can we dodge lightning when we see it coming down our direction?

U know what? The next time u're out jogging, u try to outrun MRT train going straight and level.

Or never mind, an easier challenge, try to outrun a Honda Super 4 travelling straight & level going at a consistent speed of 120km/h.

If u succeed at either attempts den we can start asking and talking abt dodging lightning. :D

maybe he those kind, see lightning strike, then almost kena feet liao, then he raise the feet up, or make a jump, then HENG AH... siam lightning... :bsmilie:

wah!! you dam lucky lay, people 3time strike out liao. got buy toto?

the major one was:
I was in a bus going with friends to a Friend's new condo to swim. It was super hot bright day, when suddenly within 5 mins, sky turned super dark and pour super heavy.. lightnings striking and thunders roaring.. then we all (in the bus) hear zzzz...and bang and crack,...
the whole area around us (when we see out of the bus, and I was next to the bus driver, standing) see white light, cannot see anything in front of us, and next moment, a big BIG OLD TREE fell on in front of us, next moment, another big tree fell on us...and the branches got thru the roof. We all lie on the floor to take cover..

I saw a lorry beside us couldn't stop in time, and slapped hard into the fallen tree in front of us.

We got out of bus and try to save the driver, smash and trapped inside. But we cannot see him and even open the door.. and we are soaking wet in the rain (big big drops of rain, and eyes cannot open leh).

Lightning still striking around us and we have no choice but ran back to the bus (which is now under the tree).

Grabbed our stuff and everyone ran for their life...there was no shelther anywhere then, it was just outside the MINDEF....

We took our chances and run to the condo which is up-slope and 4 bus stops away (the wind was terrible, the sign in the bus stop were blown off), and still ..no shelther on the way.

some of us lost contact lenses, slippers and we were wet and exhausted..worst, there was no spare clothes (since my friend havent bring his stuff to the new condo yet).

It's a nightmare when we read the evening papers..there were pple killed and cars were smashed. Even A fridge nearby our bus got blown away....

.....that was an adventure and a narrow escape...
I dun want to be struck by lightning or fallen trees anymore...

The recent case of fallen trees killed pple...I felt so sad for them...
:cry:

the major one was:
I was in a bus going with friends to a Friend's new condo to swim. It was super hot bright day, when suddenly within 5 mins, sky turned super dark and pour super heavy.. lightnings striking and thunders roaring.. then we all (in the bus) hear zzzz...and bang and crack,...
the whole area around us (when we see out of the bus, and I was next to the bus driver, standing) see white light, cannot see anything in front of us, and next moment, a big BIG OLD TREE fell on in front of us, next moment, another big tree fell on us...and the branches got thru the roof. We all lie on the floor to take cover..

I saw a lorry beside us couldn't stop in time, and slapped hard into the fallen tree in front of us.

We got out of bus and try to save the driver, smash and trapped inside. But we cannot see him and even open the door.. and we are soaking wet in the rain (big big drops of rain, and eyes cannot open leh).

Lightning still striking around us and we have no choice but ran back to the bus (which is now under the tree).

Grabbed our stuff and everyone ran for their life...there was no shelther anywhere then, it was just outside the MINDEF....

We took our chances and run to the condo which is up-slope and 4 bus stops away (the wind was terrible, the sign in the bus stop were blown off), and still ..no shelther on the way.

some of us lost contact lenses, slippers and we were wet and exhausted..worst, there was no spare clothes (since my friend havent bring his stuff to the new condo yet).

It's a nightmare when we read the evening papers..there were pple killed and cars were smashed. Even A fridge nearby our bus got blown away....

.....that was an adventure and a narrow escape...
I dun want to be struck by lightning or fallen trees anymore...

The recent case of fallen trees killed pple...I felt so sad for them...
:cry:

like not recent news wor... how long ago? :think:

I think that was 1991 or 1992 ...
it was my unofficial longweekend, just outside my working place, MINDEF...
if something happen to me, I have long long statement to make siah..

U know what? The next time u're out jogging, u try to outrun MRT train going straight and level.

Or never mind, an easier challenge, try to outrun a Honda Super 4 travelling straight & level going at a consistent speed of 120km/h.

If u succeed at either attempts den we can start asking and talking abt dodging lightning. :D

Actually, if I can do that, I'll go win the Gold medal during the Oly. a lot of money in it you know :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Woh...

Just last mth, 1 BIG bolt of lightning struck my block, or somewhere very near. Then all the CRT monitors + TV got purple & green hues. Takes over a day to disappear...

Lucky my monitor is LCD.

Actually, if I can do that, I'll go win the Gold medal during the Oly. a lot of money in it you know :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
Gold Medal $1mil.

I wonder if Singapore Olympic Council would up the stakes if one would win Gold Medal at Olympics & set a new OR and WR. :think:

EASIER??????
MRT too long, so if run behind the MRT, u see that there's a whole stretch of carriages to overtake u get demoralised very fast. :confused:

If against a Honda Super 4, not so bad cos motor shorter den MRT. :bsmilie:

Gold Medal $1mil.

I wonder if Singapore Olympic Council would up the stakes if one would win Gold Medal at Olympics & set a new OR and WR. :think:

No need to up the stakes, if can run so fast, just think of the no of advertisers willing to pour millions of US$ into your bank account just to have you wear/use their product :bigeyes: :bigeyes: Just make sure that you remove any logo from all shoes/shorts/shirts which you'll be wearing during the winning race, no free advertisment mah :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

run nude best... cos the clothes after u run finish also torn liao... :bsmilie:

Cannot lar, nude not "proper attire" and somemore somethings must be in their "proper position" mah, cannot just let it fly all over the place mah.

u ppl have been watching too much heros...;p