Ice Wine

iria

Feb 3, 2005
Toa Payoh
Hi any1 know where can i get ice wine (reds), locally (sg)?

You can get ice wine in the supermarkets, preferable Jasons, Cold storage or any other wine place such as Denise.

BTW as far as i know, there is no REDs for ice wine

Got Red lar...

I bot a Inniskillin Ice Wine Rube Reserve (Red) from Changi Airport duty free... but they are significantly more expensive than their white counterparts... it's like 200 vs 60 buck diff...;)

No idea abt which shop sells outta duty free area thou... :dunno:

Dennis do carry a good varieties of wine... yea you could check them out.

The real thing is German and white, not red.
Inniskillin is Canadian.

Ask Plsoong, he is the wine expert here.

wah liew......... :kok: i'm NO wine expert lor....there are plenty here....all just diam diam onli.

Yes thats the iniskilin Cabernet Franc....

but i'm a old fart....so i still prefer the white ice wines :D

AND FOR THE RECORD, i'm lousy at ice wines, white wines......... I'm more biased towards reds with full body....so in actuality, there's no wine experts so to speak...ultimately whats your desire and what do u prefer.... :)

I know some people are totally agst reds.......(esp non man U fans......okay...lame joke...)..

if u buy a bottle and open n try and...hmmmm...nice, then yes, thats the bottle for u :)
the only thing people tend to do after that is to be like a crazy fella like me to try to associate what various discerning tastes from the wines seem to suggest....like "chocolate?.....leather? tar?....raw resin from pine trees?....flavours and smells...that seem to associate..."

yada yada yada...i'm sure redstorm yawning liao.....he's another wine expert lor:sweat:

The real thing is German and white, not red.
Inniskillin is Canadian.

and this statement is SO TRUE :D

most SGPoreans only know of Iniskillin :)

the authentic ones are German :)

peace :D

see...another expert diam diam onli :sticktong

ah actually, there's much debate about the orgin of ice wine or eiswein (in german). some said germany some said canada and some said austria. but it's generally accepted that eiswein is made in countries with extreme cold and canada is the most well-known exporter currently. hence inniskilin is so popular, not just in sg.

there are many countries producing eiswein, the biggest would be canada followed by germany and others such as new zealand, chile, czech, austria. there are fake or similar eiswein around, germany produces different grades of sweet wine such as the splatese.

sg is only limited to canandian eiswein. if u are looking for other countries, try the wine shops, they might have special imports.

2 cents on eiswein... too damm sweet, this is a dessert wine. most sg just drink it like very expensive soda, act atas... the chiliean and NZ ones i had tasted as good as the one from canada. as for people who say german eiswein are the best, well the austrian tasted as good and a lot depends on the harvest and not the branding.

Hey, bro Soong, don't eat so much humble pies, ok? Bad for you. :bsmilie: Sorry, sad, but true, just started drinking wine not so long ago and haven't even tasted ice wine. So, no comment here. Wait till I get my bonus so that I can pamper myself with a bottle. :sticktong Wasted, I should have told my Austrian friend, when I visited him last year, to get me a bottle of Austrian ice wine. Didn't think of it then. Just indulged in too many of their red wine and totally forgot about it. My next trip, maybe. :cheers:

Hey, bro Soong, don't eat so much humble pies, ok? Bad for you. :bsmilie: Sorry, sad, but true, just started drinking wine not so long ago and haven't even tasted ice wine. So, no comment here. Wait till I get my bonus so that I can pamper myself with a bottle. :sticktong Wasted, I should have told my Austrian friend, when I visited him last year, to get me a bottle of Austrian ice wine. Didn't think of it then. Just indulged in too many of their red wine and totally forgot about it. My next trip, maybe.

lol! u should use your bonus to get yourself a super tuscan red from Italy !

(eh, Fergie was given a good italian red even after losing the CL cup lor....:p )

haiya, once u try the old world wines esp from France or Italy, u will not wanna try others liao :p

cept Grange from Australia :p

Wine shop Denise seems to have a range of ice wine.
since u are into dessert wines, you should try Tokaji - Hungarian sweet wine. Denise has it.

For German icewines, can get from Funan - Cafe de Amigo 2nd floor. Reasonable prices.
Shop for camera, and then shop for wines.

Ice wines is 'shiok'. Used to go straight for it at DFS.
Some years ago, bought Wolf Blass Noble Gold at Liang Court which was also very sweet, but cannot find it now.

Wine shop Denise seems to have a range of ice wine.
since u are into dessert wines, you should try Tokaji - Hungarian sweet wine. Denise has it.

For German icewines, can get from Funan - Cafe de Amigo 2nd floor. Reasonable prices.
Shop for camera, and then shop for wines.

have the 3 puttonyos one with me now.. just finished up the 5 puttonyos one the other day.
once u've tried the aszu, there's no turning back. heh heh heh.. ice wines are nothing but sugar water when placed beside the tokaj aszu. ;p
21681032_99fc9f5777.jpg

that's me there on the wall where the best of the grapes are grown in tokaj, hungary.

have the 3 puttonyos one with me now.. just finished up the 5 puttonyos one the other day.
once u've tried the aszu, there's no turning back. heh heh heh.. ice wines are nothing but sugar water when placed beside the tokaj aszu. ;p

Where can I find these tokaj aszu and puttonyos?
And what exactly are they (i dun understand Hungarian)?

yes Inniskillin ice wine is the best .. i like the taste ..

Where can I find these tokaj aszu and puttonyos?
And what exactly are they (i dun understand Hungarian)?
i remember seeing a wine shop in beach road shaw towers selling them.
the number of puttonyos determine the sweetness of the wine.
aszu is basically the name for the wine.
if u can find a bottle of aszu-eszencia, it signifies the best of the best. in the past, it's supposedly reserved for the monarch, only to be taken when he is dying. O_O""