Dear Moms and Dads!

GetMeEazy

Sep 22, 2005
Senkang
Dear Moms and Dads,

Where can I get GOOD educational and entertainment CD's, for my 1 yr old son? He started his baby language 'mama', 'papa'... it's rite time I introduce things around his world!!

You can ask 'Wat the heck you are doing? you can teach him' . As you are parent in the current generation, you can very well understand that a BOY listens to TV more than DAD. dunno bot a girl!

For him, I'm just a toy.. If I play, roll down, jump, crawl, walk, run and dance with him he is :D . If I start educating him, he says :sticktong !!

any shops/place where I can get CD's teaches APPLE, ORANGE, NIKON, CANON? :think: Please give me names of CD, if you are impressed with any one!

Thanks
Get

almost everywhere do sell, if you want cheap deal, go to singaporemotherhood.com ask for mummies recommendations.

Dear Moms and Dads,

Where can I get GOOD educational and entertainment CD's, for my 1 yr old son? He started his baby language 'mama', 'papa'... it's rite time I introduce things around his world!!

You can ask 'Wat the heck you are doing? you can teach him' . As you are parent in the current generation, you can very well understand that a BOY listens to TV more than DAD. dunno bot a girl!

For him, I'm just a toy.. If I play, roll down, jump, crawl, walk, run and dance with him he is :D . If I start educating him, he says :sticktong !!

any shops/place where I can get CD's teaches APPLE, ORANGE, NIKON, CANON? :think: Please give me names of CD, if you are impressed with any one!

Thanks
Get

1 year old so stress liao... :cry:

maybe u can give him a nikon lens cap and a canon rear cap for a starter... :devil:

The best way to educate him now is to stop baby talk with him.. Talk to him as if he's an adult. Baby talk gets learnt fast and will be imprinted on him as the standard of the language.
Most 2-3 year olds CAN speak proper english if their parents spoke to them properly. Though their pronunciation might have a little difficulty. However, because their parents think "no lah! they can't understand me, that's why i baby talk" then their kids will baby talk (which everyone thinks it's normal :rolleyes: ) by the age of 5 or 6, their speech will still be broken with limited vocabulary of baby talk.

To the kids, baby talk is no difference from proper speech, they will learn every single word you say (yes, including vulgarities) and regurgitate them later on. So if you baby talk with all the broken english and baby subtitutes, then the kid will start from that platform.

EDIT: oh yes.. talking to him properly IS also a form of teaching.

1 year old so stress liao... :cry:

maybe u can give him a nikon lens cap and a canon rear cap for a starter... :devil:

very very stressfull - hope you read my thread about IBM T43 Keyboard - keys came off! :)

everyday he breaks a thing, shed a drop of blood after hittin on the furnitures, strait times * 2000 pieces, dropping wife's and my mobile 10 times a day, toys all over home!!

but, all stress goes off...when he gives a smile! :) love to watch him growing at this juncture!

very very stressfull - hope you read my thread about IBM T43 Keyboard - keys came off! :)

everyday he breaks a thing, shed a drop of blood after hittin on the furnitures, strait times * 2000 pieces, dropping wife's and my mobile 10 times a day, toys all over home!!

but, all stress goes off...when he gives a smile! :) love to watch him growing at this juncture!

this is part and parcel for child up bringing....welcome to parenthood :bsmilie:

Pasar malam got sell those Barney and educational CDs (alphabet, numbers, shapes, colours, etc) , 3 for $5.
And, yes, I keep the originals in a safe place and only let my 2-year-old handle the CDR duplicates ;)

omg..lolz lots of similarities! my boy has a thing for the shift keys of my acer laptop... he plucked them out effortlessly on 2 separate occasions.

First of all, don't stress your kid prematurely. Don't be a kiasu or overly anxious parent with regards to your child's language development. Here's a tip that worked for me, don't waste money's buying those educational CDs just yet. Simple flash cards are better. Alternatively, cut out small pieces of card, write down the name of the object and use blutack to stick it on the actual object around your home (eg. door, television, chair, table, toilet, etc.). Sit down and read aloud to your child. Repetition is important, that's why toddlers love the Teletubbies. But don't plonk your kid in front of the TV.

EDIT: oh yes.. talking to him properly IS also a form of teaching.

My kid also learn English from VCD.

However, you've also gotta watch your language when speaking in his presence (yes, even to others). At the end of the day, the kid will still be influenced by his peers when they get older... so juz relac... there's a lot more than standard england to learn.

Good on you to look out for CDs that may help your child learn. That shows that you care, which is of course the first step in educating your child. Children learn right from the time they are born, some says even whilst in the womb. But each child learns differently. It is wrong to assume that all children must learn in a certain standard way.

Spending time to play with them is the best form of education. Observe your child, is he the kinestatic type who like motor activity? Then play ball with him. Does he like water? Bring him down to the pool, get him used to the bouyancy of being in water. Is he the imaginative, play acting type? Role play with him. Let him be the doctor and you the patient, etc. If they are the lingusitic type, they will pick up languages very easily themselves.

Children learn by repetition. When we keep doing something, after a while, they will follow. This is similar wrt languages. Keep talking and reading to them will help them pick up the language. Of course, some kids acquire languages much faster than others too.

Most parents seem to think that in order to suceed in life, you have to be good in your studies. Very often, the one who suceeds in life is the one who has confidence in himself and is willing to try whatever the difficulties.

I'm a bit more kiasu in a sense. I don't let my kids watch any TV. My 3 year old kid only started watching when he was about 2.5 years old (i.e. only recently). My 9 month old doesn't even come close to the tv. The tv is switched on only after the kids are asleep.

To me, the BEST form of education at such a young age is basically to talk to them. Not in babytalk, but proper english. Carry them for walks and just talk to them about anything under the sun that you see. Sit down with them to play with toys and just talk to them as you are playing. Read to them. Sing nursery rhymes with them.

So my kids are quite ignorant of things like Barney, Thomas the tank etc. I don't want to expose them to anything commercial right now, which is good because I'm not forced to buy anything when we go out shopping! =)

Einstein series, however, is quite popular for little kids from 1yo. But I found it boring and realy, i don't see how babies can focus watching that.

It really depends on what your basic philosophy is.. whether TV or no TV..

Chrs
jinny

My kid also learn English from VCD.

However, you've also gotta watch your language when speaking in his presence (yes, even to others). At the end of the day, the kid will still be influenced by his peers when they get older... so juz relac... there's a lot more than standard england to learn.

yups.. he can be influenced very easily. Give you a classic example. My friend who still treats her 7 year old (attending pri 1 this year) like he's still a baby, still baby-talks to him now. At 7 years old, i still cannot make out what he's talking about and he cannot speak full sentences. His longest sentence is like 3 words? It's usually "this" "that" "you" "me" "i wan coke" "wan" "no wan" :rolleyes: :dunno:

Another friend, with 2 kids, aged 7 and 4 speaks properly and I have no problem understanding what they are saying.

Yes there are more important things than standard english but it is a good and strong foundation to start on before taking up singlish lessons from friends.

But once singlish lessons start first.. it is difficult to take up standard english lessons from teachers.

Oh well.. not my kids.. I shouldn't be ranting about parenting.