Recommend what PC to buy and from which shop

pixie_genie

Mar 17, 2006
Western Singapore
Hi guys

am thinking of investing in a 2nd PC for home use - mainly for picture editing (in Adobe PhotoShop) and the occasional video slideshows to document family trips (using ULead Video Pro). Not to forget MS Office.

1) What specs would you recommend? Ram/HardDisk space etc and any good shop in Funan to recommend?
2) Should I buy a reputable brand (e.g. HP) or get the shop to assemble a unit for me?
3) Also, anyone know where to get the cheapest deal for Adobe CS3?

Thanks. :thumbsup:

Hi guys

am thinking of investing in a 2nd PC for home use - mainly for picture editing (in Adobe PhotoShop) and the occasional video slideshows to document family trips (using ULead Video Pro). Not to forget MS Office.

1) What specs would you recommend? Ram/HardDisk space etc and any good shop in Funan to recommend?
2) Should I buy a reputable brand (e.g. HP) or get the shop to assemble a unit for me?

No cheapest for CS3 deal lar. This is quite a fixed price since it's licience software. You can get better deal from Ebay or Yahoo auction.

You can get DELL which is a good brand with Door to Door service (if you take up their 5 year service contract). On top of that, they deliver to your doorstep.

If you are using CS3, a good decent RAM usage would be 2GB. A 500GB to 750GB HDD with a Intel Core 2 Duo would help a lot.

I got my laptop from this shop MC.2 in Suntec City. I think they have a branch at Funan too. Service is pretty good.

I can recommend which shop NOT to buy from. Got my diy pc from Fuwell (Funan) a month ago. Couldn't boot up when I brought it back, opened up and found the video card halfway out of its slot, rear ports not aligned with casing, a screw was rolling around within the casing and the external wifi antenna missing. Had to lug it back to the shop at my own expense to get it reassembled.

Aiyoh bro, dun go Funan Fuwell to assemble your PC dah... The Fuwell technicians @ SLS are much better and the service @ Fuwell SLS has always been impeccable leh... Many ppl swear by fuwell! To TS: u might wanna consider going to the following shops in SLS: Fuwell (4th Floor), Bell Systems (5th Floor). Dun anyhow go to other shops otherwise might end up tio chop!

you better get some good computer knowledge before you get the DIY pc. you will end up with a lot of headaches and problems. to and fro from SLS is no joke.

get from dell. have warranty too.

Aiyoh bro, dun go Funan Fuwell to assemble your PC dah... The Fuwell technicians @ SLS are much better and the service @ Fuwell SLS has always been impeccable leh... Many ppl swear by fuwell! To TS: u might wanna consider going to the following shops in SLS: Fuwell (4th Floor), Bell Systems (5th Floor). Dun anyhow go to other shops otherwise might end up tio chop!

important thing is do homework... like check the prices in HWZ then check the parts you are buying. Dun let them tell u this card better (more ex), or this card more economical (old stock)...

and check market price to see if there is any overcharging.

get DELL. :thumbsup:

i like their "complete cover warranty" ! no question asked, send in and repair is free.

Hi guys

U ask this kinda questions, mean u newbie...

1) Get what your budget can afford. More ram is better than more HDD space. More core is better than faster core (ok, i'm biased towards quad core)
2) For you, get a whole set from DELL, HP, Apple or whichever brand you like, since you are not really into such stuff, u won't even notice the diff if the shop replace some parts for you.
3) Sometimes price at Challenger (member) is not bad, esp with student price.

how you find the following specs?

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
MB: ASUS P5B-Plus Vista
RAM: Kingston PC5300 667MHz (1GB) X 2
GC: ASUS EN8800GTS/320M
HD: Seagate 7200.9 160GB SATA
ODD: ASUS DRW1814BLT
Case:ASUS Vento 3600
PSU: CoolerMaster iGreen Power (500W)
Cooler:ASUS V60
Monitor:ASUS MB19TU

1.8k. not inclusive of OS though.

how you find the following specs?

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
MB: ASUS P5B-Plus Vista
RAM: Kingston PC5300 667MHz (1GB) X 2
GC: ASUS EN8800GTS/320M
HD: Seagate 7200.9 160GB SATA
ODD: ASUS DRW1814BLT
Case:ASUS Vento 3600
PSU: CoolerMaster iGreen Power (500W)
Cooler:ASUS V60
Monitor:ASUS MB19TU

1.8k. not inclusive of OS though.

y all asus? ban leong or big3 warranty?

Go for DIY bah.. time and again u may wish to upgrade ur system like adding HDD or RAM

If you go for those package deal... hmm.. well its up to individual.

If DIY, I would recommend Bizgram... :)

I always buy my stuff there. Raj is quite knowledge and more willing to give discount.

They quite flexible ones, I exchanged my nvida card for a GEforce even though its after 7

days. :cool:

Better to go HWZ ask abt IT stuff. :)

IMO, if you are not good at computer hardware, I'd suggest get it from DELL. Other than providing good services, should you encounter any problem usually you can google it since the system configuration are quite standard. But then if it is within warranty, DELL support should be able to help you.

For DIY, unless you have interest in computer hardware, you might spend a lot of time (or money) traveling between your home and the shop if you encounter any problem. Furthermore I don't think they can provide a better phone support than DELL.

From my experience, some DIY shop will ask you to call back on another day as their engineers are all busy or they will let you wait on the phone.

I'm not promoting for DELL, you might also want to check out other brand like HP, ACER, etc.

Cheers.

Best of both worlds is to get a Dell and upgrade the RAM and add a second hard disk yourself. Dell's memory and hard disk upgrades to their preconfigured systems are quite expensive.

I've had 5-6 Dell PC's and so far they've all been good, except the last one, which had a motherboard problem. Technician came to try fixing, cannot. In the end they just replaced the whole system for me, and threw in a 2GB thumb drive to compensate for the delay.

My old Dell Pentium 500 is still chugging along.

You mean you guys trust the half-past-six technicians to assemble your PCs? There was this once, I bought my parts from Fuwell. I went to the technician and asked him to test that the CPU, RAM and Mobo can power up. He said wait a while... so I went to walk around. When I came back, he assembled the whole thing for me. Then I told him I did not ask him to... but he said it's free of charge, so what's the big deal.

The big deal is:
1. He only screwed in the drives on the side that's visible to everyone.
2. He did not use the mobo insulation discs at the screws.
3. He lost the HDD warranty cards.

I had to undo all his shoddy work to reinstall everything. Also, I had to get my warranty cards replaced.

Fuwell is a respectable shop. Their parts are ok... but if you want things done right, you've got to do them yourself. There are so many things that can be done wrong... whcih will lead to future problems. I assemble my PCs with lots of care, and they almost always last me a very long time. My current PC has served me 6 years, and still going strong. :)

If I have lots of money, I'd buy a Mac. :sweatsm:

Here is 2 configure that is more than good enough for your purpose(No LCD and peripheral,just CPU).Unless you love to build yourself or else go with branded computer:
Dell™ Inspiron™ 530,should be more then good enough unless you want to do some hardcore gaminghttp://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/features.aspx/desktops_better?c=sg&cs=sgdhs1&l=en&s=dhs