To Kill a "Singing" Koel

vegancatsg

Nov 7, 2005
East, Singapore
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asian_Koel

240px-Eudynamys_scolopacea_f.jpg

The Asian Koel (Eudynamys scolopacea), formerly also Common Koel, is a member of the cuckoo order of birds, the Cuculiformes, which also includes such birds as the roadrunners, the anis, and couas. It is found from southern Asia, China, and into Australia. Like many cuckoos, it lays its eggs in other birds' nests.

The word koel also means "nightingale" in India because of the Indian Koel's melodious call. It is also colloquially known as the Rainbird or Stormbird in eastern Australia, as its call is supposed to foreshadow rain.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Loud birdsong is disturbing my sleep
October 02, 2007

http://tnp.sg/speakup/story/0,4136,143591,00.html

I AM a resident of Pasir Ris.

Since early August, there has been a bird singing loudly in a tree near my flat on Street 52 between 5.45am to 6.30am every day.

I called Pasir Ris Town council in mid-August explaining that the bird is disturbing my sleep.

hey promised to investigate.

For the next six weeks, I made about five calls to the town council, including asking to talk to the general manager.

But all I got was the response that they would investigate and someone would call me back.

For that six weeks, I was forced to wake up at 6am - even on Saturdays and Sundays, days that I do not work.

Six weeks later, the town council came back to me with this: that the bird making the sound is a bird called 'koel'.

It also said that the bird is on the tree which happens to fall into the jurisdiction of either the Public Utilities Board or the National Environment Agency.

So it will get the relevant agency to give me a call.

What I don't understand is why it took six weeks to come back to me on something that can be accomplished in two hours.

What is the use of telling me the type of bird?

Does the problem go away for me if the tree falls under the PUB or NEA jurisdiction?

I woke up at 6am over the weekend on Saturday and wrote this letter.

Each month, I receive a conservation fee statement from my town council for monthly payments, and I have been paying it every month.

Each year, I fill my tax forms, and understand that some of the tax money I pay is channelled towards the public service including the town councils.

I was told that if I do not fulfil such payments, I will be jailed or fined heavily.

But if I do pay, it seems there is no guarantee that the payment will be used to hire public servants who can solve problems or at least empathise with me.

Leong Hock Mun

To Save the Birds in the Vicinity of this Pasir Ris resident,

Please write to the Pasir Ris Town Council at pasirris@prpg-tc.org.sg

Subject: Loud birdsong is disturbing my sleep in New Paper 02-10-2007 by Leong Hock Mun

I object to the shooting of birds in response to this complaint by Mr Leong Hock Mun as it is unreasonable.

He should be counselled to be more accomodating to the diminishing nature we have in our little concrete island.

Name:

Contact number:

the guy who made the complain is an idiot.

how come nowadays got so many of them making silly requests, and these are actually made public in papers and elsewhere.

come on lah, show a bit tolerance. It's only a bird. What if your neighbours think your kid is damn noisy, disturb his afternoon sleep, and he recommends ur kid to be neutered? Sheez... :nono:

how come nowadays got so many of them making silly requests, and these are actually made public in papers and elsewhere.

come on lah, show a bit tolerance. It's only a bird. What if your neighbours think your kid is damn noisy, disturb his afternoon sleep, and he recommends ur kid to be neutered? Sheez... :nono:

The complaint is not silly, birds singing are damn irritating especially when doing it at the wrong time.

i think those timings are usually the time when birds wake. I think the guy never kena those big trees with a lot a lot of mynahs, same time in the morning...all kwaking, and in the eveing around 6 plus 7, same. I don't see those neighbours screaming to have the tree cut down, or calling the people in to shoot the birds.

Still i think the guy should tolerate nature. Or get some earmuffs, or close his window, and with curtains too. :bsmilie:

While the writer and who ever's affected have my sympathy, this is exactly the kind of attitude and thinking that will eventually kill ourselves or the planet itself.

We have been so used to being dominant species on the planet that we forget that we are really just sharing and co-habiting the planet when we just conveniently remove or force changes to what we don't like to suit ourselves.

...sigh... reminds me of the song... when will they ever learn.

Crossing boundaries will always end up in conflicts and violence

And they are still trying to kill the crows in my neighbourhood to little success... they still craw in the night and in the early mornings.... Only for a day or two after each shooting, would we get some peace...

