Cropping issue

iltriumph

Feb 23, 2005
Saigon, Vietnam
www.vietnam720.com
Dear all,

1. How do one go about cropping pictures without distorting them?

2. What about re-sizing? My pictures are taken at 3008 by 2000 pixel. The shop i go to develope photos told me to resize them to 2126 by 1535 to get 4R. But after resizing them, the photos got distorted leh ( ie, head or body got longer )

Please help.

Thanks in advance

i dont think u can juz resize it but crop it by a fixed measurement such as 3 inch by 2 inch. resizing a photo not by porpotion will distort it.

so its gd for u to take foto with some "extra" space so u can crop when u do printing.

Dear all,

2. What about re-sizing? My pictures are taken at 3008 by 2000 pixel. The shop i go to develope photos told me to resize them to 2126 by 1535 to get 4R. But after resizing them, the photos got distorted leh ( ie, head or body got longer )

Please help.

Thanks in advance

change another shop... for 4r size print, your digital copy should be in 3:2 ratio which is 3000-2000... don care about that 8pixels.
if resize is needed, just resize it to 1800x1200px... which is 300DPI for a 4r print

Dear all,

Please help.

Thanks in advance
Are you sure that's what the shop told you? 1:1.385 ratio is far from 1:1.5 (2:3) ratio lah.

if your images are in 3008 by 2000, don't have to resize them, just ask for 4R size will be fine.

btw, you don't have to pay for the distorted prints, since the mistake is from them. (told you the wrong info)

if you need to re crop any images, keep the ratio to 2:3 for 4R print, pexel dimension can't be smaller then 1800x1200

Dear Guys,

Thank u all for the fast reply. A few more questions:

1. This 3:2 ratio applys to all sizes of photos right? ie: 3R...

2. If i need to or rather want to crop the photo to a square, what should i do after cropping since it's no longer in 3:2?

3. So as long as it's 3:2, i don't need to resize them anymore printing? I mean , for eg, after cropping, the dimension is say 1820 by 1234, do i still need to go to the image tab to change the dimension to 1800 by 1200?

4. Is there a way to fix the cropping tool to 3:2 ratio? Or do i have to go to the image tab everytime after cropping to check if it's 3:2?

5. Where can i find the table for all these data? Like how do i know if 1200 by 800 is suitable for 4R or not?

6. Any website to recomend for further reading?

Thank u again for helping. :thumbsup:

Dear Guys,

2. If i need to or rather want to crop the photo to a square, what should i do after cropping since it's no longer in 3:2?

3. So as long as it's 3:2, i don't need to resize them anymore printing? I mean , for eg, after cropping, the dimension is say 1820 by 1234, do i still need to go to the image tab to change the dimension to 1800 by 1200?

4. Is there a way to fix the cropping tool to 3:2 ratio? Or do i have to go to the image tab everytime after cropping to check if it's 3:2?

5. Where can i find the table for all these data? Like how do i know if 1200 by 800 is suitable for 4R or not?

Photo prints size and ratio

1. Not really. there is some useful info -> http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=227893

2. At the print shop, they likely ask whether you want "fit in" or "fill in" (If aspect ratio of picture is different from aspect ratio of printout). Select "Fit in". There will be white borders on the left and right side.

3. Should be correct.

4. Depends on what software you use.. Some program able to have a re-determined ratio for cropping, like photoshop CS2.

5. Refer to (1). Normally above 200dpi should be acceptable (I guess). But maybe can ask the experts here for other comments.

Dear Guys,

copied from another post:

3R = 3.5" x 5" (1,050 pixel x 1,500pixel)
4R = 4" x 6" (1,200 pixel x 1,800 pixel)
5R = 5" x 7" (1,500 pixel x 2,100 pixel)
6R = 6" x 8" (1,800 pixel x 2,400 pixel)
8R = 8" x 10" (2,400 pixel x 3,000 pixel)
S8R = 8" x 12" (2,400 pixel x 3,600 pixel)
10R = 10" x 12" (3,000 pixel x 3,600 pixel)
S10R = 10" x 15" (3,000 pixel x 4,500 pixel)

Question: What happen if you crop the image to 5" X 7" (5R) but later send print for 4R instead??

Hello to All:

Why is there no 7R?:think:

Hello to All:

Why is there no 7R?:think:
IIRC,
there is 5" paper for 3R and 5R
6" roll paper for 4R and 6R
10" roll paper for 8R(8"x10"), 10R(10"x12) and 10RW(10"x15")
12" roll paper for S8R (8"x12"), 12"x15" and 12"x18"

there is 8" roll paper but not all labs has it.
you can have odd size print, but you know to pay more for it, or print on the next bigger size and trim it down.

Question: What happen if you crop the image to 5" X 7" (5R) but later send print for 4R instead??
You will ethier have a partial crop off photo (fill in) or borders on two side of the print (fit in)

Normally if I corp a photo for 5x7 ratio, I will save the file with adding a word "5R" in filename, so this photo will not use to print on other ratio.

Dear all,

Please help.

Thanks in advance

Why u have to do this yourself? The print shop can do it mah! Just tell them with or without border than they will know what to do liao.If not change shop lah.:D

Agree, the shop should know what to do. By the way, 3008 x 2000 is very ok ratio for production of 4R pics, unless shop is blur, then better change shop.

Generally, photos taken by digital SLR (except Olympus) is using 3:2 ratio, which doesn't need cropping for 4R pics. Compacts uses 4:3, which if you do not want cropping, develop S4R. Nowadays, compacts have 3:2, 4:3, 16:9 ratio options.