Can you carry in your tripod?

spindoctor

Oct 19, 2004
Going to HK and just found out my tripod cant fit into my check-in luggage!

Anyone tried to carry in their tripod before? :dunno:

Sorry tripod cannot be hand luggage....have to check in...else they will ask you dispose it off. I have to recall my checked in luggage the last time and pack it in, else they ask me to leave the tripod behind and they help to dispose it off.

I just brought my tripod to and fro Hong Kong (hand carry) two weeks ago.
Went by CX, no problem with that.

quite a few similar discussions before..
Aiya, there's always new members one mah... You think they will go and dig out old posts to read meh? :bsmilie:

Bro,
In the last 6 months, I have travelled by SQ, Air China, China Eastern Airlines - from/to Singapore, from/to Beijing, from/to Shanghai and every time I have handcarried my tripod. No problems at all. As long as you have a tripod bag, I don't think you will have any problem.

Of course, this has been my experience. I dunno if other folks have faced any problems when flying with other carriers and to other destinations.

In a worst case scenario, you can remove the ball/pan&tilt head and hand carry it. You can ask the airline to checkin the tripod and tag it with a 'fragile' tag. However, I have a very strong feeling ;) that the groundstaff treat fragile items with utter contempt :bsmilie:

Bro,
In a worst case scenario, you can remove the ball/pan&tilt head and hand carry it. You can ask the airline to checkin the tripod and tag it with a 'fragile' tag. However, I have a very strong feeling ;) that the groundstaff treat fragile items with utter contempt :bsmilie:

I check in a long umbrella b4 by itself and it came back out fine. Flying ANA. I think a tripod is far stronger than an umbrella.

Handcarried in the following:

Tripod (with no tripod bag, just a strap. No probs at OZ)
Tripod (with tripod bag. Had a doggie sniff me at Narita. No prob in Bangkok)
Umbrella (twice. Go thru x-ray at Narita, but since its transparent, they dun seem to be bothered)

Erm... U dun expect them to treat fragile luggages with white kid gloves right? :sweat:

To play safe, better get the bigger luggage lor. :bsmilie:

I went to Melbourne last year on British Airways. No problem going there. But when I was coming back, and already at the boarding gate, the airport staff told me that I couldn't take my tripod onboard. They wrapped it up and checked it in for me. :D