japan!

Isaiahfortythirtyone

Jul 17, 2005
Clementi
hi guys. im gg to japan....tokyo to be exact. will be looking to buy a 400D and either a tokina 12-24 or ef-s 10-22mm. any idea where i can buy these from? i heard something about yodobashi (spelling?),....is that correct? any idea abt the prices too?

also, are there any recommended sights to see in tokyo? i will be there from 19-24 dec, 5 days in total.

lastly, how do i get about without japanese? they dont speak english there right? just use sign language ar? :p

I was there on Saturday. Superrrrr crowded due to the Nintendo Wii. I can't even get a simple PS2 mem card at the gaming section.

From Ueno station, take the Hibaya subway to Shakibara. Only 1 stop IIRC. It's cheaper to take the Hibaya subway than JR line. So it's your pick.

There's a map once you exit the the subway which should lead you straight to Yodabashi building. It's not very far from the subway, maybe 2 buildings away.

Cameras should be on the 3rd level IIRC. It's very huge, so enjoy the shopping. You can talk in english to them, they understand. At least they understood me when I did my shopping.

hi guys. im gg to japan....tokyo to be exact. will be looking to buy a 400D and either a tokina 12-24 or ef-s 10-22mm. any idea where i can buy these from? i heard something about yodobashi (spelling?),....is that correct? any idea abt the prices too?

also, are there any recommended sights to see in tokyo? i will be there from 19-24 dec, 5 days in total.

lastly, how do i get about without japanese? they dont speak english there right? just use sign language ar? :p

Just came back from Japan. Yodobashi not cheap leh...

for Canon DSLR check this out... http://kakaku.com/itemlist/I1010101010N101/

for Tokina lenses check this... http://kakaku.com/itemlist/I1050105060N101/

There are other cheaper shops in Tokyo.

sorry, I am not a Canon user, so this may not be exactly what you want...

If you can't speak Japanese, you can print out the webpage, a picture speaks a thousand words.

wahh i just checked out kakaku...the 400D is about $1369 in japan? isnt it strange? i thought it was even cheaper than in HK where it cost abt $1100

Who said cameras are cheaper in Japan? You get difficult-to-get photography items in Japan, not cheap items......

- Magazines & Books (No doubt written in Japanese but the pictures are amazing)
- Accessories (Reflectors - cheaper than CP and better)

There's BIC Camera also.

Places to go

Ueno Park
Ginza
Akasuka Temple
Roppongi Hills
Ikeburuko
Shinjuku
Harajuku
Omotesando
Shibuya

Who said cameras are cheaper in Japan? You get difficult-to-get photography items in Japan, not cheap items......

No one:) . Some items are indeed cheaper, some not. One has to be selective and do sufficient price survey before heading out to Japan expecting to get a bargain. Actually it applies to everywhere else too....

haha ohwell. at least the tokina 12-24 there is $620. not too bad. i'll wait to goto HK before i get the 400D

thanks Klose for the places to visit :)

Just came back from Tokyo in sept... think for cam u can try Akihabara

as for sight seeing ah... hakone.. if wan to can travel up to fuji.. if u taking bullet train.. heard can kelong buy child tickets... cos they dun check :devil:

Others will be shinjuku lar, shibuya, ueno, etc... btw dun go to the aquarium in sun city.. alamak.. waste $$.. BKK paragon aquarium much much better...

ooops forgot.. if u hasnt been to disneyland n disneysea.. then u shld try.. esp disneysea, the nite show :thumbsup:

Just came back from Tokyo in sept... think for cam u can try Akihabara

as for sight seeing ah... hakone.. if wan to can travel up to fuji.. if u taking bullet train.. heard can kelong buy child tickets... cos they dun check :devil:

Others will be shinjuku lar, shibuya, ueno, etc... btw dun go to the aquarium in sun city.. alamak.. waste $$.. BKK paragon aquarium much much better...
They DUN CHECK? U sure abt it? I kena ticket inspections on all my Shinkansen rides.

Talk abt giving ppl bad advice and cheat on tickets.

They DUN CHECK? U sure abt it? I kena ticket inspections on all my Shinkansen rides.

Talk abt giving ppl bad advice and cheat on tickets.

heee mayb i lucky ... no risk no gain :bsmilie:

They are cheaper for the high end stuff and if you know where to buy from and how to bargain with them.

Don't expect them to discount on consumer stuff like PnS or low end dSLRs.