jeanie

May 19, 2005
recommendations?

must be portable.

comon guys, no one uses this for outdoor shoots?:dunno:

No.. unless you bring a few portable generators around as well. I use it mostly for interior shoots only. Outdoor it becomes a mixed lighting situation and it becomes hard to colour balance. Well.. maybe you might be considering HMI lamps? ;p

Can use my car head lights...

BC;p

No.. unless you bring a few portable generators around as well. I use it mostly for interior shoots only. Outdoor it becomes a mixed lighting situation and it becomes hard to colour balance. Well.. maybe you might be consiering HMI lamps? ;p

Haha, don't kill her with HMI lamps lah. :bsmilie:

Not generally recommended. Outdoors is usually pretty bright. To offset the sun, you really need a high wattage light and that means it gets really hot!

Best to go for strobe if you are shooting outdoors

No.. unless you bring a few portable generators around as well. I use it mostly for interior shoots only. Outdoor it becomes a mixed lighting situation and it becomes hard to colour balance. Well.. maybe you might be considering HMI lamps? ;p

what's HMI ?

Can use my car head lights...

BC;p

ur car headlights projector HID or not?
if not, then i wont bother.
mine is.:sticktong :bsmilie:

Hydrargyrum Medium-arc Iodide, in short, it's a mercury-halide lamp with regulated power supply, whereby it gives a constant colour temperature output (~5600k).

---------> Click Me

ehh... she wanted tungsten lighting leh... color temp should be around 2700k... halogen lamps kind of colour.

Jeanie, HID lamp is too blue... if you wanted "tungsten" lighting... my car headlamps should be more suitable... :D

BC

ehh... she wanted tungsten lighting leh... color temp should be around 2700k... halogen lamps kind of colour.

Jeanie, HID lamp is too blue... if you wanted "tungsten" lighting... my car headlamps should be more suitable... :D

BC

HMI not I suggest one lah, someone mentioned HMI, so I give explanations of HMI lor. ;p

Ok ok... now seriously... there are continuous lightings for studio, but i don't think there are portable ones. For the kind of power requirement, it is not so feasible to power it with batteries.

Bowens, Jinbei, etc. should have continuous lightings... but are AC powered.

BC

Suddenly I thought of something... how about those lighting that videographers use? Although not so bright, it may serve your purpose whatever that may be.

BC

Suddenly I thought of something... how about those lighting that videographers use? Although not so bright, it may serve your purpose whatever that may be.

BC

hmm...where to get?

Sim Lim Square ground floor, there are severalshops selling video stuff. But I doubt they will be of much use because when I used 2x 1000W tungsten lamps, the exposure is about 0.5s at f/5.6 for ISO160. Unless you want to put them so close to the subject.. which I don't think you nor the subject want to. ;p

don't think you want those Hiburan Minggu Ini lights...not only you need generator to power them, you also need a van and a few assistants to move them and set them up...preety darn big and bulky...think those huge lights they use for shooting movies...there are smaller versions but even the smallest one I have seen is the size of a large microwave oven and about the same weight...

photography tungsten lights can be quite glaring for the models cause they are always on instead of just flashing...and as some have mentioned, they are warmer than daylight so you might have trouble balancing colour unless you use gels that can take the heat of tungsten...and again, you have to have generators or power points handy cause they require quite a bit of power...get plenty of extension cords and "borrow" someone's power :)

please take a look at this for me

http://www.sonystyle.com.sg/sonysty...vel2=2043&Level3=4136&MaterialNumber=79672450

1)will the color temp be similar to tungsten light?
2)if i use this to light my subject in a room with tunsten light, will i run into probs(as in different color in background and subject?)this is assuming i'm shooting jpeg and not raw.
i'll do a manual WB with light source on.

can advise?

please take a look at this for me

http://www.sonystyle.com.sg/sonysty...vel2=2043&Level3=4136&MaterialNumber=79672450

1)will the color temp be similar to tungsten light?
2)if i use this to light my subject in a room with tunsten light, will i run into probs(as in different color in background and subject?)this is assuming i'm shooting jpeg and not raw.
i'll do a manual WB with light source on.

can advise?

This lamp uses halogen lamp. Should be quite close to tungsten lighting. Halogen lamp are usually slightly whiter than traditional tungsten lighting.

BTW, may I ask why you need continuous tungsten lighting?

BC

This lamp uses halogen lamp. Should be quite close to tungsten lighting. Halogen lamp are usually slightly whiter than traditional tungsten lighting.

BTW, may I ask why you need continuous tungsten lighting?

BC

so that i can have instant preview on shadows?just like modelling light from studio flash?
also, i intend to shoot in a location (indoor) where there are lots of tungsten lights.
so if i use flash, i will surely run into probs right?
unless i gel my flash like ortega advised me last time.but i've yet to do that.
another alternative is to get the amber dome to attach to my GFLS?(seriously, i dont really want to let GF earn that much).:bsmilie:

any cons using tungsten light?i seriously prefer using this than flashes.