Opinion of Sigma EF-500 DG Super on Pentax

southernoise

Aug 12, 2004
Contemplating on a better flash like the EF-500 DG Super rather than my regular elcheapo emoblitz but can still give me good results. The price at OP is very tempting.

Would love to hear from you all the pros and cons of this flash on a Pentax system.

Haven't used it, but something to take note. Make sure it works on K10D P-TTL mode, else you need to send to Sigma to get chipped. Do let me know how it is when you decide to get it. I'm interested if it can be used wireless;)

Also contemplating that flash....
From what I know, it's P-TTL...
But need to confirm also...

I am using the flash, got it a little cheaper from OP.

Flash is compatible with the K100D, no major problems with exposure and compability. There seems to be a problem with the exposure using the flash as in it seems to be a little underexposed. I discussed this with Feng Wei who is using the 540 and agreed that sometimes it is a little under exposed. Solution? Over expose by one stop. I could't get the wireleess working, so cannot comment.:embrass:

If you are thinking of buying it, I don't mind letting you try mine for its functions and power and stuff. :) Strictly CCK or Yew Tee.:)

Haven't used it, but something to take note. Make sure it works on K10D P-TTL mode, else you need to send to Sigma to get chipped. Do let me know how it is when you decide to get it. I'm interested if it can be used wireless;)

Wireless works but only with another Sigma EF-500. Won't work with the K10D's onboard flash.

The design and construction of the Sigma is somewhat similar to the Pentax 540fgz. Probably made by the same OEM manufacturer?

This flash is much cheaper than the Pentax too.

Wireless works but only with another Sigma EF-500. Won't work with the K10D's onboard flash.

The design and construction of the Sigma is somewhat similar to the Pentax 540fgz. Probably made by the same OEM manufacturer?

This flash is much cheaper than the Pentax too.

Thanks. I'm interested if it'll work with AF540FGZ:) Need 2 flash for macros:(

I am using the flash, got it a little cheaper from OP.

Flash is compatible with the K100D, no major problems with exposure and compability. There seems to be a problem with the exposure using the flash as in it seems to be a little underexposed. I discussed this with Feng Wei who is using the 540 and agreed that sometimes it is a little under exposed. Solution? Over expose by one stop. I could't get the wireleess working, so cannot comment.:embrass:

If you are thinking of buying it, I don't mind letting you try mine for its functions and power and stuff. :) Strictly CCK or Yew Tee.:)

Wah thanks for the offer to test but don't usually like to impose on others.

Anyway, my background on flash is all manual eg. manual adjustment of shutter and aperture and flash bounced full power. sometimes need to trial and error a bit to get the results I want. Total noob when it comes to automated TTL stuff.

How do you use this Sigma flash for bounce? Can use aperture priority and it'll auto correct all settings by itself?

Wah thanks for the offer to test but don't usually like to impose on others.

Anyway, my background on flash is all manual eg. manual adjustment of shutter and aperture and flash bounced full power. sometimes need to trial and error a bit to get the results I want. Total noob when it comes to automated TTL stuff.

How do you use this Sigma flash for bounce? Can use aperture priority and it'll auto correct all settings by itself?

Just bounce and if I am understanding your question, yes to both.

Thanks. I'm interested if it'll work with AF540FGZ:) Need 2 flash for macros:(

Doesn't work with another AF540 either, only Sigma-Sigma or nothing :(

Thanks. Think can forget about Sigma liao. Only think I like about AF540 is able to wireless by built-in flash;) Maybe I'll go get a ring-flash instead of another AF540 (save a lot too:bsmilie: )

how about diy the ring flash. saw a few sites online that does that.

My materials all ready even bought ultra white LEDs liao. But grew lazy:bsmilie: I'm getting more and more lazy sitting in front of the monitor:confused:

Better plunk some more $$$ and get the Pentax 540 flash instead :bsmilie:

but from what i've read the Pentax 540 ain't that mechanically stable like some of our friends here who had tried it with the tupperware difusser. Not willing to pay so much for the Pentax name. ;)

My materials all ready even bought ultra white LEDs liao. But grew lazy:bsmilie: I'm getting more and more lazy sitting in front of the monitor:confused:

haiyor... it'll only take you a weekend for the job!

but I agree, sometimes spending money is more fun! ;) :bsmilie:

but from what i've read the Pentax 540 ain't that mechanically stable like some of our friends here who had tried it with the tupperware difusser. Not willing to pay so much for the Pentax name. ;)

As a AF540 owner, I agree you are just paying for Pentax name:bsmilie: Confirm don't feel like or function like a $600+ flash:confused: Only thing good is wireless with in-build flash:bsmilie:

Macro I more willing to spend, cause it's the photography I enjoyed most. I gave up the bigma for a diamond ring for my gf;)

Give up your bigma???? How much???

Bro you too stress. I mean give up buying bigma lah... Next few months need set some fund aside for DA* 300mm, hope 3k enough since it's f4:think:

3K.... OUCH... your LBA is serious.