need advice from those who went to ATEC 2

Murcielago

Mar 14, 2005
since i will be going atec 2 in ROC, i heard there will be a few days of R&R, so i was wondering what are the places we will be going for R&R those few days.

i've never been to taiwan :dunno:

since i will be going atec 2 in ROC, i heard there will be a few days of R&R, so i was wondering what are the places we will be going for R&R those few days.

dpens ur atec which camp to start with...if hengchun, probably kaohsiung @ least... but that place quite boring if u ask me...

this time of the year is quite cooling...I was there couple of years ago...play till shiok...got a small food stall outside the camp...food overall say 6.5/10...but its better then nothing...

I got my own bunk so sleeping there is no problem...

As for the R&R...that one the most shiok liaoz...pray your tour guide is a chio bu...but mostly is can make it one...you will travel from your camp to somewhere nearby to see the aquirmum...then lunch at somewhere near camp...food are already prepared before hand and you will start eating once your CO say ok...everything you do is also very quick one...visit to kaohsiung and check into a hotel for an overnight stay...then nights out and training troops must book in by dunno what time...we support staff they dun care so we stay out longer...remember to take the hotel name card for cab home...

The rest is just travel to diff places to see see....over night stay in taipei is the best...go out to the night market...wah...so many things and XMM...but this time of the year the weather is cold and they wear a lot...:confused:

The last day is the best already...free and easy...go to there version of orchard road...wah...

anything ask the tour guide...and try to speak chinese there...the moment u speak english...they know you are not local...prices goes up...just like our SLS...

Many many years ago I was in Heng Chun Camp 1 for ATEC 2, infantry.

Taichung -> Kaohsiong -> Taipei for flight home using China Airlines.

this time of the year is quite cooling...I was there couple of years ago...play till shiok...got a small food stall outside the camp...food overall say 6.5/10...but its better then nothing...

I got my own bunk so sleeping there is no problem...

As for the R&R...that one the most shiok liaoz...pray your tour guide is a chio bu...but mostly is can make it one...you will travel from your camp to somewhere nearby to see the aquirmum...then lunch at somewhere near camp...food are already prepared before hand and you will start eating once your CO say ok...everything you do is also very quick one...visit to kaohsiung and check into a hotel for an overnight stay...then nights out and training troops must book in by dunno what time...we support staff they dun care so we stay out longer...remember to take the hotel name card for cab home...

The rest is just travel to diff places to see see....over night stay in taipei is the best...go out to the night market...wah...so many things and XMM...but this time of the year the weather is cold and they wear a lot...:confused:

The last day is the best already...free and easy...go to there version of orchard road...wah...

anything ask the tour guide...and try to speak chinese there...the moment u speak english...they know you are not local...prices goes up...just like our SLS...
what abt march to april time?

i was in the march to apr batch...its damn cold at night...the wind so strong till the rover is rocking...that is because we park at the peak of the hill...i wearing 3 layers also very cold...if rain its worst...:dunno: But we got the option to drive to the nearest 24/7 store to buy hot soup...not sure about your post there...

enjoy your time there...

Many many years ago I was in Heng Chun Camp 1 for ATEC 2, infantry.

Taichung -> Kaohsiong -> Taipei for flight home using China Airlines.

Same as me. Many years ago, my infantry unit stayed at Heng Chun Camp twice. ( 1 - active and 2- reservist ).

R&R same.

day 1 - Taichung
day 2 - Kaohsiong
day 3 - Taipei

Same as me. Many years ago, my infantry unit stayed at Heng Chun Camp twice. ( 1 - active and 2- reservist ).

R&R same.

day 1 - Taichung
day 2 - Kaohsiong
day 3 - Taipei
r&r is free and easy or limited to a few places ?

cos i need to find out where to buy phones there....

Anway for KaoSiung

I was there for an ex abt 2 years ago.... the places i remember are..
Jian Guo Rd (Like sim lim but it's a whole strecth of rd rather than a building)
Xing Jue Jiang (A shopping place with many road side stalls by the side)
Liu He Ye Shi ( Something like Shiling in Taipei i believe, lots of street side stalls selling food)

Must try the Steak and Chicken chop there (Wo Jia Niu Pa) cheap and nice.