S'pore teen faces 3 years' jail for tapping into another's wireless Internet

but how can one be so sure that theres someone tapping into ur network ?

is there some kind of a software for me to check ? :dunno: :dunno:

of course la.. i am a MOL6500 user.. and its like the dl speeds damn slow.... my neighbour using MOL4000 is faster den mine....

:cry:

i dun trust u leh.. u dunno? something must be terribly wrong...

anyway, the fat green pipe sometimes damn funny lor, i got 30mbps with 1mpbs upload, but i think upload only good during torrent, all the leechers, when i send file via msn damn slow... then downloads always damn pathetic... and i'm the only one online most of the time...

hmm.....my msn transfer also awfully slow though i opened all the ports liao.

Must look at the case in detail..... as some here said so many people here dont bother, dont know how to, or dont know they need to secure their wireless. And to tap into their wireless doesn't take a hacker to do it. Using a palm or a laptop like a mac, just switch it on and it will auto search and link up witht the strongest network.

So do we all have to go to jail? This is dumb.... and please go arrest a 17 year old???? Our govt nothing better to do??

This is nothing new. Too bad he got sabo by his neighbour.

my opinon is if the network is unsecured, then the punishment should be light. But if the network has password protection and kenna cracked, the jail term seems ok. That hacker obviously asked for it.

err... and step by step instructions on how to check my wireless network for MAC?

The other MSN party probably had a real slow connection.

Torrent leechers are usually in batches what, so its probably 20-30 at once taking from you, its an accumulative figure, thats why it appears that your upload speed is tremedous.

nono.. i really no no la...

i download torrents now ah... time remaining 489 days !!! for a 1gb movie... :faint:

but my neighbour dl fast leh, cos i gave him my torrent file...

so i suspect my line got hitchhiked lo.....

:dunno:

got software to check ornot DCA...

i hav my own wireless network, with its own name, WEP password
however, once (at least to what i know), the comp pickup and connected the neighbour network (i didn't know until the strange network name pop up at the corner). After that i quickly open the network list and reconnect to my router.
What if he caught me during that time? hahaha
window can auto detect and connect to any available network around if possible to connect.

actually it's not that "it takes not much effort to connect to your neighbour network"
but it's "it takes totally no effort to do so and may take some effort to prevent your comp from not doing so" (this is the case when your neighbour network is wide open for everyone around)

i thought you can set your own router as "preferred network", so it will use that particular router when detected? also, if there are other networks, don't you have to click "Connect" to use a particular router instead of Windows auto-selecting?

well.....you know, microsoft......you never know what might happen next.:confused:

The actual problem is that Singapore is too safe a city and virtually free of crimes. And we got so many arm chair Police Superintendents and Inspectors. Therefore there is a need to create some cases for them to maintain their public profile mah. Do you remember that few harmless Buankok’s white elephant placard? It involved the CID, as if our nation is under serious threat.

It is also about dollar and cents. It is against the contract agreement if you share network with your neighbour on different floor.

look, the police have better things to do than to prosecute some guy who connect to a neighbour's wireless and simply surfed without doing anything malicious. what has been left unsaid in the news report must be something more that he did, either he cracked the password intentionally, or persistently connect to his neighbour's network to upload file sharing stuff, etc.

Probably not, that's just too extreme. Sometimes you DO think all the way out my friend. ;p

You DO have to realise that not all law & policymakers are absolute IT suavy enough. The easiest method would be to put a blanket law with ambiguous words that covers just about anything and everything.

If there's something I'm absolutely pissed, sometimes things gets just so ambiguous that everyone assumes and eventually sit there not getting anything done, not voicing anything out and getting the specifics of it.
chim.. can put in simpler words?

my laptop is pre-installed with a vendor customed wifi software that overrides M$ one. It will connect to the strongest signal automatically for ease of use and user friendliness. Imagine if my router tripped and it auto connects to my neighbour's.... then how?

yup..there's programs you can download to check who's on your network and what they're doing
you got the names of the prog? I would like to know who's been riding on my network too.. TIA!

most of the time my friends let their computer search for the wireless network by itself, thinking that it'll connect onto their home network. but windows or mac in some cases will just happily hook on to the first network they can find and stay there. so is this a crime?