BULB mode

leithunder

Dec 14, 2006
after searching online and reading the manual, i still dun understand why shutter speed of bulb is used for night scenery and fireworks? If the exposure time is increased, won't there be a blurring effect? If so, fireworks will not apeear stunning:think:

long exposure for firework = firework trail. blurry? why blurring? ALL people use tripod when they do long exposure.

ah i see thx... :)

bulb mode is certainly good for firework esp. U can control the number of fireworks in yr photo rather den setting a fixed amt of seconds. :)

It wont blurr yr pics since the cam fixed on the tripod for nite shots. :)

Use tripod then won't have blur pics.

Don't forget a remote cable release! I tried taking tripod fireworks shots by pressing the shutter carefully without a cable release, but still got some blur due to I press the shutter button.

Remote cable release is common on film slr, but not on digital slr. InfraRed Remote control is common for digital slr. The price of wired remote usually higher than Ir remote control.

Arto.

haha...i half press camp there wait. then full press softly using bulb no problem leh. maybe its the tripod:dunno:

D200 users can make use of intervalometer or timer shooting-mode to pick up shots with pressing shutter release.

bulb mode not necessary means long shutter speed. you can get faster than 1" with bulb mode FYI

bulb mode simply gives you more control over the shutter, rather than using fixed values in the camera

I'm using D80. I don't quite understand the manuel about using the bulb setting. My old film SLR have individual bulb function so that i can specify how long to use it. But for the D80, where can i locate it or how to actually activate that function?

Michael

I'm using D80. I don't quite understand the manuel about using the bulb setting. My old film SLR have individual bulb function so that i can specify how long to use it. But for the D80, where can i locate it or how to actually activate that function?

Michael

It should not be any difference to my D70. So you can check it out on your D80.

Switch to Manual Mode. (M) now you turn your camera shutter speed wheel towards long exposure speed like 1 sec > 2sec>...just keep turning that shutter wheel down and it will go past like 30 seconds....you keep doing it and you will soon get to BLUB. That is your bulb mode meaning your camera is now ready to shoot in bulb mode. To trigger mine, I set my camera to be triggered by my remote control. Then I just aim and compose my shot, focus the shot, set focus to manual to hold the focus. Then press my remote once and let go and you will hear your shutter activate. Then you count to whatever second you have mentally in your mind or use a stop watch and then you press the remote again and it will shut the shutter down It is as easy as that.

I am not sure at this time but maybe your D80 has the ability to attach a shutter cable like the older film cameras..I don't have time to find it out right now heheh....so just find it out. Now if you have that ability then you can use that instead of purchasing a remote control.

Switch to Manual Mode. (M) now you turn your camera shutter speed wheel towards long exposure speed like 1 sec > 2sec>...just keep turning that shutter wheel down and it will go past like 30 seconds....you keep doing it and you will soon get to BLUB. That is your bulb mode meaning your camera is now ready to shoot in bulb mode. To trigger mine, I set my camera to be triggered by my remote control. Then I just aim and compose my shot, focus the shot, set focus to manual to hold the focus. Then press my remote once and let go and you will hear your shutter activate. Then you count to whatever second you have mentally in your mind or use a stop watch and then you press the remote again and it will shut the shutter down It is as easy as that.

I am not sure at this time but maybe your D80 has the ability to attach a shutter cable like the older film cameras..I don't have time to find it out right now heheh....so just find it out. Now if you have that ability then you can use that instead of purchasing a remote control.

what f stop would you recommend in conjunction with using bulb for fireworks?

In addition, use mirror lock-up for best results.

he is using a Nikon D80 ...I just checked the brochure..it does not have a mirror lock-up leh... heheh..don't make him start search high and low on his camera again....heheh

opps..sorry...did not know you were answering another guy heheh...thought you reply the other guy. :)

what f stop would you recommend in conjunction with using bulb for fireworks?

Well you want as best depth of field as you can get but you also need to know...you are aiming very far away so depth of field is not so much an issue. Having said that you should still keep your apeture to about f8 to f16. I say that becasue generally, most lens would give you the best quality at this f-stop.

I have had success with using f8 at about just 4-8 seconds. It is hard to teach this...as you sometime have to "feel" the shot and know how long an exposure you would need to get how much "tail of the firework" for example. It is only with practice and yes it can take you quite a few firework to get it right...and as you know...that is rare thus it can take you years heheh...but so far....you should be able to get some pretty good shots with just exposures of about 4-8 seconds. Some would open up longer as they want to capture as many burst as possible but the problem here is...it can end up looking very messy if you have no idea how the firework will be choreography right? I mean....practice run? how many can afford that heheh...so usually...there is abit of luck to it lah. I have shot alot of firework for many year and I have many times gone home with shitty stuff heheh...or maybe less then 5 good ones out of like a 50+ shots. Yes...if you are lucky there have a long display, you can get as many as 50+ shot off that is if you fire them at about 4 second or so. Now my camera has the speed setting of 4 second for me to choose right? Well I still use bulb. I count with my mind instead..this give me the flexibility to change my mind and add/take away another second or more if I feel the shot requires it. I took care of all my setting details so that I can concentrate on taking the shots and timing it without having to worry about anything else. I am sure others here have their own way lah.

Fix your camera on a tripod, focus to the point where the firework will take place, don't try to use autofocus, the af sensor can go crazy trying to focus and track the firework you can end up with fuzzy shots. Look not at your camera's viewfinder after you have it set up...instead hold your remote control and look at the sky for clues as to when to fire off your shutter. Peep thru your viewfinder only when you want to change angle, zoom length..etc and then just snap as you see what appears by looking at the sky again...And hopfulling with some luck you get a few good gems for your effort.

Abit more about focusing...well the begining of any firework is usually very basic as the choreography goes...it build up you see to pull everyone's emotion along...so the first few seconds is great time for you to get a good idea as to where thei firework will up in the sky..now try to focus manually ( remember to set your AF to manual so it does not jump all over the place once you set it up) now once you get a sharp view, you are set..so just shoot. Use a zoom so that at times you can zoom closer for a tight short or zoom out in case the firework spread out over a large width and you need to capture it.

Also...do your homework...try to find out as much about the firework, where it will be fired, what kind of firework pattern to expect, sometime they also tell you how high it will get..etc.

Just some tips lah...you will have to learn as you go along. You will make mistakes for sure but the experiences will make you get better at it in due time.

he is using a Nikon D80 ...I just checked the brochure..it does not have a mirror lock-up leh... heheh..don't make him start search high and low on his camera again....heheh

opps..sorry...did not know you were answering another guy heheh...thought you reply the other guy. :)

there is mirror lock in Nikon D80..
PM me..and I can guide you..:) I have done it twice..:)

Cos all new and current cameras should have mirror lock-up function. Even my 4-year old 10D has mirror lock-up.

Thanks for sharing. D80 does accept cable and wireless remote. You suggest using cable, is there a reason why using cable then wireless?

Michael