The Moon

Killer_Jay

Jul 5, 2006
Pasir Ris
Hello,

I am very new so C & C are very much welcome. Is it overexposed?

Jay the Killer

img1020acopyng6.jpg

Shot with Canon PowerShot S3 IS at 2007-09-03

Here is the EXIF information
Camera: Canon S3 IS
Shutter: 1/50 sec
Aperature: f/8.0
ISO: 100
Focal Length: 18 times optica zoom
Crop to size
with tripod

sorry just curious....i thought the S3IS max zoom is only 12x how u get to 18x zoom? Did u use any converters?

doesnt look sharp to me. try f3.5 the sharpest point for the s3is

The larger f numbers will be sharper, f3.5 is not the sharpest for the s3, try f5.6 & higher
It is over exposed, try underexposing a bit & then post process to bring out the details
Lower iso's are better best at iso 100

The larger f numbers will be sharper, f3.5 is not the sharpest for the s3, try f5.6 & higher
It is over exposed, try underexposing a bit & then post process to bring out the details

agree with drama, you shld have prob used the smallest aperture (ie largest f/ number) and the slowest ISO speed. this would have eliminated some of the graininess in the pic, and made it sharper overall. after all, you did mount it on a tripod, so the longer exposure wouldnt do much.
however, i do disagree as i think the exposure is nice :p

agree with drama, you shld have prob used the smallest aperture (ie largest f/ number) and the slowest ISO speed. this would have eliminated some of the graininess in the pic, and made it sharper overall. after all, you did mount it on a tripod, so the longer exposure wouldnt do much.
however, i do disagree as i think the exposure is nice :p

Hi drama & 2.8photography,

Thank you so much for your comment. Really appreciate it. But hor, I dun really understand leh.

My aperture already set to f8.0 liao leh. My ISO is 100 leh. it still not that sharp leh..... Is it the shutter speed too fast? Or is it that I did not forcus properly?

Looking forward to learning more from both of you.

Thank you in advance.

Jay the Killer

1. with a lower f-stop number, you will be able to take in more light, thus, you can reduce your ISO from 100 to 80 to have slightly less grain.
2. it is not necessary to use F8 when taking the moonshot, you will not see a difference with f3.5 (from a s3is atleast)

1. with a lower f-stop number, you will be able to take in more light, thus, you can reduce your ISO from 100 to 80 to have slightly less grain.
2. it is not necessary to use F8 when taking the moonshot, you will not see a difference with f3.5 (from a s3is atleast)

bro snks86,

ok. point noted. will try again the next clear sky. may not try full moon this time.

thank you very much for ur sharing.

jay the beginner

Hello,

I am very new so C & C are very much welcome. Is it overexposed?

It is not overexposed. As far as C&C goes, how is your picture of the moon different from thousands of other pictures of the moon in books, almanacs, magazines, stock photo collections, etc? If there is no difference or individual touch, what kind of C&C are you looking for?

hi littlewolf,

when i ask for C&Cm basically it mean is there something that i have done wrong? how can i improve on it? a few bros had mentioned that its a bit grainy and i will take note of that in future.

btw, are u saying that my moon photo is the same as "thousands of other pictures of the moon in books, almanacs, magazines, stock photo collections, etc"?

wow, thats a very big compliment, thank you so much. :bsmilie:

it is just like a 1st time car owner ask "is there any comments in tyres made from Yokohama, Bridgestone, Kumho, Toyo, etc?" then someone say "are u gonna gonna drive like F1 drivers? if not, wat kind of comments u want?"

anyway, thank you for taking ur time to look at my post and effort to type. :)

jay the killer

hi littlewolf,

when i ask for C&Cm basically it mean is there something that i have done wrong? how can i improve on it? a few bros had mentioned that its a bit grainy and i will take note of that in future.

I see. I tend to look at the critique corner not so much from a technical, but an aesthetic point of view.

If people look at old paintings, there may be a few who are interested in the type of pigments and binders used, the brushes, and other aspects of the technique. Most of the people though will look at the image as a whole and how it mentally engages them.

btw, are u saying that my moon photo is the same as "thousands of other pictures of the moon in books, almanacs, magazines, stock photo collections, etc"?

wow, thats a very big compliment, thank you so much. :bsmilie:

You're welcome :). What I mean is that the moon pretty much looks the same to everyone anywhere from earth, so if the technique part is right, everyone will get the same picture. Now take some famous picture, e.g. Adam's "Moonrise over Hernandez" (see e.g. here: http://www.artphotogallery.org/artphotogallery/photographers/ansel_adams_02.html). This also shows the moon, but in a context that is quite unique. It is the composition, not the moon itself, that engages the viewer and makes this photo successful.

it is just like a 1st time car owner ask "is there any comments in tyres made from Yokohama, Bridgestone, Kumho, Toyo, etc?" then someone say "are u gonna gonna drive like F1 drivers? if not, wat kind of comments u want?"

