Investing with CPF money?

oswin

Sep 4, 2006
Anyone currently investing in Funds/Unit Trust with CPF?

I am thinking of investing but don't know where to start :embrass:

Any websites with good information to share?

I think lots of people do so.
I am investing in funds & shares.
If you want to get into funds, its more simple to get a good financial planner that can access & analyse lots of funds to let you choose based on the risk you want to take

how much are u sinking in? basically if u doing your homework, u need to know the current stock mkt situation and what direction it is heading. it will help u to decide wad kinda funds u shld go into. u shld also know whether u are adventurous or risk averse because some funds are more risky than others.

i split mine into a few funds and it was during the time before the stk mkt had the bull run. so now my investment made quite a healthy return. n i did it before i bought my flat so i got spare funds not tied down by the flat in case i have some urgent use for it.

Anyone knows how to invest in the ST Index directly?

Units trusts and funds, you can try www.sgfunds.com for an online discussion forum.

Simple way is to do it via the insurance linked funds, like AIA.

Dumped in quite a bit of my CPF inside there, so far, so good.... ;)

hi, we maybe reaching the end of the bull cycle, prices in financial markets are now on high side, not a good time to load into unit trust.

i suggest u take up fixed deposit for a year first.

When the games in Beijing 2008 is about to start, u can start looking for value investing becos markets will pull back

Simple way is to do it via the insurance linked funds, like AIA.

Dumped in quite a bit of my CPF inside there, so far, so good.... ;)

i dun find it worth investing a fund that has an insurance component combined with it. The fees deducted is not justified.

instead separate them.. buy a 100% investment unit trust and a life policy separately, in this way when u want to take profits, u will not need to lose the protection.

i dun find it worth investing a fund that has an insurance component combined with it. The fees deducted is not justified.

instead separate them.. buy a 100% investment unit trust and a life policy separately, in this way when u want to take profits, u will not need to lose the protection.

I agree, separate insurance and investments. The charges by insurance companies will errode your earnings by quite a bit.

Spend a bit of time researching and doing your own investments, its not that difficult, especially for unit trusts.

Agree with you on this. ST had a quite an interesting articles on investment policies few years back.

All my friends in the financial sector are quite against it too. :nono:

Insurance is for pure protection, u can get better returns by investing wisely.

Wow, forgot to check for one day and so many replies! :D

Thanks for all the info guys.

I found this website with some articles on how to start investing too: http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/school/school.svdo

I know some institution has investment plans for Unit Trusts too, like AIA. What is the difference between buying my own online (i.e. from fundsupermart) and buying from institutions like AIA?

Any advantages/disadvantages?

i just dump it to my FA to do it. every fwe months see report, got growth ok liao.. :bsmilie:

Wow, forgot to check for one day and so many replies! :D

Thanks for all the info guys.

I found this website with some articles on how to start investing too: http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/school/school.svdo

I know some institution has investment plans for Unit Trusts too, like AIA. What is the difference between buying my own online (i.e. from fundsupermart) and buying from institutions like AIA?

Any advantages/disadvantages?

Juz like wat yanyewkay has mentioned, FA take care of ur investment portfolio instead of u doin the monitoring/paperwork all the time, sending u the statement every mth. To investment in fundsupermart, it's better tat you have some knowledge in investment, the time to monitor ur funds and current market. Independent Financial Adviser(IFA) tends to provide more choices of funds as they representing more companies instead of just one.

mark

Some FA will tell you that they relieve your workload by tracking the prices of funds, which I personally think is not required.

For unit trust, don't fall into the idea of buying low and selling high within a short term (i.e. time the market).

One common guideline is to stay invested for long time. The work is actually done before you get the fund, that is, to research about it. After buying, there's not really a practical need to keep tracking the prices day by day.

Thanks for all the advise! :)

Just get a good FA.

And of cos, unless u juz wanna make a quick buck and u're confident about it, dun time the market!!!
I'd lost like $200 (a partly sum compared to big players) by playing that time market game. Now putting the amount aside and letting it recover first before I put it in again.

if you want to invest in several unit trust using cpf then shld pass to FA cos they got special platform..
can save transaction cost from bank.. :)

if buy using cash then no issue, can buy frm fundsupermart, dollardex or phillips.

some of the local brokage houses, help investor to buy st index futures..

Just get a good FA.

And of cos, unless u juz wanna make a quick buck and u're confident about it, dun time the market!!!
I'd lost like $200 (a partly sum compared to big players) by playing that time market game. Now putting the amount aside and letting it recover first before I put it in again.
i wished i lost $200... :sweat: i'll be damnedest happy