zcf

Apr 10, 2005
270 degree of Singapore
Just aware the raise of Taxi fare started today :sweat:

www.straitstimes.com said:
http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest+News/Singapore/STIStory_185321.html?vgnmr=1
City Area Surcharge - Up
First, to incentivise more cabbies to ply the Central Business District during peak hours, the city area surcharge, which is now $1, will be raised to $3 between 5pm and midnight from Mondays to Saturdays.
The lack of taxis in the city at the end of office hours on weekday evenings is a frequent complaint from passengers, the company noted.
For drivers who are afraid of paying Electronic Road Pricing charges to enter the city and risk not getting a passenger, ComfortDelgro says it will even pay an 'ERP rebate' to cabbies who cannot land a passenger within 15 minutes of entering an ERP zone.
Late Night Surcharge - Up
The late night surcharge between 12am and 5:59am daily will be revised back to 50 per cent of the metred fare - instead of the staggered 10 to 50 per cent surcharges now in effect.
Will this revive the old problem of 'disappearing taxis' between 11pm to midnight? The company says no, 'given that the City Area Surcharge will be in force right till midnight, giving little reason for taxi drivers in the city to 'hide'.'
Peak Period Surcharge - Up
Instead of the standard $2 peak period surcharge now in effect between 7am and 9.30am on weekdays and 5pm to 8pm from Mondays to Saturdays, passengers will have to pay an added 35 per cent of their metered fare during those hours.
A detailed breakdown of this extra 'premium fare' will be shown on each receipt 'to ensure transparency', the company says.
Flag down, distance rate, waiting time - Up
As hinted earlier, the flag down fare will be raised by 30 cents from $2.50 to $2.80 for the first kilometre.
But the distance rate and waiting time will also be adjusted to 'more accurately reflect the cost of travel', it added. So instead of upping fares by 10 cents for each set distance or waiitng time, this will soon go up by 20 cents each time.
Specifically, every 385 metres for the second to 10th kilometres, and every 330 metres above 10 kilometres.
The waiting time will also be raised from the current 10 cents for every 25 seconds to 20 cents for every 45 seconds.
Call Booking Fee - Down
Bucking the trend of the increases, call booking fees will be cut from $4 to $3.50 during prime time hours, which are 7am to 9.30am and 5pm to 11pm on weekdays.
It stays at $2.50 for all other times.
10 to 49 per cent more in overall fares
Under the new pricing structure, ComfortDelgro says, the bulk of its passengers who travel during off-peak hours will pay 10 per cent more in fares.
All other passengers will be expected to pay between 18 per cent and 49 per cent more. The biggest jump in fares will affect those who take cabs out of the city from Mondays to Thursdays, between 8pm and midnight. Instead of $7.65 currently for an average 9km trip, they'll have to fork out $11.40.

just imagine your monthly expenses on cab fares alone..
My expense won't go up a lot, as my home to office is not too far and luckily don't fall between CBD area :sweat:. The changes of $2 peak hour surcharge (reduce to minimal $1 onward now? :dunno:) to 35% don't really add much fare for short ride, but if it's long distance or with a lot of other surcharges, it's killing :eek: :hung:

Everytime i'm late for school,i've to take a 5mins taxi ride from my home to poly and it costs 6$ since there is additional charge at 8.55-9+[am]
Already the fare is a deterence so less late night.

i always take taxi but long ride. Think I got to cut down this liao.

well, i hope the people in the entertainment industry dont get hit too hard, especially those that are alittle out of reach.

No more shopping for me cos if shopping will need to take cab home wioth the load.. Hurray (More saving for me cos less shopping for the Mrs.)

I had not taken a single Taxi since the fare hikes and that had saved me about $100+ liao.:lovegrin:

they're not doing a good JOB!! getting from bad to worst.

No more shopping for me cos if shopping will need to take cab home wioth the load.. Hurray (More saving for me cos less shopping for the Mrs.)

I had not taken a single Taxi since the fare hikes and that had saved me about $100+ liao.:lovegrin:

think last i took a taxi was like last june, and before it, like last last june... dun affect me...

Yes, when I am going somewhere I know I will be having a drink.

Then when I know she is going somewhere where she may drink, I will drive :bsmilie:

If we are both going somewhere etc etc we stay there over night :cool:

Bottomline: hiking taxi fares help people save money... :bsmilie:

Yes, when I am going somewhere I know I will be having a drink.

Then when I know she is going somewhere where she may drink, I will drive :bsmilie:

If we are both going somewhere etc etc we stay there over night :cool:

Good of you if you are going somewhere to drink, you will be taking the taxi home

But remember hor.......when she is going somewhere where she may drink, you can't drink as you are driving.

And when the police catch you drink driving, you will be in jail......overnight.:bsmilie:

IMO, after a few days to a week, people will forget about this recent price hike and continue to take taxis as per what they normally do before.

Just took taxi on the first day of the upping of pricing. Think the real big difference is the 35% peak hour surcharge.

this is a real killer. It will force people to seriously reconsider taking taxi in the long term.
Guess i can expect the public transport to be more crowded as we move to 6.5m.
:what:

I drive but sometimes it's cheaper to take a taxi. Parking charges are horrendous sometimes. :bsmilie:

Thew news just now showed long Q of taxi waiting for customer. I think taxi drivers have at least 3 months tough time b4 consumer forget the fare increment. But then, after 3 months, their boss (the taxi company) will start to increase the rental. :rolleyes:

if i leave office after 8pm... i'll always take a cab home... later can claim from company :bsmilie::thumbsup:

Nowadays company very smart. they claim back from you by giving you less increment and less bonus. :lovegrin:

If you are not driving and carrying camera equipment and a tripod, the weight might be too heavy and is not practical as well so must as well take taxi, at least your arms won't feel so tired.