Sorry if I came across as demeaning. It boils down to whether your goal is to make the most detailed, accurate documentary photo of the moon (tough job, pretty hard to beat NASA!), or is it to create a picture that beyond technical excellence carries emotions/a message/etc. With all the advertising about the latest technology gizmos in our equipment, I fear that sometimes the content of the pictures we take falls a bit short.

bro,

really appreciate ur times. hornestly, i really have no intention of outshine any moon phographers out there.

just that i am really very new to photography so i start off with something simple.

i find that shooting the moon is the simplest in term of technically wise. just need a tele lense and voula. no need to look for colour matching, no need to look for composition (for close up), no need to look for angle, no need to look out for distraction, etc.

so after i get the technical aspect of shooting the moon corectly, then i will move on to maybe a fruit stall (multiple colours), so on and so for.

thank you once again.

jay the killer

Hi guys, my 2cents since this is a subject i like too. Actually TS is new to photography as he says and taking pics of the moon are quite challenging (exposure wise, technique, cam settings etc). So he has tried to take pics of this subject and seeks c&c on his technique and how he can better...nothin wrong with that in my opinion.

To TS - nice work esp with a P&S cam! wow...i struggled to reach where you have reached even with a D80 and a 200mm lens! (still trying to take good ones of the moon and better myself!)

little wolf - for arguments sake then every pic would look the same aint it may it be moon, sunsets, people portraits etc etc once you shoot using the same technique. So then whey are so many people posting portrait shots of nice looking models in c&c? after all anyone can shoot them and they would look the same (at least close ups of face etc). I hear your pov though but c&c is not all about the artistic elements, some of us seek comments from our more experienced senior cs mates here on our techniques too. After all i can only progress to the next level of being artistic once i get my basic technique right!?! :)

cheers.

To TS:
Using f/8 on a PnS will put you on the edge of diffraction limits, that's why PnS doesn't allow you to shoot at aprtures smaller than f/8. Something around f/4 or f/5.6 would give the best sharpness for PnS.

little wolf - for arguments sake then every pic would look the same aint it may it be moon, sunsets, people portraits etc etc once you shoot using the same technique. So then whey are so many people posting portrait shots of nice looking models in c&c?

Good point... actually, unless something special makes them stand out, I am a bit tired of more of the same pictures of sunsets, the merlion, the railway bridge at Sunset Way (Clementi), silky water and rocks in Punggol, models ...

though but c&c is not all about the artistic elements, some of us seek comments from our more experienced senior cs mates here on our techniques too.

Personally, I'd expect to find technique discussions in "General, Reviews, Tech Talk". I'm not claiming my views have any more authority than others, just want to share them. It is good to have a plurality of different opinions/views.

Hi guys, my 2cents since this is a subject i like too. Actually TS is new to photography as he says and taking pics of the moon are quite challenging (exposure wise, technique, cam settings etc). So he has tried to take pics of this subject and seeks c&c on his technique and how he can better...nothin wrong with that in my opinion.

To TS - nice work esp with a P&S cam! wow...i struggled to reach where you have reached even with a D80 and a 200mm lens! (still trying to take good ones of the moon and better myself!)

little wolf - for arguments sake then every pic would look the same aint it may it be moon, sunsets, people portraits etc etc once you shoot using the same technique. So then whey are so many people posting portrait shots of nice looking models in c&c? after all anyone can shoot them and they would look the same (at least close ups of face etc). I hear your pov though but c&c is not all about the artistic elements, some of us seek comments from our more experienced senior cs mates here on our techniques too. After all i can only progress to the next level of being artistic once i get my basic technique right!?! :)

cheers.

bro daydreamz,

thank you very much for the compliment.

YES!!! that is exactly wat i am seeking as a newbie (i believe tat applies to alots of newbies). IMHO, artistic aspect is really very subjective but the basic technical foundation of a photo must be there....

thank you once again for saying out wats in my mind.

jay the unable to express

To TS:
Using f/8 on a PnS will put you on the edge of diffraction limits, that's why PnS doesn't allow you to shoot at aprtures smaller than f/8. Something around f/4 or f/5.6 would give the best sharpness for PnS.

bro isisaxon,

thank you very much for ur time and sharing of experience.

point noted. will try to improve with the next shoot.

jay the killer