Tiger Air: Darwin to Singapore?

hmm.. i'm taking that soon but i've tried thailand to spore and back. No problems with flight management but dont expect pretty airstewardess, great food and seats. I suggest you eat a full meal before you board and seats, be KIASU. CHEONG.

These days, you don't expect pretty airstewardess, great food and seats with SIA either. ;)

Tried Tiger Air, Singapore/Phuket.
Not very reliable, as they changed our flight timings few days before departure after we had every thing else arranged.
Suspected that they couldnt get our flight "full" enough to make money hence bumped us to the another flight to make a "fuller load".

& I read that an Australian family got bumped off at the airport, Tiger crew asked one of the family members who was on wheel chair "to demonstrate being able to walk independently".

Thanks, everyone :)

Just selected flight from Darwin to Sg, coz the usual airlines is charging so much this trip. Will post if I do get off the ground :bsmilie: Personally, I am not looking for pretty air stewardess nor great food. After all, only 4 hrs and half hours flight. Just pray they don't stood me up....then I have to stay over in Darwin liao :sweat:

I just landed from this flight around 6 hrs back. Other than the unearthly time of take off at 310 AM, I had no problems with this flight. Didn't even care to look at the stewardesses. All I wanted to do was sleep. Luckily I found an empty 3 seater (there were only a few empty ones in the flight) and stretched myself for the next 4 hrs after takeoff.

Excess baggage rates are pretty high, so if you think you'll carry more than 15kgs, I suggest you pay a bit more and buy an additional allowance of 5/10/15 kgs. Looks like Tiger Airways makes a lot of money on excess baggage, so they are quite strict about enforcing the rule of 15kgs for check-in baggage.

So what's there to do in Darwin?

Not sure if you were asking me.
I dunno what's there to do in Darwin. I only used it as transit en route from Alice Springs.
Was talking to a fellow traveller and he said he had been to two national parks - Kakadu and another one which i can't quite recollect.
From Darwin, you can go westwards and explore the Kimberley region. That's for another trip.

now is almost close to the low season for travelling to darwin. its going to be the wet season soon. from oct to may. high humidity.

i travel almost exclusively on tiger because we do their inflight mag. in fact going to phuket this thurs for work. honestly, eat before u fly. and don't expect great service. i think of it as taking a long bus ride.

now is almost close to the low season for travelling to darwin. its going to be the wet season soon. from oct to may. high humidity.

i travel almost exclusively on tiger because we do their inflight mag. in fact going to phuket this thurs for work. honestly, eat before u fly. and don't expect great service. i think of it as taking a long bus ride.

Ok, try it liao :embrass:

This is what happened....

The usual economy fare from Melbourne to KL was abt Aud$980 return. Coz there wasn't any seat available at that price range....cheapest I got quoted was abt Aud$1195. So, I thought of the alternate route via two different budget airlines. Jetstar and Tiger Air

The total damage for return is around Aud$835.....

The Jetstar flight left Melbourne for Darwin at around 9.35pm....arriving in Darwin at 1.25am. Managed to pick up the luggage and check in abt 1.45am.
The Tiger Air flight took off around 3.15am....reached Singapore at 6.10am.

The down side, seat damned small.....bored(no video/audio) Betta bring a watch, as u must switch off the hp..ended up asking the stewards/stewardess for time. limited food and drinks. Everything u want, must pay for it. But the price is reasonable. Checking in, then rechecking again is not to my liking. Coz of the odd hours. Definitely suitable only for backpackers, stopover or someone stingy like me :embrass:

But, saving of few hundred $$$ :think:

U will be the judge :sweat:

The usual economy fare from Melbourne to KL was abt Aud$980 return. Coz there wasn't any seat available at that price range....cheapest I got quoted was abt Aud$1195. So, I thought of the alternate route via two different budget airlines. Jetstar and Tiger Air

The Jetstar flight left Melbourne for Darwin at around 9.35pm....arriving in Darwin at 1.25am. Managed to pick up the luggage and check in abt 1.45am.

The down side, seat damned small.....bored(no video/audio) Betta bring a watch, as u must switch off the hp..ended up asking the stewards/stewardess for time. limited food and drinks. Everything u want, must pay for it. But the price is reasonable. Checking in, then rechecking again is not to my liking. Coz of the odd hours. Definitely suitable only for backpackers, stopover or someone stingy like me :embrass:

that's why it's call budget air... and u landed in budget terminal too :D

Next time, take Jetstar... MEL-KL direct on the A332. Believe its starting this month or something.

So what's there to do in Darwin?

Darwin is a gateway to many national parks. The most popular will be kakadu which a UNESCO site.
within kakadu park, there are few good sites to visit such as jim jim fall, twin fall, mary river, yellow river billabong and etc...

if u like landscape and wildlife, this is a must visit place... more importantly, this is home to the aboriginals.

for the family group who "can’t afford outback" trip, there are also places like Florence fall & Litchfield for family fun.

there are plenty of swimming opportunity.

Oh ya, don’t miss the Katherine gorge too if u can afford more time.;)

Within Darwin, there is nothing to roam around... juz don’t miss the Thursday and Sunday market at the beach

Flown twice with and 1 of my tiger flight was delayed for 2 hours and I only found out at the airport. The best part was there was no explanation or any attempts to make good the situation.

Flown several times with Jetstar :thumbsup: great.