Printing Sizes

TME

Jan 19, 2002
Clementi
Just want to ask the KM/SONY bros here, if I want to print a 10"x15" or 8"x12" how do I go about it? I have only A4, A3 & A3+ paper? Don't want to experiment and waste the paper and ink, anyone can help?

Reason is I want to print and frame but commercial frames come only in 8"x12" or 10"x15"... a bit difficult to find A3 frames or even A4 frames... if anyone got lobang for A3 frames, let me know!

Thanks!

Hi TME,

Visit Ikea stores and look for their wide range of frames. They have the horrible policy of making the frames slightly larger than the standard paper size, forcing you to pay a premium for their printed posters. However, since you have A3+ paper, you can look at the paper size indicated on the box, and go to Ikea to look for a frame that is slightly smaller than the A3+ size. There are usually two sizes indicated on the photo frame... the total size of the frame and the size of the window where the photo shows through. Look at the second size...

As Neo have mentioned, go to IKEA, they have picture frame for A4 and A3 prints. I think the cost are $16 for A4 and $19 for A3.

Whoa!!! Cool... but are their frames nice? I buy some cheap A4 frames and 8x12 or 10x15 frames which are very nice (simple elegant and made of wood and not plastic).

Anyway, still haven't my question answered. How do I print 10"x15" photos? Just print on A3 paper and cut? Or print 2 on A3+ paper and cut? Any ideas? Cos I was thinking A3 picture a bit too big to give away... printing a dozen photos like that also quite expensive to give away lar... :)

Thanks!

BTW, tim you have PM!

Another question:

How do u do multiple prints on an A4 or A3 or A3+ sheets of paper using Photoshop? What I usually do is open a new file that is large enough and copy and paste all the images on the new file... sounds a little dumb... any other more "pro" methods??? :)

Thanks!

IKEA picture frame are quite decent, they have black, white, light brown and dark brown wooden frame. Some photographers have had previous exhibition using them.

Just print the 10" X 15" image centred on a A3 paper, don't cut away the paper border, it's useful when you matted on the frame and also easy to hold the print during handling. This apply to 12R image on a A3+ paper too.

As for your second question, I don't understand what you means; photo collages on A3? Maybe other CSers who are more knowledgeable can help to question. I mean answer :)

Another question:

How do u do multiple prints on an A4 or A3 or A3+ sheets of paper using Photoshop? What I usually do is open a new file that is large enough and copy and paste all the images on the new file... sounds a little dumb... any other more "pro" methods??? :)

Thanks!

Hi TME,

The Adobe Lightroom has the feature to print collage. It has a few templates.

Hi TME,

The Adobe Lightroom has the feature to print collage. It has a few templates.

Thanks! I don't mean collage but if u are printing a few small prints, it's cheaper and faster and more efficient to print them all on a larger pice of paper and then trim to size... allows for all kinds of odd sizes also - lots of flexibility though...

IKEA picture frame are quite decent, they have black, white, light brown and dark brown wooden frame. Some photographers have had previous exhibition using them.

Just print the 10" X 15" image centred on a A3 paper, don't cut away the paper border, it's useful when you matted on the frame and also easy to hold the print during handling. This apply to 12R image on a A3+ paper too.

As for your second question, I don't understand what you means; photo collages on A3? Maybe other CSers who are more knowledgeable can help to question. I mean answer :)

Sorry ar... matte means what? I usually just put the print into the frame... no borders leh... yeah sound so noob...:embrass:

hey guys, would like to ask, u mean Ikea made their frames larger than usual? hmm, how does A3 measure?

Ikea does have a large selection of frames but they are for mainly standard sizes... A3 is same size as A4 x 2.

aiyah mr teo, exam oso can pop in to read abit mah... 24hrs mugging will die leh :angel:

A bit ok lar... otherwise next year results come out then you really die!:faint:

WALAU CHOY CHOY CURSE ME NOT!!! :nono: =P

Not cursing you... no need to choy one... your results are of your own making... anyway, all the best for the remaining papers.... JIA YOU!!!:thumbsup: