Dummy's Guide to Reformatting PC

WuffRuff

Jan 10, 2007
opp. East Coast Park
I need to reformat my pc...
Anyone know where I can find some sort of Dummy's Guide to Reformatting PC that I can follow?
Thanks!

reformatting is simple.. if it's re-installation u'r refering to, then it's different.

Formatting HDD is just a simple process of erasing all the data in the hdd and setting up the directory structure, etc for use.. it does not include any operating system unless you install one in.

To format, just create a bootup diskette if you still have a FDD. Otherwise, booting from OS CDs like win95, win98, etc will also do. Once booted into dos prompt, simply look for the format command file in the cd and use it. :)

reformatting is simple.. if it's re-installation u'r refering to, then it's different.

Formatting HDD is just a simple process of erasing all the data in the hdd and setting up the directory structure, etc for use.. it does not include any operating system unless you install one in.

To format, just create a bootup diskette if you still have a FDD. Otherwise, booting from OS CDs like win95, win98, etc will also do. Once booted into dos prompt, simply look for the format command file in the cd and use it. :)

Perhaps its my fault that I did not make myself clear.
Yah, actually I meant reformatting and reinstalling. What's the use of formatting and not installing. I can't use the pc until i reinstall after formatting right? :sweat:

Perhaps its my fault that I did not make myself clear.
Yah, actually I meant reformatting and reinstalling. What's the use of formatting and not installing. I can't use the pc until i reinstall after formatting right? :sweat:

*shrugs* you can always format and install DOS.. there's still some use for DOS.. :bsmilie:
besides, I've been using DOS for years before windows was invented.. lolx

for reinstallation, largely depends on which OS you installing, DIY or branded PC with recovery disks.. different methods of installation.

*shrugs* you can always format and install DOS.. there's still some use for DOS.. :bsmilie:
besides, I've been using DOS for years before windows was invented.. lolx

for reinstallation, largely depends on which OS you installing, DIY or branded PC with recovery disks.. different methods of installation.

U must be kidding me! I am asking for a DUMMY's guide, do you think I know how to use DOS?
I will be installing WinXP Pro with SP1 (or 2, dun think that matters).
Its DIY PC (what's recovery disk? don't think i have).
Oh, and i want to partition my hdd into 2 drives.

U must be kidding me! I am asking for a DUMMY's guide, do you think I know how to use DOS?
I will be installing WinXP Pro with SP1 (or 2, dun think that matters).
Its DIY PC (what's recovery disk? don't think i have).
Oh, and i want to partition my hdd into 2 drives.

Before you format, go hunt for your drivers CD. Motherboard, Graphic Card, Soundcard, Printer, etc

Boot up with your XP cd,
you can del partition and create partition there
format and install.. juz follow the instructions, pretty simple..
choose NTFS for Format, more stable than FAT32
after installation, install all your drivers.

otherwise, you can seek professional help from me.. lolx.. I charge a modest fee for my services. :bsmilie:

Wahhh... this is not the DUMMY's guide I asked for...
Think u're too smart... never read a Dummy's guide before.
A Dummy's guide will have like 10 steps more for every step that you said lor.
Sighhhzzzz..... :cry:
What is your modest fees like btw? PM me.

You want dummy guide ?? no need dummy guide... a few simple steps.

2) Before boot to Windows, go to your Bios Screen and change the boot priority. Make sure that "Boot Other Devices / CD / DVD" has been enabled.

2) Save changes and exit (PC will restart)

3) Insert your XP Pro CD into your CD/DVD Drive. (Fast !!)

4) A message will be popped out "Press any key to boot from CD"

5) Click enter when u see the message.

6) You will be presented with a blue screen of instructions to Install WinXP.

7) After which it will ask you to install in which partition.

8) Delete all partitions and Reformat all. (NTFS also can.)

9) Wait for it to copy all files and install.

10) You have your XP Pro in your system now.

Its that simple. Still don't know how ? Let me know. :sticktong

You want dummy guide ?? no need dummy guide... a few simple steps.

Ahhh... your guide is better. But this dummy still has some qns... ;p

2) Before boot to Windows, go to your Bios Screen and change the boot priority. Make sure that "Boot Other Devices / CD / DVD" has been enabled.

How to go to Bio Screen?
What do u mean before boot to windows? Exactly when is this?
Oh btw, my com has a stupid problem (one reason i need to reformat). During boot up, it will go to this screen saying "One of your disks need to be checked for consistency. Enter any key now to skip diskscheck..." Actually i had let it check before but it still gets into this. So what do i need to do at this stage in order to reformat?

8) Delete all partitions and Reformat all. (NTFS also can.)

Then after deleting and reformating the partitions... How do I partition it back?
Currently i have 2 partitions c:\ and d:\ Windows is installed on c:\

And the last stupid qn... probably the stupidest one. ;p
After windows has installed, I just need to install the drivers, etc right? Then my com will be up and running again? (just to make sure la)

Errrr.... sorry for asking so many dumb qns ah...
I need dummy guide mah... ;p
But thanks man!!!

I need to reformat my pc...
Anyone know where I can find some sort of Dummy's Guide to Reformatting PC that I can follow?
Thanks!
Windows installation is really idiot proof. Just follow the installation wizard to assist you to format and install your PC.

Whatever you do, you may want to save your bookmarks and other important files first. I have been frustrated several times by not remembering to save something important before formatting.

If you are not very sure what to save, you may find an easy way through Start Menu > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Backup. It lets you backup/restore your bookmarks etc, which you can restore later to your new installation. If you are familiar with Windows system, you can copy individual files as well, but that's not very straightforward.

Good luck! Anyone needs a bit of that when reformatting a system :)

PS: Nice cat you got there.

Just curious, why is there a need to re-format?

Any advantageous of re-format?

Ahhh... your guide is better. But this dummy still has some qns... ;p

How to go to Bio Screen?
Oh btw, my com has a stupid problem (one reason i need to reformat). During boot up, it will go to this screen saying "One of your disks need to be checked for consistency. Enter any key now to skip diskscheck..." Actually i had let it check before but it still gets into this. So what do i need to do at this stage in order to reformat?

Then after deleting and reformating the partitions... How do I partition it back?
Currently i have 2 partitions c:\ and d:\ Windows is installed on c:\

And the last stupid qn... probably the stupidest one. ;p
After windows has installed, I just need to install the drivers, etc right? Then my com will be up and running again? (just to make sure la)

Errrr.... sorry for asking so many dumb qns ah...
I need dummy guide mah... ;p
But thanks man!!!

Could your hard disk be failing? :think:

It is like giving your PC a "makeover" session.

Whatever you do, you may want to save your bookmarks and other important files first. I have been frustrated several times by not remembering to save something important before formatting.

If you are not very sure what to save, you may find an easy way through Start Menu > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Backup. It lets you backup/restore your bookmarks etc, which you can restore later to your new installation. If you are familiar with Windows system, you can copy individual files as well, but that's not very straightforward.

Good luck! Anyone needs a bit of that when reformatting a system :)

PS: Nice cat you got there.

lolx.. did you know that backup is only available in windows xp pro and not home edition? :bsmilie:

this will depends on whether which ver he is using... ;p

Most probably virus attack from fishing too much prawns. :cool:

1)How to go to Bio Screen?

i) Press CD-rom eject button

ii) Put in ur XP installation CD, important :Shiny surface at bottom.

iii) Press CD-rom eject button again. U see and hear a sound and ur CD-rom tray closes :eek:

iii) Next try to find reset button on PC and press it once. Once u see some numbers running on the screen.
Hit "DEL" button to get into bios.

iv) Inside bios, use ur cursor keys to navigate through the menu.

Look for something call "Boot priority"

Set to boot to : "CD-rom, C:" something like that...

To change the setting, Press "Page up" or "Page Down"

2) Press F10

Choose "Save Changes and Exit" using cursor key

3) Wait for PC auto reboot from ur XP installation CD

4) U see a blue screen... Nope its not the blue screen of death..
Follow through the instructions.

5) Since you are reformatting.... delete all the partitions you see in setup.

6) Then follow thru again.

God bless with the installation :angel:

Original XP discs are shiny on both sides. Which side?

The original disc has words silk screened on one of the sides. Not both sides are "shiny". If you have one that are "shiny" on both sides, most likely it is not "original".

You didn't know meh................it's PC mar. Must reformat after every 6 months to a year. As PC slows down after installing and uninstalling, blah blah................virus and so on......:bsmilie: