I bot Call of Duty 4 and vedio card cannot support!

Silence Sky

Sep 5, 2006
Now very peh chiat liao!!!:confused:

Need your kind advise...

Which one should I buy, the AGP or PCIE?
The store tells me, if I buy the AGP type now, it can't support the Core 2 if I want to upgrade next time.

My current slot is AGP. What should I do? Should I upgrade the mother board as well?

My budget is $250.

Thank you very much

if urs is AGP, i dun think u got really much graphics card choice already..
there arent much good agp graphics and at cheap price for agp liao...

why not take this chance and upgrade ur whole comp

Now very peh chiat liao!!!:confused:

Need your kind advise...

Which one should I buy, the AGP or PCIE?
The store tells me, if I buy the AGP type now, it can't support the Core 2 if I want to upgrade next time.

My current slot is AGP. What should I do? Should I upgrade the mother board as well?

My budget is $250.

Thank you very much

just upgrade. no point... althou a 7600GT can support, cost lesser than that... but might as well upgrade. probably your processor might be too slow to support.

if urs is AGP, i dun think u got really much graphics card choice already..
there arent much good agp graphics and at cheap price for agp liao...

why not take this chance and upgrade ur whole comp

Sign!!! There goes my blood money again.

I bought the game to stay home and save money.
But it looks like it going the other way...:(

Can never catch up with the latest technolgy..

just upgrade. no point... althou a 7600GT can support, cost lesser than that... but might as well upgrade. probably your processor might be too slow to support.

Thanks Del, any idea what else need to be changed and what is total cost?:embrass:

super no point liao...

CPU not fast enuff... besides that, your ram need at least 2gb to run smoothly... the game is huge...

:hung: There goes my bonus.....

Thanks for your response.

If u want to change ur whole system, quite siong. You have to spend at least $800-$900 to get a new rig. Anyway alternative is u get a X1950pro 1st to tahan. Then upgrade ur entire com next yr when ur budget is more free. The X1950pro is the fastest AGP card nw, cost $200+. I m sure it plus your P4 can let u at least play COD4 on medium settings coz this game is quite well-optimised. Dun spend too much since ur reason for buying the game is to stay at home n save $$. No point becoz of playing it, u have to spend close to 1K.

depends very much on how big ur screen is... if yours is 17-19" (144x900) or similar, a x800 GTO (using them, and cost just $150 1 year back, nvdia equiv would be 6600GT) or so can already support it at medium-high settings. but if you are running a 20" or bigger (1680x1050 or larger) screen, you probably gonna look at the newer HD2xxx/3xxx by ATI and 8xxx series by nvdia

anyway, since you gonna spend so much on a GFX card, might as well do a overhaul... even the low end c2d or athlon beat the hell out of a p4. + 2gb of ddr2 ram is barely $70 right now. if you are re-using your current hdd, you probably can get a pretty decent low end system at about $500+ ($150 for a motherboard, $70 for 2GB ram, $150 for a CPU, $100 for a Case and $200+ for a GFX)

I suggest an overhaul... Athlon64 X2 prices are suuuuuuuper cheap. The new Radeon 3850 and 3870 graphics cards are very nice and cheap too.

Personally, I'm going to wait for december/jan then build an AMD "Spider" rig.

:hung: There goes my bonus.....

Thanks for your response.

Build a more powerful rigs to support ur future needs la. Monitor, keyboard, mouse etc... can be use back, not that siong. Casing wise, not sure abt urs but mine, even next upgrade also can. But USB port might not able to support, quite troublesome. Get 2 Graphic card if possible lor, for up coming games. Don't forget, sound card play a part too. ;)

Go for E2160,P31-DS3L Gigabyte,2GB Ram DDR 2 667,Nvidia 8800GT 256MB or Geforce 7900GS if budget is that tight.

Build a more powerful rigs to support ur future needs la. Monitor, keyboard, mouse etc... can be use back, not that siong. Casing wise, not sure abt urs but mine, even next upgrade also can. But USB port might not able to support, quite troublesome. Get 2 Graphic card if possible lor, for up coming games. Don't forget, sound card play a part too. ;)

gees,,, now sound card comes into play..

My budget ver very the tight.

Maybe it is cheaper to buy a X-box.

If u want to change ur whole system, quite siong. You have to spend at least $800-$900 to get a new rig. Anyway alternative is u get a X1950pro 1st to tahan. Then upgrade ur entire com next yr when ur budget is more free. The X1950pro is the fastest AGP card nw, cost $200+. I m sure it plus your P4 can let u at least play COD4 on medium settings coz this game is quite well-optimised. Dun spend too much since ur reason for buying the game is to stay at home n save $$. No point becoz of playing it, u have to spend close to 1K.

Thanks Aaron, only post suggest I save now and upgrade later. It is very comforting, becasue my budget is really tight.

First of all, you should always download the trial and try to install to see if your PC can support it. I was trying to install the trial version Medal of Honor: Airbourne also but found that my PC cannot support it. So no point buying. :(

May get XBox to play this series. Cheaper and can play so many other games!! :bsmilie:

First of all, you should always download the trial and try to install to see if your PC can support it. I was trying to install the trial version Medal of Honor: Airbourne also but found that my PC cannot support it. So no point buying. :(

May get XBox to play this series. Cheaper and can play so many other games!! :bsmilie:

Aiya, sound advise always comes late.

If anyone wants to play COD 4, I can always lend the disc to you.