raptor line. However the newer WDs (AAKS model) does seem to have higher average read/write rates. Samsung's F1 series is also worth a mention. If you want to speed this up, get a motherboard with the ICH9R (mid range P35 motherboards should have this) controller to do Intel's Matrix RAID. It's, IIRC, the fastest type of array around now, and offers redundancy too.

i fact i read up abit and am indeed planning to get one o the P35 range... but buying a few hdd for raid is a bit outta my budget at the moment leh.. keke
good to have the option though

sadly my budget around 1.5K± dun think can even get close to RAM disk right :bsmilie:
unless anyone got super duper lobang out there... do sound me out :lovegrin:

hey bro how u been!

yeah still NOT free lor..

i'm on canon now and if i'm unhappy with the speed and built of the 5D, my only other option if i want full frame is the 1ds3, and that's 22mp (BLOODY HUGE!). there's sRAW, which is 5mp but that's like a bit too small.. so how?????????? sianz....

what size is your raw files ah.. your 1ds3? muz be scary editing them :bsmilie:

so how ah ... hmm .. come back D3

canon ppl jump to D3 , u jump to 5D
seems like the hopping game is fun after awhile u gets bored in photography

sorry for the OT to thread starter ... think we keep our conversation to msn

hey no prob bro. can continue if u want... ;)
btw... it is fun if u got the moola to hop sides...
mebbe not as fun if u ask me :bsmilie:

Don't buy ready made PCs.
You know, Dell and .....so on...

Go to SimLim Square, find an honest PC hardware shop.
Ask them to custom assemble one based on your choices of best hardware.

Forget the freaking useless "free gifts" dangled by branded PC makers to hook buyers to purchase their off-the-shelf desktop PCs .