Which WhiteBalance to set?

Ljung

May 11, 2005
what in-camera WB to set if I were to keep the ambient lighting and capture what I see?

e.g. if I want to capture the in door atmosphere, say, tungsten lighting, what WB should I set ?

<has this topic being raised before? can pls post the link if already discussed>

thanks.

If under tungsten lighting, just choose tungsten lighting then, if not just leave it AWB.

If you want to have more flexibility, then shoot in RAW(if your camera has RAW) and you can choose the appropriate white balance when doing your processing.

what in-camera WB to set if I were to keep the ambient lighting and capture what I see?

e.g. if I want to capture the in door atmosphere, say, tungsten lighting, what WB should I set ?

<has this topic being raised before? can pls post the link if already discussed>

thanks.

Shoot RAW, then adjust to the lighting that you see during PP.
If the tungsten light temperature is ard 5500K, then your camera Tungsten WB (ard 5300 - 5500K) should be around there and get your ambient lighting. Else, just set it to "Auto". ;)

Shoot RAW, then adjust to the lighting that you see during PP.
If the tungsten light temperature is ard 5500K, then your camera Tungsten WB (ard 5300 - 5500K) should be around there and get your ambient lighting. Else, just set it to "Auto". ;)
temperature of tungsten light is between 2800k to 3400k, 5500k is daylghts.

OOPS! :embrass:
Thanks :thumbsup: for pointing that mistake out! Got the temperatures confused! :confused: :bsmilie:

OOPS! :embrass:
Thanks :thumbsup: for pointing that mistake out! Got the temperatures confused! :confused: :bsmilie:

hey ipin ...wat hapn to u ..seem mixup many ting lately...:D

Got alot things happening and on my mind recently.
Head spinning already! :confused:
:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Got alot things happening and on my mind recently.
Head spinning already! :confused:
:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

stop the BBB la....oop better dun OT...

Our apologies to Ljung for the OT. :sweat:
To err is human. :angel:

Anyways if you shoot with flash, you can set the WB to 5500K as that is the approx. temperature for flashes. Otherwise shoot in RAW to be able to fine tune the temperature to your likeing afterwards (As it is easier to to this in RAW then in JPEG). ;)

thanks.

If you want to keep the atmosphere of the warm tungsten lighting in your pictures, then use daylight white balance.

IMHO, there isn't an ideal temperature to set on your camera.

Shoot at whatever temperature that you want to convey what you are trying to achieve.
If under difficult lighing situations, shoot RAW (To play safe, amongst other benefits) and adjust to what you are trying to achieve.

Hope this helps ;)

Thanks everybody for the tips!!!

Our apologies to Ljung for the OT.
To err is human. :angel:

Anyways if you shoot with flash, you can set the WB to 5500K as that is the approx. temperature for flashes. Otherwise shoot in RAW to be able to fine tune the temperature to your likeing afterwards (As it is easier to to this in RAW then in JPEG).

hi, Ipin, no need to apology lah, ;) we all learing and human makes mistake

seems like there it's best to shoot in RAW.........
but problem comes when have limited space left :sweat: and need to go for jpg, is there any 1 setting that we can keep the whatever ambient lighting?

let's come back to the tungsten lighting example....
if i set the WB to tungsten, will mean the camera try to balance out the lighting and give me the 'supposely original color'? what if I want to keep the tungsten effect (or whatever existing ambient light without compensating out), is there any setting should I go for?

thanks to gooseberry for pointing out that we can set to daylight WB to keep the ambient light, can I say there is no 'neutral WB' setting where we can take whatever we see (no color temperature correction) ?
I am not looking for ideal WB, but rather neutral WB where no temperature correction is induced... hope my statement is not confusing

just to share another one of my experience, when i was shooting green foliage that covers the whole image during early morning light, AutoWB was used, the camera was fooled and gave me a blue cast of image :sweatsm: , what should i set in order to keep the green and the warm morning lighting? (besides daylight, coz sometimes daylight will give extra warmth)

Thanks for the guidance.

You can try shade WB.
The best is thet you try out the different WB settings to see what kind of mood you're trying to achieve. ;)

There isn't any one WB setting. It all depends on your theme of your shot. e.g. some might want a 'cold/cool' look, then the blue cast he what the photog is trying to achieve.

You can try shade WB.
The best is thet you try out the different WB settings to see what kind of mood you're trying to achieve. ;)

There isn't any one WB setting. It all depends on your theme of your shot. e.g. some might want a 'cold/cool' look, then the blue cast he what the photog is trying to achieve.

what if i dont want to change/control the WB, i want to capture the mood exactly to what i see?

Different lighting situations/temperature calls for different settings. No one setting is perfect, not would suit every photog's style. I recommend that you shoot RAW, then correct the WB to your likeing afterwards. Else, if you're using PS and can only afford to shoot in JPEG, activate the auto color balance (Shift-Ctrl-B). Then fine tune from there. ;)

If all else fails, just use trial-by-error and shoot in different WB settings and pick the best that suits your taste. :D

thanks.
Just use Sunny or Cloudy. Most of the white light we are accustomed to is 5500K - 6500K. Shoot both and choose your preference. I prefer Cloudy because it renders a slightly warmer tone for my images.

??? got such thing one meh. Just our human eye lor. The human eye compensate itself for WB changes. What the camera can do
1) shoot at fixed color temperature so all your pics end up with a cast, ie warm cast during evenings, etc.

or
2) auto WB, so that it removes the color of the light such that white things look white. If you want this, you can get a WB filter which is more accurate than most auto WB.

If you want mood, it is a heng suay thing reserved for raw processing. mood is a subjective thing.

Or really paranoid, can get this. :thumbsup:

Not cheap lor...

I rather shoot RAW and change at the ease of my home... I can even do a few versions at leisure and compare which I like most...

Not cheap lor...

I rather shoot RAW and change at the ease of my home... I can even do a few versions at leisure and compare which I like most...

I am under the impression that the TS wanted perfect WB wat. :embrass:
RAW has been recommended, but like not good enuff leh. :what: