Sears 135mm f2.8

longko

Sep 7, 2006
Balestier
These are the test shots from my US$15 sears 135mm f2.8. Shots are taken at f2.8 with ISO100.

sears1.jpg

sears2.jpg

sears3.jpg

sears4.jpg

sears5.jpg

Pentax owners ought to congratulate themselves whenever nice pictures like this appear because it puts new meaning to DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY ON THE CHEAP.

Not only do these old lenses get a new lease of life but I can't help feeling users of other brands like C...., N...., O......, S..., etc. are suckered into paying A LOT OF MONEY for new lenses when old lenses like this work just as well and give great results. Newer ain't necessarily better. Obviously we must all keep this a secret if not the secondhand price of Pentax fit lenses will skyrocket. :bsmilie:

Pentax really does SAVE YOU MONEY...:thumbsup:

MF is not as easy as I recalled;p I'll need a better focus screen to get sharper image. Anyone got lobang for a good and "cheap" one?:D

just to nit pick, the 3rd and 5th pic macam got CA and the bokeh a bit messy...

but wot the hell... USD15 bucks for a 132/2.8!

oh wait, does your lens shoot a fully open 2.8 all the time no matter wat your arperture is set to? I've got a cosina that behaves like this.

just to nit pick, the 3rd and 5th pic macam got CA and the bokeh a bit messy...

but wot the hell... USD15 bucks for a 132/2.8!

oh wait, does your lens shoot a fully open 2.8 all the time no matter wat your arperture is set to? I've got a cosina that behaves like this.

they are test shots, went around for 10mins to test the lens;)

I can set the aperture by turning the ring. It's not open at 2.8 all the time, as the shutter do become slower as the aperture closes (f/2.8 - f/22):)

BTW anyway to improve the CA issue? I understand old lenses tends to have this problem

Adobe Camera Raw/Photoshop can correct the CA. Stopping down generally reduces lens aberrations.

A handheld test shot with Raynox DCR250 attached to it;)

Raw resized
searsmacro.jpg

100% cropped
searsmacroc.jpg

IMO the Sears which I believe was made by Cosina along with Vivitar 135mm f2.8's are superior to the much praised Pentax-M 135mm f3.5 which I did own and thought very little of. Since then I've acquired both the other brands and have liked the results. I can't comment about whether they are better than the Pentax 135mm f2.8 or the Takumar lenses as I haven't had any experience with those ones.

Nice sharp pics @ f2.8. Often lenses are quite soft at their max aperture setting.

Sorry I didn't state, but these super macros are with f22.:)

And I was referring to the pics in the original post.

Hi there!
Great pics with cheap and good lens.
Samething for me here.....bought a few M42 mount Aizer and Galaxyprince at very good rate. Guess what? Pics turn out to be quite sharp except that Manual focusing is alittle hard cos mine is not a spilt screen.I use with Raynox 3500 X24 produce super micro pics that really amaze me.......hope u enjoying your toy.
Only thing i dun like is that if it's too bright, you tend to get the white wash effect

Hi there!
Great pics with cheap and good lens.
Samething for me here.....bought a few M42 mount Aizer and Galaxyprince at very good rate. Guess what? Pics turn out to be quite sharp except that Manual focusing is alittle hard cos mine is not a spilt screen.I use with Raynox 3500 X24 produce super micro pics that really amaze me.......hope u enjoying your toy.
Only thing i dun like is that if it's too bright, you tend to get the white wash effect

Thanks. I noticed the wash out too. I believe the coating then wasn't that good. A auto level on PS will fixed the problem;)

Took the Sears out for a short walk in the park & took these shorts.

sears01.jpg

sears02.jpg

sears03.jpg

Nice shots longko....cheap and good lens!
For US$15, you can't even eat a dinner at a posh restaurant and yet the results for this lens is great!:thumbsup:

Nice shots longko....cheap and good lens!
For US$15, you can't even eat a dinner at a posh restaurant and yet the results for this lens is great!:thumbsup:

I really love this lens. I don't even need to do much PP. A moderate USM (255% 0.5 0) and up the saturation in raw to +38. Even without any USM, it's good enough to view at 1024:)