Saving the Punggol End Grassland!

ziedrich

Mar 17, 2004
www.rainmuse.com
Dear Anyone-who-visited-punggol-end and nature lovers,

I'm a student from NUS, we are doing a tourism module and as a project we are proposing a development plan to preserve Punggol End.

I actually live in Jurong East and went to visit Punggol End today, and was "blown away". Personally, I am someone who is very interested in nature. Although the grassland at Punggol End is actually reclaimed, nevertheless the ecological succession from reclaimed soil is related to nature. There are lots of interesting grassland plants including a beautiful lalang landscape.

Unlike many other parts of Singapore, the vegetation is chaotic and wild, a landscape that is so open and different from the typical concrete jungle. Moreover, during the short visit (of a couple of hours) i saw quite a few species of birds that i seldom see in other parts of singapore. Surely this site is a precious site in terms of wild life. Where else can we see such an open grassland ecosystem in Singapore? I think there are few other places.

Unfortunately, such an open piece of waterfront land is a juicy bait for development, and we think losing this beautiful tranquility would be an immense pity :( :( Anyone else thinks so?

For our project we are planning to "build" minimal resorts, about 20 WIDELY scattered huts around the grassland, arranged in a way to minimize environmental damage. the huts would include 5 wooden, 5 bamboo ones, 5 possibly treehouses, and 5 cottages.

Additional highlights would be minimal, and include a modest little bird watching tower where people can go to listen to birds singing, with charts of punggol birds. There will also be a hut for masseuse services. Plus kite-flying facilities, and a fishing pond somewhere more inland. Some other parts will contain about 10-12 huts selling food, and somewhere out into the sea a kelong will be built for a kelong fine dining experience.

In summary, we plan to minimize changes to the environment and maintain a very rustic feel.

This is in contrast to the URA's proposed plans to build houses all over the area and wiping off the grassland. Development is inevitable, and our plan is to preserve the nice piece of nature and also people's memories. Moreover, i believe many other people staying in the west side will be pleasantly amazed to find such an open grassland in Singapore. A small scale tourism can economically sustain the area, while maintaining the rustic charm.

Note this is just an academic project. However our lecturer has links to the STB and also our projects will be reviewed by STB staff.

Any comments on this? We are wondering if there are actually people who would really like to keep the grassland at Punggol end. Also wondering if there will be problems with such a plan. Hope to hear your thoughts lah, i m personally quite excited abt the prospect of keeping the grassland :)

i would certainly hope so, ideally it would be best not to touch it.

But knowing URA, development is inevitable, moreover, their plans are a drastic transformation into residential houses/ flats. The land is reclaimed for such development anyway.

so we thought might as well propose something that minimizes changes, and yet be rather sustainable economically. and keep the rustic charm as the highlight itself.

There are unspoiled areas around Punggol. Lovely.

Can see eagles flying around. Must learn how to take pic of birds one day

i would certainly hope so, ideally it would be best not to touch it.

But knowing URA, development is inevitable, moreover, their plans are a drastic transformation into residential houses/ flats. The land is reclaimed for such development anyway.

so we thought might as well propose something that minimizes changes, and yet be rather sustainable economically. and keep the rustic charm as the highlight itself.

that's quite a far reach.

surely u mux know that the gov. is planning to turn it into a water-sports hub of sorts?
punggol-marina... where power-boating... etc. and the likes will take place there.

these are commercial gains.

nevertheless, we can try.

ideally leave it be, the way it is.

well...how do u intend to save it ?

well.. seems like you are having the same project together with my cousin. hahaha. she is doing the project about the macritchie... :bsmilie:

well when it comes to a project that generate money, u think *** will change their mind unless you got a very good explaination. just like the chek jawa, how was it saved? the chances are rare to save it becoz it is on the main island.

but no harm trying it out, save the panet:thumbsup: . do not be discourage!

well when it comes to a project that generate money, u think *** will change their mind unless you got a very good explaination. just like the chek jawa, how was it saved? the chances are rare to save it becoz it is on the main island.

but no harm trying it out, save the panet:thumbsup: . do not be discourage!

same thinking on chek-jawa.

punggol happens to be on the main island... but nevertheless, gif it a go la.

