dust on sensor

dizcat

Jun 17, 2007
how long does it take for the dust to collect in the sensor until u really need to bring it to the service center for a cleaning ?

And to wat extent does changing lenses cause dust to build up ? i.e if u quickly change from one lens to the other in a few seconds for a few times a day, will it translate to a huge build up of dust ??

go to my webby and see navy pictures....thats the time u need to bring ur cam for cleaning...haiz...anyway looking forward for people to reply ur thread

it will slowly translate the bulid up of dust. i will bring it to the service centre for cleaning when the dust particles become tricky to remove or stubborn.
when changing lenses, point the body downwards and n remember to switch off the power, as leaving the power on there will be static charge in the sensor that attract dust particles :)

it will slowly translate the bulid up of dust. when changing lenses, point the body downwards and n remember to switch off the power, as leaving the power on there will be static charge in the sensor that attract dust particles :)

hmm....i guess perhaps i din off it...but chances very slim lehz...dun know y so much dust accumulated

singapore weather is humid n DUSTY.. u take out camera from ur dry cabinet dusts appear already :bsmilie:

$20 lehz....dust always bully me :cry:

ya lor. me oso kena bullied. no choice. we live in a 'dusty' world :(

Digital SLR has the benefit of changing lens in any place at any time; yet no camera makers bothered about dust getting into the sensor and causing ...
With the introduction of the E1 since November 2003, and all subsequent models, Olympus users have been enjoying dust free photography because of the built-in Supersonic Wave filter ;)

http://www.olympus.com.sg/e_world/esystemadvtg/esystemadvtg_index.htm

thanks for the replies .. hmm .... :)

Digital SLR has the benefit of changing lens in any place at any time; yet no camera makers bothered about dust getting into the sensor and causing ...
With the introduction of the E1 since November 2003, and all subsequent models, Olympus users have been enjoying dust free photography because of the built-in Supersonic Wave filter ;)

http://www.olympus.com.sg/e_world/esystemadvtg/esystemadvtg_index.htm
Olympus is dust reduction system. It is to reduce dust on sensor, not make dust free.

I ever saw one picture from olympus with dust on it.

Arto.

The dust protector in the Sigma SD14 seems like a good idea. Any idea why other DSLR's don't do this, besides cutting down some light ?

Just have to live with it. Sometime, blowing it would make things worse, instead of displacing the dusts, the blower introduce more into the focusing screen and sensor.

Do a scheduled trip to CSC and have it clear, the safest way.

Olympus is dust reduction system. It is to reduce dust on sensor, not make dust free.

I ever saw one picture from olympus with dust on it.

Arto.

Be it "dust reduction" or whatever you call it, Oly is still the first camera maker to implement this highly effective system to ensure photographers focus only on shooting and not having to worry about dust problems on their sensors; other camera makers simply follow much later. This dust buster technology has gotten much better in their latest offerings e.g. e510 :D

For me, the best solution for "dust reduction" method is like Leica digital back, where the coating on AA filter (on the sensor) is strong enough that we can wipe it easily. That's what I call the best anti dust.

Arto.

how long does it take for the dust to collect in the sensor until u really need to bring it to the service center for a cleaning ?

And to wat extent does changing lenses cause dust to build up ? i.e if u quickly change from one lens to the other in a few seconds for a few times a day, will it translate to a huge build up of dust ??
How long does it takes?... :dunno: But you can check how much dust you have accumulated by:

1. Go to a blank wall or any blank surface
2. Use the smallest aperture on your lens, using MF and take a out-of-focus photo of the blank wall/surface.
3. View the photo and you should see dust (if any) as specks on the photo.

Determine whether the dust will affect your photo. Note that dust are more visible at smaller apertures.

If you need to clean it, the are a number of way to do it. Google/yahoo and you will find ways to do it. You can also send your camera back to the service centres to clean it.

BC

For me, the best solution for "dust reduction" method is like Leica digital back, where the coating on AA filter (on the sensor) is strong enough that we can wipe it easily. That's what I call the best anti dust.

Arto.

If that is your solution of anti dust, that is fine. 1. Not everybody is free or knowledgeable enough to mess around trying to clean their camera sensor. 2. If dust cleaning is something simple and everybody can D-I-Y on our own, it is pointless for Olympus to spend time and money into R&D and end up applying a patent for their technology to auto take care of this dust problem for its users. Those who work smart will choose the Oly system ;)

There's another better and cheaper way and also crazy way to clean away dust from your sensor. If you are crazy enough to do it....

There's this product from Germany called Discofilm. It's a water base gel which you need to spray onto your sensor and after it dry up, you remove the layer of film from the sensor and all remaining dusts will be embed onto the film.

http://www.gletscherbruch.de/foto/sensor/sensorcleaning.html

There's another better and cheaper way and also crazy way to clean away dust from your sensor. If you are crazy enough to do it....

There's this product from Germany called Discofilm. It's a water base gel which you need to spray onto your sensor and after it dry up, you remove the layer of film from the sensor and all remaining dusts will be embed onto the film.

http://www.gletscherbruch.de/foto/sensor/sensorcleaning.html

There are such products online for some time. No one actually knows if it works as advertised. Maybe it really does. The question is: what if along the way, during your "cleaning process", you have to sneeze? you drop the something small into your camera sensor? you suddenly urgently need to go loo? , etc ...

For Oly users, we simply switch on the camera, it only takes a second or two for it to activate the dust bluster to clean the sensor ;) The above unfortunate things can happen at the same time as the camera is cleaning itself - no worries :lovegrin:

The unfortunate thing is that in 3rd party tests, this feature doesn't work well or even at all.