They are still there... Humans are the ones who helped them spread in the first place.

i dun think the complaint is silly as i'm a victim of crows 'singing' every morning at around 730am onwards. u know u dun get a good rest, a good sleep, esp. on the wkends when u wake up all angry and frustrated. it sort of sets the mood and pace of the day, horrid!

a complaint was filed to the Hougang Town ppl and soon, the trees that the crows nest on, were stripped bare. the problem was solved. yes! i belong to the hammer boys area!

very prompt actions in a matter of days.

i felt sorry for Mr.Leong as i can see that not only is he enjoying free KTV, he gets to watch taiji being practised in front of him.

talk abt visual and audio enjoyment! ha!

Birds calls are not as bad as ringing bells that my neighbours rings for about an hour twice a day. Think it some kind of Toaist pratice. Very irritating that I will curse and swear everytime they do this. After 2 years... I kind of get used to it.. like naturally can filter it out..

How I wish I could wake up to natural bird calls instead of the loud sound of the rubbish compactors every morning without fail. That is really paying conservancy charges to get the noise. Wonder if I dont pay, den Town cuncil wont come to collect rubbish den will be quiet or not.. haha.

i dun think the complaint is silly as i'm a victim of crows 'singing' every morning at around 730am onwards. u know u dun get a good rest, a good sleep, esp. on the wkends when u wake up all angry and frustrated. it sort of sets the mood and pace of the day, horrid!

a complaint was filed to the Hougang Town ppl and soon, the trees that the crows nest on, were stripped bare. the problem was solved. yes! i belong to the hammer boys area!

very prompt actions in a matter of days.

i felt sorry for Mr.Leong as i can see that not only is he enjoying free KTV, he gets to watch taiji being practised in front of him.

talk abt visual and audio enjoyment! ha!

what if a co.ck wake u up in the morning? :bsmilie:

cockadoo..

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To Save the Birds in the Vicinity of this Pasir Ris resident,

Please write to the Pasir Ris Town Council at pasirris@prpg-tc.org.sg

Subject: Loud birdsong is disturbing my sleep in New Paper 02-10-2007 by Leong Hock Mun

I object to the shooting of birds in response to this complaint by Mr Leong Hock Mun as it is unreasonable.

He should be counselled to be more accomodating to the diminishing nature we have in our little concrete island.

Name:

Contact number:

Done that, thanks for the posting.

We will be doomed, the day when there are no more birds in this world.

He didn't really ask the town council to shoot the bird.
Are there any other alternatives like relocation etc?

The Koel is a quite a rare bird in SG, very elusive most of the time you only hear its call. Every morning when I hear it's call, I would try to spot it but always no avail. This guy should move if he doesn't want to be anywhere near nature.

Done that, thanks for the posting.

We will be doomed, the day when there are no more birds in this world.

Yeah.. your long lenses will start crying... ;p

i think those timings are usually the time when birds wake. I think the guy never kena those big trees with a lot a lot of mynahs, same time in the morning...all kwaking, and in the eveing around 6 plus 7, same. I don't see those neighbours screaming to have the tree cut down, or calling the people in to shoot the birds.

Still i think the guy should tolerate nature. Or get some earmuffs, or close his window, and with curtains too. :bsmilie:

Yeah.. that would be worse than a koel's call. ;p

My dad used to complain about the koel calling near his window every morning..
But after a few while, we have gotten used to it..
Kinda wake up expecting the calls; sometimes, I dare say, even missing it.. :sweatsm:

In fact, now we try to play spot-the-birdy with my 2+yr-old nephew..
He likes the birdsong.. Be it koel, kingfisher, parrots etc.. ;)

And we live under the flight path of aircraft landing at PLAB..
You get used to the sound after a while, the roar gets naturally filtered out..

To the guy who complained: Enjoy the bird song! It's NATURAL and it's FREE!!

When life throws you lemons, go make lemonade..

And we live under the flight path of aircraft landing at PLAB..
You get used to the sound after a while, the roar gets naturally filtered out..

will some irrate dweller complain to get SAF or CIA to divert the plane's flight path coz it's disturbing his sleep and the noise disrupts his mood everyday? :bsmilie:

He didn't really ask the town council to shoot the bird.
Are there any other alternatives like relocation etc?

how you tell the bird? relocate to which part of this urban jungle without affecting another resident?