yah, but there are such watersports stuff in several places already... and grassland is something tts more "special".

we're wondering would people cherish the laidback feel? So instead of having watersports stuff, it can be like a park, where pple can chill out. money can come in from chalets and makan huts. and related small scale activities.

the jetty can start services to ubin, coney island and the opposite bank of malaysia (where theres a resort somewhere along the coast). the immigration part dunno feasible or not, but we r assuming it may be.

dun think it will be equally commercially viable as govt's plan lah, but at least it can bring in $ in some ways, plus importantly, ensure continuity in terms of the sense of place, instead of whitewashing and changing everything. assuming residents would treasure their memories of the place... so it becomes kind of like a conservation thing.

yah, but there are such watersports stuff in several places already... and grassland is something tts more "special".

we're wondering would people cherish the laidback feel? So instead of having watersports stuff, it can be like a park, where pple can chill out. money can come in from chalets and makan huts. and related small scale activities.

the jetty can start services to ubin, coney island and the opposite bank of malaysia (where theres a resort somewhere along the coast). the immigration part dunno feasible or not, but we r assuming it may be.

dun think it will be equally commercially viable as govt's plan lah, but at least it can bring in $ in some ways, plus importantly, ensure continuity in terms of the sense of place, instead of whitewashing and changing everything. assuming residents would treasure their memories of the place... so it becomes kind of like a conservation thing.

coney island will be linked via LRT.

i like it the way it is.

a pity commercialism has to step in.

to the threadstarter, ur lecturer... happens to be dr. TC Chang isit? GE2218? or the yr 3 module?

anyway i have the same thoughts as you with regards to punggol end. and since u have some means of trying to fight for its conservation, u shld. i think alot of CSers will support u.. i dun really know by what means though. however, i think its gonna be an uphill task as the area has already been slated for a waterfront development. if i remember from the newspapers, some leisure crap with seafood eateries. and its a PROMISE to the people living and going to move to punggol 21, of their 'waterfront lifestyle' by the HDB.

its really sad to see the place go.. :(

the piece of land is reclaimed for the sake of housing development in the first place. the place is left to the 'wilderness' for the soil to settle.

unless you can provide enough evidence that the ecology found there is not only unique but valuable, i don't think there's anyway you can stop development.

for your information, a forest fire some 2 years back over there burnt everything to ashes.

to the threadstarter, ur lecturer... happens to be dr. TC Chang isit? GE2218? or the yr 3 module?

anyway i have the same thoughts as you with regards to punggol end. and since u have some means of trying to fight for its conservation, u shld. i think alot of CSers will support u.. i dun really know by what means though. however, i think its gonna be an uphill task as the area has already been slated for a waterfront development. if i remember from the newspapers, some leisure crap with seafood eateries. and its a PROMISE to the people living and going to move to punggol 21, of their 'waterfront lifestyle' by the HDB.

its really sad to see the place go.. :(

yes and yes i agree lor..... i really like the lalang..! not to mention the birds

the piece of land is reclaimed for the sake of housing development in the first place. the place is left to the 'wilderness' for the soil to settle.

unless you can provide enough evidence that the ecology found there is not only unique but valuable, i don't think there's anyway you can stop development.

for your information, a forest fire some 2 years back over there burnt everything to ashes.

it is very valuable for nature / wedding photographers :bsmilie:

btw the bluethroat bee eaters nest there

A method of conservation is to cultivate a sense of ownership amongst the residents in the area. Organise interest groups and assign each group with a portion of the land for holding activities. These activity areas need not occupy the entire landscape but just enough to make the scheme sustainable. Depending on how you lay them out, you can create opportunities for interaction between the activity groups. Do a search on Rem Koolhaas's and Bernard Tschumi's competition schemes for Parc de la Villette for some ideas on how to articulate a large area of land for recreational purposes.

wow.. it has been almost 10 years since i took that module..

anyway.. if he does mention 'rojak-culture' when he toks abt pseudocultures..its me who coined the term in my essay ok.. hahahah.. and those cartoons..on bugis st + and this 'rojak design' house..

:angel:

Coney? I think now is being joined to the mainland... :cry:
well we got to make way for 6.5million people, nature is at the expense. but the good thing is our friends are not selling sand to us so mayb there will be some more time left